We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it very much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #153 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed for four nights in the hotel in May 2012. Highly recommended. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Comfortable, modern and clean rooms. Good shower. Very good location, La Pedrera, Casa Batlló, Passeig de Gràcia just around the corner. Nice walk to Las Ramblas. Walking distance to the metro (Diagonal). Good restaurants and tapas in the neighbourhood. Would return. The only minor remark is that the walls to the adjoining rooms could be better isolated.

Room Tip: Look for a room on the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alfredo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Alfredo,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Alexandra during your stay in our city.

I am glad to verify you enjoyed our very good location and our helpfull staff. I am sorry for any inconvenience may have been cause the noise from another room. We are fixing that problem in order to give all our guest a better service.

We hope to see you again in our facilities

Best regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

My friend and I have been to the Alexandra many times and it never lets us down. It is in a perfect position for shopping, restaurants, and for sight-seeing. The staff are always friendly and helpful, and the rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The room we had this time was very quiet apart from the noise from the air-conditioning, and it had a small balcony to watch the world go by. In the past, the room rate has included breakfast which was always excellent, but this time breakfast was 18euros extra which we thought expensive, so we ate fresh strawberries, croissant and coffee round the corner for 11.60euros for both of us. We spent Sunday on the Barcelonetta Beach, ten minutes by taxi. A day swimming and sun-bathing is a wonderful contrast to the bustle of the city, The Alexandra is the perfect hotel for a weekend in Barcelona and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pplholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear guest

thank you very much for your comments and for your last stay with us.
I am pleased to hear tha our staff members have been kind with you.. We have new breakfast available, we look for the balance between quality and price.. sorry if you don´t like..

Our location is the best for this city... we are in the center of all importans areas.. and is very nice to seethe taxi service was good.

I hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the next future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Good boutique hotel, rooms are very clean and shower superb. Good breakfast buffet with friendly staff.location is terrific,just a short walk to pass.de Gracia and ten minutes walk to La Rambla and transport hub. Only downside is traffic noise with the balcony door open."city that never sleeps" MUst mention the great tapas bar and restaurant around the corner Monchos Costa Gallegas, superb well worth a visit (or two). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank georgy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Dear Georgy,

I would like to thank you for your stay in our boutique hotel.

We are improving our breakfast and is very nice for me that you like it and feel like home with our staff :)

The location of the hotel is reallly nice.. very near of everything...!

we hope to see you soon

best regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the hotel for 7 nights in April 2012. It was a very busy week in Barcelona as many tourists came to watch the crucial football games that the local team had that week. I compared the prices of many hotels nearby before going and I believe today that I got a very good price and return for my money. I recommend this hotel for several reasons:
1. It has great location. It's about 15 minutes walk to Las Ramblas which is the main avenue where all the restaurants are located. We do not think its good idea staying much closer to Las Ramblas since the closer you get, the greater the number of tourists becomes, to the point that you can barley walk freely in Las Ramblas. The way to Las Ramblas is through a very nice and fun avenue called Rambla de Catalunya .
2. The hotel looks very nice and inviting. The lobby, the restaurant and the rooms all look new (at least to us) and the design is very unique and modern. We thought it was nice though probably not everyone likes it. The hotel has pretty good wifi signal that I used to call through Skype.
3. The service. This is the most important feedback we have. As in every vacation, unexpected things may happen and when they do, it is important that the service providers will be pleasant and professional. We had a misunderstanding regarding the dates of reservation and we also needed to switch rooms in the middle. In both cases, the hotel staff was willing to assist as best they could and we did not feel we were mistreated. The staff was also happy to assist us and explain the main attractions in the city and the best means of transportation to get there. We had a great time and will definitely try to stay in hotel Alexandra next time we come to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zoarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear guest,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Alexandra during your stay in our city.

It is really a pleasure for us to verify you enjoyed your stay and you felt so comfortable. Thank you very much for your comments.

It´s really nice to hear from a guest than kind of things, our design, our good position, our service..and our free wifi signal..!!

I hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the next future .
best regards to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Everything was great: service, rooms, stylish and, of course, location.
Surely back with friends ... Very recommendable!

Room Tip: Lots of different kind of suites ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Alber

First of all I would like to thank you for your stay in the hotel Alexandra and thank you too for your comments..!

I hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the next future

best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very modern, nice hotel, steps away from the elegant Passeio de Gracia. The rooms are beautiful, the service is excellent - special thanks to the guys in the front desk - sooo helpful! Good for holidays, business or romantic trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for your stay in the Hotel Alexandra.



We are glad to verify you enjoyed your stay with us, and to know that our staff was so professional .


I hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the next future.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Nice location, nice staff, good beds...
Maybe a little too overprized but in general recommended

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank fred038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear guest,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Alexandra during your stay in our city.

It is really a pleasure for us to verify you enjoyed your stay and you felt so comfortable.

In reference to our prices I would say we are trying to adjust the price on demand, but sometimes our city is full of conferences or events held in Barcelona. anyway on our website we always have specials offers and I invite you to visit it whenever you want.

I hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again in the next future.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#170 of 516 in Barcelona
1,973 reviews
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#201 of 516 in Barcelona
3,109 reviews
Eixample
Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona
#143 of 516 in Barcelona
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: Calle Mallorca 251 | Barcelona, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#112 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $134 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting innovative design and contemporary amenities, this historic boutique hotel is centrally located in the heart of Barcelona, between Paseo de Gracia and Rambla Catalunya streets, the best shopping, turistic and business area of the city. Boutique design hotel, casual-luxury, terrace-garden, outdoor swimming pool, private meeting rooms and high-level restoration: Solomillo Restaurant a gastronomic brasserie discovery to enjoy a simple and original formula: meat by weight and a Delicatessen Charcuterie with a lot of character, in a relaxed and special atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection By Hilton Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing