We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly staff and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel America Barcelona
Ranked #221 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Plus points: modern hotel not too large, friendly staff (especially Nuria at Reception - very helpful), breakfast buffet was comprehensive by continental standards, free wi-fi throughout, near to metro stations (Provenca and Diagonal), plenty of good restaurants within a few minutes walk. It's also in a safe area, but only 5 mins walk from Passeig de Gracia and 20 from La Rambla.
Negative points: can be noisy at times due to open design with light well.
Overall: would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrier50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    312
    101
    40
    16
See reviews for
123
316
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The America hotel is comfortable, pleasant, well located in a lovely and cheerful street. The rooms are modern, maybe could be a little larger. We also liked breakfast, not so expensive if you find an offer. We missed some bikes to go for the beautiful Granados street!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel was great and good value for money, one of the best i have stayed at yet. The staff are amazing, wish more hotels were like this one. The breakfast was beyond amazing, everything you can think of. They were especially friendly to my 2 yesr old who learned 'hola' by the end of our trip. I will definitley be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lhenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A group of friends and I visited barcelona back in 2010 and found this hotel to be our best choice for location and value. We got a good deal online, so were sceptical on the actual quality of rooms and service, until we got there.

We were very impressed with the whole experience. Everything ranging from the helpful receptionist (who armed us with maps and gave us tips on where to go and what methods of transport were best) to the quailty and comfort of the rooms, and the fact there is a jacuzzi and pool!!! The cherry on the cake really is how central the hotel was, just a walk into anywhere really, especially as we went when it was sunny and warm and did not mind walking.

If i was to go back to Barcelona, I'd book this hotel again without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is in a very accessible part of Barcelona. From my arrival staff could not have been more helpful. Room was clean and very comfortable. Wifi was fast and free. Many wonderful cafes close by and welcomng all day and night. Barcelona is a wonderful city loved every minute

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beermidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clean hotel, nice staff, perfect breakfast, very nice rooms: worth the money. They are improving their hotel all the time. Plus is that you can get their car for free for 4 hours (or a little more). Save area, close to plaza catalunya and more tourist spots.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here in June. The location was perfect for both metro and overground trains. The hotel was clean and modern and right in the centre of Barcelona. The rooms were very clean and of a very good size with a clean and large bathroom. We booked via Travelrepublic and got a good deal including breakfast - which otherwise would have been 15euros per person - the buffet was small and if I had booked without breakfast i would not have paid the extra for it.The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikkiK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Art Gallery
H10 Art Gallery
#61 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#148 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#175 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Evenia Rosello
Evenia Rosello
#149 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#68 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Eixample
Hotel BCN Urban Gran Rosellon
Hotel BCN Urban Gran Rosellon
#281 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America Barcelona

Property: Hotel America Barcelona
Address: c/ Provenca 195, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#138 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#173 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel America Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel America Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Barcelona
Hotel America Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing