We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Ranked #206 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Great location, tourist bus and airport bus stops right outside. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean, had a room on top floor and the views were spectacular. This is probably one of the ugliest hotels I have ever seen, however once inside it ticked the boxes. Breakfast was usual buffet but fresh and good selection.
Only problem was, room was too warm, no aircon on in January and we were fortunate to have amazing weather for January (short sleeves and meals outside!) although once windows left open for a while, it was fine.
Found it to be very good value but it was January, I guess more later in the year.
For a reasonably priced weekend break it did the job

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ForestGirl930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time that you expend doing your comments about our hotel. Your comments are very important for us because it is helps to improve our services.
If you want to come back to Barcelona, please do not heasite to contact with me.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    780
    332
    140
    87
See reviews for
390
665
127
613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

...the room is terribly hot during the summer because the air-con is just not powerful enough to cool down the room. Otherwise the room could do a bit of renovation.

Location wise, it is well located on the Plaça Espanya, Montjuic is just next door, and the center of Barcelona is reachable by taxis, buses or TMB subways. The most interesting part of this hotel is that the Aerobus (shuttle bus) to Barcelona Airport stops right in front of the hotel.

In spite of the deficiency in the hotel comfort and decorations, I find the staff at the reception very courteous and efficient. Hotel security is good. El-Al pilots and cabin crew stay at this hotel when they transit in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgcourriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time that you expend doing your comments about our hotel. Your comments are very important for us because it is helps to improve our services.
If you want to come back to Barcelona, please do not heasite to contact with me.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel was excellently located in the Plaza Espana and there was a metro station right in front of the hotel. The service was okay but could have been better since you always seemed to have to wait in line to get your questions answered and they never answered the phone when you called downstairs. The breakfast was really good and had a wide variety of choices. The bed was okay but I have had more comfortable. The location was probably the best feature of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time that you expend doing your comments about our hotel. Your comments are very important for us because it is helps to improve our services.
If you want to come back to Barcelona, please do not heasite to contact with me.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We went there to spend a weekend in Barcelona. We were very well located and atended. There was a latín show too at night that turned out to be a fantastic experience. It is a great hotel in a great city

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time that you expend doing your comments about our hotel. Your comments are very important for us because it is helps to improve our services.
If you want to come back to Barcelona, please do not heasite to contact with me.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I was working in Barcelona as I do every month and wanted to try this hotel out. My wife was coming out for the weekend. I'm in fact sat in the room bathed in sweat as I write.

I'd booked a Premium room which was a standard room which was refurbished and had some extras like tea / coffee making facilities, water, biscuits, dressing gown and slippers. When we checked in non of these were in the room. I informed reception and said that it was okay as we were popping out they could sort in the meantime. Two hours later, returned and nothing could be done. The girl I had asked before, let's call her sullen Melanie, refused to talk to me and a chap politely said he wold sort it, he'd have to tell house keeping. I asked if they hadnt already been told, why would they be? Because I spoke to you two hours ago.... Okay... It would've fixed immediately. Meantime in the room, the airconditioning only blows out warm air so now ( the claim here is that they turn off the airconditioning facility in winter). The advertised soundproofing is now pointless as we have to have the windows open. Firstly, the dressing gowns turn up.... Looking good.. Then the water and cookies turn up... Hopeful. Then a kettle turns up with one sachet of coffee and one tea bag... No milk... Back to reception... Ten minutes later I have two sachets of coffeeno milk. If I want to have milk I have to ring room service... Anyway, went out for the evening, sweated our way through the night and the next day went into the city. On return, the bed is made but no coffee, tea, fresh water, biscuits.. Can I be bothered complaining any more? No, I will never return and advise other travellers to do the same.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drunken_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guest,
We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The house-keeper lady is a thief. My friend's and my moneys were taken from our bags whilst were not in our rooms during the day.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Handearattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guest,
We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
261 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for more than a week. There are good and bad things to say about it:

Good:
- location is ideal, a metro station just outside main entrance, Aerobus station a stone's throw away
- rooms with view of Plaza Espana is splendid
- wifi available, very good
- i like the hard bed
- there is a mall beside which has many restaurants/cafes (but not much fashion stores)
- there are lots of convenience stores within walking distance so easy to buy bottled water and other necessities
- lots of pharmacies within the area, too
- food in hotel restaurant can be good if you order the right dish
- three ladies in Reception excel in their job (Noela, Linda and Lucy). They are friendly and service-minded.
- convention group very efficient esp Gina and Miguel
- Julio of snack bar/restaurant very service-oriented and friendly
- one of the best breakfast omelettes i have tasted esp when made by the filipina lady

Bad:
- I saw a cockroach in my bathroom
- rooms are quite dated, as other reviewers mentioned
- no aircon, i had to sleep with window open, which of course is noisy because it is in a busy part of the city
- very long queues in the breakfast area (often very crowded)
- in my 9-day stay, i only saw 1 bell boy. so if you are in a hurry to get your bags down, it will be better to drag it along with you by yourself.
- no boiling kettle in the room (when I was badly in need of hot water in thermos, I needed to beg room service). in fact, in 3 out of 6 requests, no thermos came.
- one reception staff by the name of Sara treated me like a fool when I asked for help in asking the staff for hot water. I was completely voiceless and wrote in front of her my request, she replied to me "this is the reception, we don't have hot water here". i was really surprised at the daffness that she did not realise that if i had voice, i would have ordered room service instead. why would i go down the room just to ask for help in reception? her colleagues have been helping me days before and she was the only one who did not only refuse to help but even replied to me like i'm stupid. she holds the record as being the most rude reception staff i have ever met and boy, i have met so many receptionists in my trips.

overall, i think it deserves to be a 3-star hotel. will i stay there again? if i have limited budget, i will. but with all the internet sites nowadays, i think i can get a better quality hotel for same price we had (75EUR/night, rate for a conference group). if i am forced to because it is the official hotel for the conference, i can live with it. it is not that horrible, but definitely not positively memorable either.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenstockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear guest,
First at all thank you very much for the time that you expend doing your comments about our hotel. Your comments are very important for us because it is helps to improve our services.
If you want to come back to Barcelona, please do not heasite to contact with me.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
#140 of 513 in Barcelona
1,359 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
504 reviews
Montjuic
Crowne Plaza Barcelona - Fira Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#111 of 513 in Barcelona
1,453 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 513 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#152 of 513 in Barcelona
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Property: Catalonia Barcelona Plaza
Address: Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#139 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Barcelona Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imposing hotel is situated in Plaza Espana, next to the Fira de Barcelona facilities and Montjuic. Guests can enjoy excellent connections with every means of public transport. It has its own parking facilities and offers ideal accommodation for business trips or short breaks. The panoramic terrace and most of the rooms have unbeatable views. The gardened marquee, which is located in the central courtyard, creates an ideal atmosphere for cocktails and dinner parties. We also offer you our 13 meeting rooms, where you can organise business meetings, conventions and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Plaza
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing