We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best window view to plaza españa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Ranked #204 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room is so clean and very comfortable.very nice view from the window you can see the very beautiful plaza españa and montjuic.very nice place.nice service.delicious breakfast.We want to come back together with my kids

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

I do like to read that you enjoyed our large and recent renovated rooms but what I really like the most are your comments regarding our staff!
Many thanks for your time and your nice comments and I truly hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,400)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Again, like many of my trip choices, was - location. Perfectly located. Many places in walking distance, metro meters away, buses on the doorstep, airport shuttle outside the hotel (not free!). Its noisy if you like total peace, but with closed windows is perfect. Had everything we needed and even the pool on the roof top. Rooms spacious enough and clean.

Room Tip: Maybe the view of front rooms better, but i think will be noisier as it is right on Placa Espania ro...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalikaEp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked at the last minute for a Saturday night and got about 50% off. A very good deal at this price -- perhaps not quite so special at the regular price but still above average.

Over all, this is a very good hotel with some plusses and some deficiencies. The location on the Plaza Espanya is excellent, with easy access to Metro, cabs, and busses. Unless you really need a room with a view, get a possibly quieter room on the inside of the "donut" design. A large shopping mall, including a supermarket, is right across the street (take the elevator to the top for a 360 deg view).

The desk service was helpful, even reassigning a room with full double bed instead of twins. But checkout at noon took almost 15 minutes because of lines 10 deep.

The overall decor is a clean, contemporary, stylish look. The room was reasonably large and generous bathroom with tub/shower -- and unlike some hotels, actually had sufficient storage spaces in the bath and room. The tub had a grab bar -- also missing in some hotels. However, the floor of the tub was slippery even though there was a design in the floor of the tub suggesting non-slip (I guess it had worn off). Also the bathroom floor tiles can be very slippery when wet.

TV has many channels. Wifi instructions given to me at check-in were confusing (and NOT CataloniaPlaza shown on my iPad list) and slow to log on. When I finally got in, it was reasonably fast. Note: the wifi codes in the lobby are different!

The snack bar (Gourmet Corner) was convenient and reasonably priced. A club sandwich was surprisingly good.

The major deficiency was the room air conditioning, which took most of the night to cool down. Thinking the dial must not be calibrated, I even set it at 15C. And it was still very muggy. I don't know if this is characteristic of AC in Barcelona or a weak AC system (or possibly due to using water cooling system instead of true AC?). For one night, it was tolerable but if I were staying a week in summer, I wouldn't book this hotel due to the AC.

The room had some irritating problems: a small red velvet chair (the only one) was only usable for children. The seat actually was inches below my knee -- and I'm only 5'8" -- so the desktop was level with my chest! Why do designers put such ridiculous, impractical items in hotels?

There were no electrical outlets near the bed ---another ridiculous design. I use a CPAP and had to run the cord across to the opposite wall (and remember not to trip on it during the night).
One bedside lamp bolted to the wall was loose and about to fall off. There was veneer missing from the edge of the bathroom door. And drink stains not cleaned off one nightstand. The electrical outlets felt loose. All this could be signs of maintenance neglect.
I could hear a child talking one or two rooms away and also hall noises. And I could here a vacuum cleaner running before I wanted to get up in the morning.

Overall, it was above average and, in some respects, almost 5 stars -- but the AC and other irritations make it 4 stars at best.

By the way, I overheard a desk clerk tell a couple that breakfast was 10 euros if they ordered when they checked in --- something I was not told when I checked in. The regular price is 16 euros even if you choose this option on line -- shouldn't you get a price break on line? (I did not have breakfast.)

Room Tip: Inside rooms (facing the courtyard) might be quieter (and cheaper) ---although another review sugges...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IQ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Than you very much for your time.

Do not hesitate to contact us in your next visit to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

There is a party tent in the middle of the hotel. I'm feeling badly for my friends who need to wake at 3am tomorrow for their plane departure as the bass from the party music and the mike announcements must make it impossible to sleep.

Also I was put in a smoking room. With as many rooms as they have, this should never have happened. There is no soundproofing in these hotel rooms.

Breakfast is good.

I will never return and am glad to be leaving tomorrow to another hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,
We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

While this is considered a "business" hotel, we stayed several nights while on a tour. It is clean and comfortable and nicely appointed. The best feature however is the location on the plaza, in walking distance to a museum and across from a shopping center that has a great view and nice retaurants on the top floor. A subway station is directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwelhwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We couldn't fault this hotel it was clean, friendly, had a great location for both getting to the port or airport as well as for exploring the city. The rooms were spacious and in good condition and we enjoy a very comfortable night there it


  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I loved the locattion. Through your windows you can see the MNAC (National Art Museum of Catalunya), which is a beutiful palace-like builging, with dancing fountains and light at night, the Ex- Bull fight plaza which is now a super cool shopping mall, and you have the metro station just a few steps outside the hotel´s door. The rooms are super clean an modern. The bathroom is huge. I felt like I was in a US hotel as I entered my room. Super globalized, not a European old fashion hotel. Wifi in the rooms didn´t work but the lobby wifi worked perfectly. Excellent ambience in the lobby, Really Kind Service, helpful peolpe 24/7. I stayed there for 1 week for bussiness and I loved it because I also had the chance to get to the touristic places fast and easy. Visit the coffe and bread shop 1 block away called Granier, its delicious fresh bread and delicious sanwishes, and the coffee is so good too. Had breakfast every morning there for from 6-8 Euros a day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Areli O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#138 of 513 in Barcelona
1,468 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#152 of 513 in Barcelona
1,565 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#54 of 513 in Barcelona
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#114 of 513 in Barcelona
520 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
3,611 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#210 of 513 in Barcelona
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Address: Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $125 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Barcelona Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imposing hotel is situated in Plaza Espana, next to the Fira de Barcelona facilities and Montjuic. Guests can enjoy excellent connections with every means of public transport. It has its own parking facilities and offers ideal accommodation for business trips or short breaks. The panoramic terrace and most of the rooms have unbeatable views. The gardened marquee, which is located in the central courtyard, creates an ideal atmosphere for cocktails and dinner parties. We also offer you our 13 meeting rooms, where you can organise business meetings, conventions and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Plaza
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing