We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecellency at a moderate price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Ranked #144 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ecellency at a moderate price!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

No doubt there could not be a better location for a hotel in Barcelona. Imagine... a city hotel with a pool outdoors! I had my 5th floor (top) room facing the interior, but no matter...it was extremely quiet! The room itself was small, but very cozy and well equipped (if not a missing bathrobe counted). The 5 sq mts balcony gave me a lots of more space in the room.
The staff was friendly ans professional. Some moments at the reception were busy because only one service person, but who is busy during the holidays... businessmen might disagree...
The the breakfast... one of the best ever seen! Cava and other wines were served on the buffet! Not ready poured in the glasses!!! The range of beverages was good, however I expected apple juice, but as a substitute I took a fresh apple. Excellent cold cuts and hot egg dishes like tortilla española... so tasty! Fresh baked bread and pastries of all kinds...
I do recommend this hotel to everyone willing to pay 192€ double room/night during the high season. Breakfast 12€.

Room Tip: Interior or exterior room does not matter because the street in front of the hotel is quiet, even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelsinkiJom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Rupert Rafel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    487
    154
    74
    56
See reviews for
326
542
91
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location hotel was exceptional. The good value for money. Walking distance from all the restaurants, sights and shopping. There is a seating area, pool. Very clean and modern rooms. The bathroom was luxurious. The staff were exceptionally helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. Breakfast very good also.
Everything was perfect. We will definitely stay again next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Rupert Rafel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Catalonia Plaza Cataluna is a very comfortable hotel in a quite old building which has been nicely updated. It is located on a pedestrian mall which links to Las Ramblas via a myriad of alleys, each with its unique assortment of shops and restaurants. The furniture was comfortable enough for the very little time we spent in the room. Our air conditioner struggled to keep the room comfortable and if they looked at it when we requested, it didn't help any. Our only window looked out onto an air shaft, so there was no scenery, but it probably helped with keeping the room quiet. The breakfast buffet was very nice, with lots of different options. We thoroughly enjoyed a drink by the pool each afternoon during the post-lunch siesta. The staff were all very friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear customer,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Rupert Rafel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is ideally suited to both business and tourist users. It's central location and ease of access is 10/10! The rooms are air conditioned, the beds are comfortable and food is superb. Breakfasts are buffet style with plenty of options. The restaurant offers superb food, that is in keeping with Catalonia... The prices are good too!
The pool is not huge but adequate with open and shaded seating.
Back to the location - the hotel is situated off the Plaza Catalunya, approximately 100m, from here buses to and from the airport can be caught. Also tour buses of this beautiful city. For walking, Las Ramblas and the Gothic quarter are moments away...

Room Tip: The higher the room level 5 or above the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouse260265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Rupert Rafel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The best of this hotel is its location next to Catalunya Square.
Breakfast is also very good.
There is internet in the rooms but disconnects after a period of time and must perform a login every time.
The standard room is very small with a window not as effective, luckily there was room at the hotel for 56 Euros we upgraded the room better.
I would like to have a room with a kettle and coffee, unfortunately this hotel was not.
Very small pool 7 m length and 3 m width ....

Room Tip: do not order a Standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaffabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We apologize the inconveniences caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully,
Rupert Rafel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked via booking.com and paid around 500 euro for three nights. The room was on the 5th floor, large, clean and with a view of the square / street (room 508). The bathroom was very clean and well appointed and all of the towels etc were of good quality. I was slightly concerned about noise as the room was directly opposite the lifts but this wasn't a problem as there is a second door between the hall / bathroom and the bedroom which kept the noise levels down.
The location is fantastic, you can take the airport express which terminates in the square directly outside the hotel, its a three minute walk at most. The hotel has a nice, traditional feel and is ideal for a city break. The small pool is nice for a dip after a hectic days shopping or sight seeing and the bar area is comfortable and relaxing. We didnt eat at the hotel as we prefer to explore local cafes and restaurants so cant comment on the restaurant.
I mentioned during booking that it was our 10th wedding anniversary and when we returned from a dip in the pool the hotel had left a lovely bottle of cava and some chocolates for us. A very nice touch and much appreciated.
Overall we would recommend this hotel as it has everything you need for a city break and we found the service, the location and the amenities to be excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Rupert Rafel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel has rooms which look like they were decorated by middle management accountants; its
staff are so rude they seem to have been trained in the civil service; the beds so hard and lumpy they seem to have been sourced from a prison; walls so thin I could hear my neighbor clear her throat; breakfast which was tasteless and oily and a a swimming pool that opens late and closes early.

Nicest thing I can think of saying is that the rooms are well sized.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally_and_bill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaCataluna, Director General at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We apologize the inconveniences caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully,
Rupert Rafel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 512 in Barcelona
623 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#151 of 512 in Barcelona
1,471 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 512 in Barcelona
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#156 of 512 in Barcelona
1,515 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 512 in Barcelona
2,072 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Plaza Cataluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Plaza Cataluna

Property: Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Address: C/ Bergara 11, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Plaza Cataluna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Cataluña (previously Catalonia Duques de Bergara) is situated 50 metres from Barcelona’s Plaça Catalunya and is a 2-minute walk from Las Ramblas. It has an outdoor pool and free Wi-FiPlaza Cataluña Hotel is a 5-minute walk from Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter and a 20-minute walk from Barcelona Port. Gaudi’s Casa Batló and La Pedrera can be reached in around 15 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Catalonia Plaza Cataluna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Duques De Bergara
Catalonia Duques De Bergara
Duques De Bergara
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing