We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROYAL Ramblas Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Ranked #117 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very clean in a super location. Open market just a few blocks away where you can sit at bar and have excellent lunch. Many shops, bars and restaurants close by. Can join city tour bus a few blocks away. Very convenient. Arrived off a cruise ship and joined a friend from Madrid during soccer finals. A lot happening all around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank V Wayne Speedy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
There are newer reviews for Royal Ramblas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was our first visit to Barcelona, and we didn't know where to go or where to stay. We got a recommendation from friends to stay at the Hotel Royal Ramblas. They liked the property and raved about the location. We booked based on that and didn't regret it for a moment.

We arrived on a cruise ship fresh off a 7 day western Med cruise, and headed straight to the hotel. Even though we showed up at 8:00am they allowed us to check in and drop our bags in our room. Very helpful staff throughout our stay. The hotel itself is quite modern with spacious rooms, a real treat compared to the average European hotel room. The room was well furnished, clean with a really spacious bathroom. Unfortunately we were facing the back alley so had a pretty uninspiring view of laundry lines and roof top antennas.

Room rates in Barcelona are generally more reasonable than other major European destinations, and this hotel was no different. Pretty good value compared to say Paris.

And finally the location, wow! Right on La Rambla, one block from Plaza Catalunya, 2 blocks from La Boqueria, 2 blocks from Barri Gotico, and 4-5 blocks from the ocean. La Rambla is bustling with people at all hours and has an electric energy that is hard to find elsewhere. Taxis are readily available outside the hotel, and Plaza Catalunya is a major transportation hub from which you can get to anywhere in Barcelona. Also, lots of dining and shopping choices within 5mins walk.

Wholeheartedly would recommend this hotel, especially for other newbies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VeteranWorldTravellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Location is very central close to everything you can think of. Shops, theater, restaurants, action. Close from the airport too. Glass glazed so no problems with the sound from the action during the night. Staff friendly and willing to help but rooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were on our honeymoon in December last year and spent 2 nights at Royal Ramblas. The location of the hotel is killer, walking distance from Passeig de Gracia as well as Liceu metro stations. The street itself is very happening, surrounded by a lot of bars and restaurants. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, the service was good and the facilities were ok. The bed arrangement was weird though. We had 2 single beds joined together, not quite the arrangement you would want on your honeymoon. Overall, I would love to go back to this hotel, mostly because of the location.

Room Tip: The family room was not that great. Choose something else
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megs245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We (2 couples in our 30's) stayed at the Royal Ramblas for 2 nights last weekend as a birthday present for my boyfriend. After spending hours and hours mulling over hotels on the internet, I chose this hotel for it's location, convenience and price. We paid 90 euros per night per room which I booked direct on their website. Breakfast was also included (they had a special Free breakfast offer). I had originally booked economy rooms for 75 euros per night but decided to upgrade to the standard room. As this was a special occasion, I also wanted to request cava for our arrival. I emailed the hotel directly several times who always responded promptly and were extremely helpful in the week leading up to our stay.

Upon arrival, the reception were very courteous and when I mentioned our reservation, recognised my name from the emails we had shared that week. We were given inter-connecting rooms that overlooked La Ramblas. Rooms #101 and #102. We didn't pay any extra for these rooms so I assume they were an upgrade!

The rooms were clean, modern, fresh and ideal for us who were going to spend most of our time outside the hotel. We were not bothered by any noise other than hearing people talking outside the rooms when waiting for the lift during the early hours - this is not the hotel's fault but the other guests!! The beds were 2 singles pushed together.

The breakfast was a great start to our day. A vast selection of teas/coffees and juices, cold meats, breads, lots of cakes, fruits and yoghurts, cereals, fruit and hot plates with bacon, sausages and eggs.

The reception were extremely helpful with any questions we had and were always polite whenever we came back to the hotel - regardless of the time!
The reception even apologised to us when we were being hassled by unruly types at 2.30am on the Saturday morning outside the hotel - but this is La Ramblas and we knew that after hours meant undesirables! At no point during our stay here were we made to feel unsafe.

The hotel is in a really convenient location - a couple of minutes walk max to Playa Catalunya metro with easy links across Barcelona. There are a variety of fast food joints and pharmacies also in spitting distance (both of which came in handy the morning after the night before!)

We had a fantastic weekend in Barcelona and at this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it or even staying there again if we return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel. Great location. In terms of facilities I would give this a 3 star rating as it is basic, yet modern. However overall value, comfort, cleanliness and situation it is a 4. Glad we chose it.

Easy to get to from the airport. 5 min from airport bud stop in square.

2  Thank Tristosterone
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hotel is in the heat of La Rambla, perfect location but you cant hear the noise from the street due to double windows. Rooms are nice, neat and comfortable, beds are a little short for men ( tall men). As somebody said, dont expect too much from this hotel. We expected spa from a 4 star hotel but there is no spa. You wont regret but you wont be competly captivated also.

Room Tip: You cant take the La Rambla view room, no noise, very quiet. If you are tall(er) ask if they have la...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#213 of 513 in Barcelona
1,320 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
2,519 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#139 of 513 in Barcelona
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
2,111 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,236 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#157 of 513 in Barcelona
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ramblas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ramblas Hotel

Address: 117 Las Ramblas, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#90 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $166 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ramblas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Ramblas Hotel is known for its privileged location in the heart of Las Ramblas, the most popular and well-known boulevard in the Barcelona center. The hotel is close to Catalunya Square (50 mts), the meeting point for leisure and culture in Barcelona and the symbol of its open and cosmopolitan character. Royal Ramblas Hotel offers 4 star facilities and an excellent location in Barcelona center which would make it the best option to explore the city. The hotel is at easy walking distance to the main tourist and cultural attractions such as Gothic Quarter, Cathedral, La Boqueria market, Teatre del Liceu, el Raval, la Barceloneta and the Harbour...And enjoys one of the best and gorgeous areas for dining and shopping from Plaza Catalunya to Passeig de Gracia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Mirai, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Ramblas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Royal Ramblas
Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing