We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in just about every way”
Review of El Balcon del Born

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Balcon del Born
Ranked #47 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Gawler, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect in just about every way”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived in barcelona from the hustle and bustle of Paris, and were ready to relax a bit, and this place is just perfect. Dont be put off by the fact that you need to catch a cab from the train station, it is in a perfect location. maybe 10 minutes walk from the beach, similar to La Rambla, lots of nightlife nearby but no traffic noise so it was still a good night sleep.

When we checked in one of the friendly hosts Roberto asked us if we had time for him to show us some recommendations, and we said sure why not. Well dont do this if you are in a hurry, Roberto spent a good half an hour with us with a map and a booklet with every place numbered and marked on the map - places to eat, attractions, bars, everything. It could not have made the stay any easier. We tried a couple of the restaurant places and they were all great.

The bathroom was 1 step outside of our door, shared with us and another room, and breakfast was 5 metres away.

Coupled with the very cheap drinks in the kitchen you could buy, this is just the perfect place.

Room Tip: there are restaurants on the ground floor so getting a room away from the street might be best, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennymacca6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    65
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
92
301
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything about this place was great.

The location is very close to Barri Gotic, Barceloneta and the beach, as well as heaps of great restaurants and shops.

The breakfast, which you could eat on a quaint balcony and watch the world go by, was superb with a range of simple food options.

The room, which for us was a double room, had a massive bed, was spotlessly clean, had a good pedestal fan and was nicely decorated.

The owners were very helpful - Pablo sat down with us for 30 minutes or so, pointing out a host of things on a city map and giving us great tips on how to get around.

We had to share a bathroom but this wasn't an issue, as there is two and both are quite modern and kept very clean.

We're really glad we stayed here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had two stays in Barcelona during my trip to Spain - this was my second leg as I was not able to get into El Balcon del Born on my first round (this place is popular for good reason!). I fell in love with this exceptional B&B oozing with amazing character. The El Born neighborhood made my trip to Barcelona, honestly. The B&B is located on one of the most picturesque plazas I've ever seen in Europe and basically the location to restaurants, bars and darling boutiques is second to none. Stylish and historic neighborhood, loved. Pablo and Ricardo were the most gracious, kind hosts I have ever come across in my travels. The breakfast was fresh/of highest quality and of course, the entire place is impeccably clean. You can't go wrong. What cute balconies too! You can rent a bike in El Born and easily ride to the beach, which was really fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Last week we stayed at El Balcon where we were greeted by Pablo. He spent an hour with us when we arrived, giving us all the information we needed to make our week there so enjoyable. I had been anticipating good service, as every query I had made since making our booking, had been responded to rapidly and positively by Roberto. Booking from the other side of the world can be a little daunting but we were not disappointed at all. The following morning we met Anna who prepared our delicious breakfast each morning, and provided information for each day. The average rating for sleep quality is only because our room was noisy at night due to the location - which we expected.
We were absolutely delighted when we arrived home this week to receive a lovely email from Anna and Pablo thanking us for choosing them but we are so thankful we were able to stay at their B & B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked and absolutely loved my stay here! only wish I could have extended my stay.

Although the b&b is located beside a busy squear, it's max 30mins walk, north, to where the tour buses meet for tours to Deli Musuem etc, and south, to the very end of the beach front. The Church of St. Maria del Mar and Picaso Musem is literarily right around the corner. You can have lunch in the market everyday if you want to, because it's that close!
The convenience of being close to everything does come with a price, as some of the best resturants and bars are literarily right downstairs and ususaly they're packed with people well into the night. So if you want completely and absolutely quiet sleep, then this place is not for you. For me, love to walk to places, so by the end of the day, I was so tired that I just fall into sleep anyway.

I stay in room 8 on the third floor, so it's more quiet in comparison, but trying to sleep in the mid of te afternoon is difficult - I had a bit jetlag the first couple of days. I arrived early in the morning but the early checkin time is at 9am since people are still sleeping before that. So Roberto recommanded a place for breakfast near by. After my breakfast, I couldn't find the address of the place in my phone, and no one I asked knows what I'm looking for (since I don't speak Spainish at all), but Pablo was so nice to come get me.

The breakfast is between 9-11. It has all kinds of selection for a B&B. The dining room has a little balcony, and usually they play a bit light music too. It's hands down the best B&B in the area!

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It didn't take me a long time to figure out where I was staying in Barcelona, I was traveling alone and was looking for a B&B close to everything in the city. El Balcon Del Born had such great reviews that I
booked it right away. I couldn't wait to get there and was hoping it lived up to my expectations. I never
expected it to be as wonderful as it is. Anna greeted me at the door and was so excited to see me because my plane was delayed and she was worried. I felt like I was home with a new friend. I stayed in Room #4 and it was beautiful, extremely clean and an adorable balcony perfect for relaxing and people watching after a long day. Anna had a list ready of places to see and wonderful restaurants to
try. Every morning I woke up to a beautifully set table with fresh fruit and breads and amazing coffee,
a perfect start to the day, after breakfast, Anna and Roberto sit with their guests and help them plan their day with full directions to wherever you want to go. The bathrooms are shared but there are enough of them and I never had to wait. Barcelona is a beautiful city and El Balcon Del Born is the place to stay when you visit. I can't wait to go back just so I can stay there again, next time I'm staying
more than 5 nights, it's truly an awesome experience.

Thanks for making me feel at home,
Lisa

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liscalabrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a great accomodation in the city center of Barcelona. It's no longer than a ten minute walk to the beach. In the other direction it is not far to most of tourist attractions. Roberto and the owner paolo were very kind and helped us with all our needs. the best was that Roberto told us everything interesting about barcelona immediatly after arrival. he had some very good recommendations for us. If you like seafood go to la paradetta! But you will have to wait.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muckshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
751 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#313 of 513 in Barcelona
1,125 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Call
Hotel Call
#425 of 513 in Barcelona
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcino 147
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
599 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
We Boutique Hotel
We Boutique Hotel
#5 of 308 in Barcelona
225 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hostal Orleans
Hostal Orleans
#25 of 308 in Barcelona
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Balcon del Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Balcon del Born

Property: El Balcon del Born
Address: Carrer Rera Palau 2, Primero 2a, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EL BALCÓN DEL BORN BARCELONAis a guest house just in the centre of Barcelona, in Born, a district with distinctive cafés,bars, restaurants… where many artist live. It's a 5 minutes walk to The Cathedral del Mar or the Picasso Museum, and 10 minutesto Las Ramblas or the Barceloneta beaches. We have a house with 5 bedrooms. One has its own bathroom (suite) and the othersshare one bathroom every two rooms. All the rooms including the dining room have an exterior balcony, and therefore plentyof light.Rates per night for one or two people:Room 1 (El Palau): Our biggest room, with 20 square meters. The room has a kingsize bed or two twin beds and an exterior balcony facing the pedestrian street ReraPalau. 95 €Room 2 (Els Encants): An ample room with its own bathroom (suite) and anexterior balcony facing the street Rera Palau. 100 €Room 3 (La Ribera): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds. Exteriorbalcony to the square El Tripó. 90 €Room 4 (El Racó): Our smallest and coziest room, with a double bed and a balconywith a double view, one side facing the square Plaça de les Olles and the other sidefacing the street Rera Palau. 80 €Room 5 (Les Olles): Spacious room with a king size bed or two twin beds and anexterior balcony facing the square Plaça de les Olles. 90 €The prices include continental breakfast, towels, bathrobes, hairdryer, wifi andhouskeeping. Optional service (extra cost): LaundryOnce you arrive, please pay for your whole stay with us in cash. We do not accept creditcards.You will have your own keys, so a 20 € guarantee deposit is required. You will get itback when you return the keys.Check-in : 3 pmCheck-out: 12 amHow to get there:El Balcón del Born is located almost right in front of the train station Estació deFrança. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 2:· By train (the cheapest way to get there): Take the train (Renfe) at the airport andstop at Passeig de Gràcia. Once you get there, take the train that goes to Estacióde França on the very same platform. Get out of the station and cross the avenue;four blocks down you will find the street Carrer Rera Palau.· By bus: Take the Aerobús and get off at Plaza Catalunya (30 minutes). Fromthere, it’s a 5 to 10 minutes taxi ride, depending on the traffic.· By taxi: It’s a 25 minutes taxi ride from the airport. FROM THE BARCELONA AIRPORT, TERMINAL 1:Take the bus that connects with Terminal 2 to get the train that will take youdowntown, take the Aerobús that will take you to Plaza Catalunya, or just take ataxi.! IF YOU COME BY CAR:There is a car park next to the Guest House (Plaça Comercial) that charges 23,15euros per 24 hours (the price is subject to changes in the policy of the car parkcompany). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Balcon Del Born Hotel Barcelona
El Balcon Del Born Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing