We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Ranked #122 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our room was the smallest we have had since we were students decades ago traveling on a very limited budget and staying in 1 star hotels. There was a sink, toilet and shower but no bathroom. The total size of our room and "bath" was smaller than our cabin (the least expensive) on a Celebrity cruise.

Room Tip: To get a good room go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Ramblas for two nights, pre-cruise. The decision to stay was made from the hotel's convenient location to Las Ramblas. Without being long-winded, lets just say that the hotel looks great in the photos, but is incredibly small and compact with tiny rooms. We had a family suite and aside from the nice bath, it was much too small for four people with two weeks worth of luggage. The breakfast is overpriced and lacks selection and the service from the front desk was lack luster to say the least. The most pleasant service we received was when we checked out, I told my wife it was the first smile I had seen since we arrived. Avoid Royal and stay at The Grand Hotel, it is heads and shoulders above this hotel in every way and is only slightly more expensive, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the alley, very claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB30A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. After coming from a long train ride and a poor hotel experience the night before we were very happy to spend out first trip to Barcelona in such a great hotel. The room was spacious with excellent people watching from the large windows overlooking Las Ramblas blvd. it is a short walk to restaurants and shopping. We also walked to La Pedrera, the University and several other attractions (we like walking). Free wi-fi, with a very nice breakfast. We didn't try the restaurant. I would totally recommend this hotel and hope I get an opportunity to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks Las Ramblas Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pima41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was in Barcelona with my family just before the European cruse on celebrity lines. We were there for 4 nights hotels feels fresh I think it's renovated pretty recently. It has clean contemporary style very cool. Rooms are decent size we had a window that looked right on Ramblar very busy and noisy street however noise was not issue at all room has very good double window and isolate noise almost 100%. Anyway hotel is very practical not very expensive front desk helpful that is one very good part another in my opinion and not less important is LOCATION !!! I think it just unbeatable, hotel located in very right location it close to everything, bus tours, major tourist attractions, port, restaurants etc. Ramblar boulevard is a place to be to feel and see the character and people of Barcelona you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: You can book anywhere in hotel I think rooms looking to Ramblar street are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikolas888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel located in the end of La Rambla St. It is just less than 5 minutes from Catalunya Metro Station. When I paid just €6 to take a bus from the airport to Catalunya station which much cheaper from taking a taxi. Also, You can go anywhere from the metro station and beside that Rambla st has a lot of restaurant, bars, coffee and shopping. I highly recommend this hotel specially i stayed there in the the end of July which was fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Althunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was my 4th trip to Barcelona - I finally got it right with this hotel. Excellent location, bright, clean & modern facilities with a friendly & helpful staff as well as a delicious breakfast service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agirl3nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Don't waste your time and just book this hotel.
Great size rooms, best location hands down, reasonable rates, excellent service.
it was a close walk to everywhere. felt very safe. very comfortable beds. just note that king is made out of two separate mattresses. highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwaggaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#206 of 518 in Barcelona
1,439 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#110 of 518 in Barcelona
2,290 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#37 of 518 in Barcelona
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#114 of 518 in Barcelona
2,584 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#73 of 518 in Barcelona
1,261 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#30 of 518 in Barcelona
4,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ramblas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ramblas Hotel

Address: 117 Las Ramblas, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#90 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $118 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ramblas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Ramblas Hotel is known for its privileged location in the heart of Las Ramblas, the most popular and well-known boulevard in the Barcelona center. The hotel is close to Catalunya Square (50 mts), the meeting point for leisure and culture in Barcelona and the symbol of its open and cosmopolitan character. Royal Ramblas Hotel offers 4 star facilities and an excellent location in Barcelona center which would make it the best option to explore the city. The hotel is at easy walking distance to the main tourist and cultural attractions such as Gothic Quarter, Cathedral, La Boqueria market, Teatre del Liceu, el Raval, la Barceloneta and the Harbour...And enjoys one of the best and gorgeous areas for dining and shopping from Plaza Catalunya to Passeig de Gracia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Ramblas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Royal Ramblas
Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing