We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,845)
Filter reviews
3,845 results
Traveler rating
1,785
1,130
500
240
190
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,785
1,130
500
240
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fountain show bull ring metro station executive floor rooftop pool excellent location reception staff city stops aerobus placa hop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,582 - 1,587 of 3,845 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We've been robbed INSIDE the hotel ten minutes before leaving with our group for the airport. Someone took my wife’s handbag, in which she had her wallet, mobile phone and our camera. Since we only had ten minutes before we leave there was not much time for doing anything. We informed our tourist guide and then we phoned and canceled the debit card (which was inside the wallet) and the mobile phone number. The theft was declared at the airport. During these ten minutes before leaving for the airport two more members from the group were robbed. The hotel staff DID NOTHING. They didn’t even ask sorry for the incident. Also the security was absent and the emergency doors were left open, while they were supposed to be closed. Maybe this is how the thieves got away that easily. Maybe they were working together with some members from the hotel staff, who knows. One thing is sure: This definitely should not happen in a four stars hotel!! They should be more responsible and more helpful. And they should also try to learn some English, because we are not Spanish (we are from Greece) and we have no obligation to learn Spanish or catalan language just to visit Barcelona for 4 days! Otherwise maybe they should do some other business.

Date of stay: April 2011
7  Thank GreeceVangelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2011

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guest is very important for us. We regret all the inconvenience and we take note to improve in the future and inform you that for our staff the most important thing is the guest service.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I was a group leader of a school group of 20 students. The quality of the rooms was standard, but the restaurant staff was rude and unfriendly. I asked for an espresso coffee for breakfast and the answer was: you want coffee you go to the coffee shop!!!; A simple sorry but we don't serve espresso for breakfast would have been enough. Also, on another day at dinner the head waiter turned two students away and told them that they were not allowed to eat because they were 10 minutes late. The dinner for our group was from 8 to 9. However nobody had informed us about that.

Date of stay: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guest is the most important for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We apologize for all the inconvenience caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to comply with.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

trip fpr couples very nice, allot to shop around the catalunya plaza (4 stops at metro from the plaza espanya nest to the hotel), nice pakistan resturant on the right side of the hotel, opens till late. clean rooms, cozyly, very nice and good hotel breakfast, very friendly staff.e
allot to see and to shop, very recomended city :)

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orita28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Dear guest, thank you very much to send your opinion about our Hotel to Trip Advisor . Thank you for the time you spend with, and thank you for your confidence, choosing Hotel Catalonia Barcelona Plaza as reference for your stay. Do not hesitate to contact us in your next visit. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

The hotel is locate in Espania square , right in front of the famous magic fountain of Barcelona. If you have a window with a view to the palace, you can see the fountain directly from your room!
me and my friend had a room with this overlooking and we were amazed!

The service in this hotel was unbelievable! The people at the reception were so nice and kind. they answered about all our question and always tried to help us.

I have to say that there is 2 lines of metro that passing really next to this hotel and it's really easy to travel like this!
the lines are: L1 and L3.

I will advice everyone I know who coming to Barcelona to stay in this Hotel!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adiosh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sitja, Gerente at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guest is very importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
I will inform and congratulate the staff about your words.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

First timers to Barcelona and booked the hotel through our carrier as part of a package deal. From the exterior the hotel has a NY 1930's look about it. Inside, there is a large reception and lounge area leading to the restaurant, snack bar and piano bar, all to be recommended. The room was standard size for a hotel of this type, comfortably furnished with fridge, safe (extra) and sat tv. There was also a good bathroom/shower equipped with hairdryer. The room was cleaned daily. Without exception all of the staff were at all times friendly, helpful and always polite even when translation wasn't always spot on. All major tourist and travel routes were easily reached from the hotel. Would we go back? Definitely, but I would book an inside room as if you like a window open at night the traffic noise can be quite loud. Other than that a brilliant place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011

Dear guest, thank you very much to send your opinion about our Hotel to Trip Advisor . Thank you for the time you spend with, and thank you for your confidence, choosing Hotel Catalonia Barcelona Plaza as reference for your stay. Do not hesitate to contact us in your next visit. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews