We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Balcon del Born
Nearby Hotels
$207
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$214
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$123
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$373
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$344
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$149
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Arts Barcelona(Barcelona)
$450
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$437
$424
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
506
65
12
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
65
12
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathbed and breakfastgothic quarterstreet noisepablobalconycityneighborhoodtickets
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 591 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place has it all: It is clean, comfortable beds, 10 min walk to the beach, in the middle of the nicest area El Born,- surrounded by the best restaurants you can imagine! Lovely beautiful house, clean bathroom ( some rooms have shared,- but that was no problem at all!!, some have private, check when you make booking if you want to have private )
Our room had beautiful balcony, and also every day we had breakfast " al fresco" ,- delicious bread, cheese and ham ++ croissant and great coffee.
The room was spacious, beautiful old style, the bed great.
Best of all,- the staff:
Anna, Pablo, Roberto, Tomek, Roberto and Janet! Every day met with such warmth, politeness, hospitality, generosity, felt like staying with the best of hosts, almost became friends. Anna and everybody absolutely so charming, you feel taken care of in the best possible way. Full of information and tips and advice about what to do and where to eat.
We are going back as soon as we can!!
Recommended warmly!

Room Tip: Room 3 was great, I think maybe room number 2 or 1 has a private bath,- just ask them. They also have guest house 1 and 2, it´s really just two different floors. We stayed in guest house 1, room 3.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Location was excellent as eveybody commented. Walkable distance to all the attractions including old town, shops, restaurants and the beach. There was a balcony in the dining room and lots of fresh air accompanying breakfast. It was a bit noisy in the evening till mid-nite. Anna and Palbo were great hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPJmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon Euro-Trip and it was FANTASTIC! It's in an excellent location, walking distance to La Ramblas, Picasso Museum, and tons of cool restaurants! Ana and Pablo could not have been better hosts. They gave us lots of recommendations, and a detailed map of the interesting parts of the city. Breakfast was delicious, and the rooms are comfy, modern, and well appointed. 5 rooms shared 2 bathrooms, but in the 3 days we were there, we never once waited for a bathroom. The only drawback is that the rooms are not air conditioned. They had a very good oscillating fan in the room for us, and we had no issues sleeping at night - (and I'm usually not a fan of oscillating fans, but this one worked very well).
If you want to get the "local" experience while staying in Barcelona, stay with Ana and Pablo. End of story.

Room Tip: Try to book room 5 - it has a beautiful balcony where we sat and drank wine while people-watching in the evenings.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We chose El Balcon del Born after reading excellent reviews here. So our expectations were very high, yet El Balcon didn't disappoint us a bit. Probably the best thing about the B&B is its location in the old part of Barcelona. You'll find lot of great restaurants and nice boutiques next to the B&B and it's only about 15 mins walk to the nearest beach. Central location of El Balcon causes also its only flaw which is the noise from the streets you can hear in your room. Though, the noise comes from the pedestrian street which makes it less stressful than if it was caused by traffic. Nevertheless, earplugs are a must.

The best thing about El Balcon, along its location, is their personal service and cozy atmosphere thanks to their friendly hosts. You can enjoy a delicious breakfast on a balcony watching Barcelona to wake up for a new day. We were also satisfied with our big enough and tidy room. We had an own balcony and a private bathroom, something not all rooms contain.

We'll be back in El Balcon del Born next time we visit Barcelona. We recommend the place for everybody but especially for couples!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We can only give our highest recommendations to stay at El Balcon Del Born. Compared to places we have stayed world wide El Balcon Del Born is absolutely one of our favorite places to stay. Fantastic friendly and engaged staff and lovely rooms including very nice facilities, placed in the heart of Barcelona. We will for sure be back at El Balcon Del Born on our next stay(s) in Barcelona

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Henrik_Lytken_Bahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews