We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent front of house employees. Muchos gracias.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Front Maritim
Ranked #324 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My parents have just returned from a cruise that started in Barcelona and the first 2 nights were at this hotel.

Unfortunately on the first day of the trip they were robbed and had cards, cash etc stolen. This can happen in any city of the world, but for a couple in their 70`s it is a harrowing experience.

However... The hotel staff were simply superb. The help, consideration and attention that they gave was first class. Nothing was too much trouble and they deserve the highest praise. Muy, muy bien!!

I travel far and wide and good service is always something that I look for, and this is the type of hotel that I would like to be in a crisis.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wardy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, we work to give the best service and make our customers feel at home.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Myself and my partner have just returned from a 3 day stay here , we were in Barcelona to see the Grand Prix and the hotel came as part of the deal.
Our initial concern after arriving was it was rather out of way from the city centre but after finding the metro station 5 minutes walk from the hotel we discovered we could be in the city centre quickly, we bought a 10 journey ticket for 9 euros and is well worth it the amount of times we used the metro over the 3 days.
The hotel is clean and in a quiet area of the city, the girl on reception was very pleasant and checked us in quickly and efficiently.
Our room was quite basic but clean and did the job, the only down side to the room was it was right next to the lift and vending machine so was quite noisy!
Breakfast was mainly continental with scrambled eggs, all self service, juices , fruit, toast , cold meats and cheeses, pastries etc again it was included in our package and we found it reasonable, the waiting staff were pleasant and the waiter makes a mean mojito!
Just a couple of small points, we missed not having tea and coffee making facilities in the room and also found it strange that the bar closed at 11pm this is pretty early for a city hotel.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and looked on to a grassed area, it was next to the lifts and vending machi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion as it helps us to continually improve.
We hope you visit us again soon, do not forget that on our website you will find the best prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from this hotel where we stayed pre and post cruising. We found the hotel receptionist very welcoming and accommodated us by checking us in early after our cruise and remembering us from the previous week. The rooms were comfortable and well looked after by friendly staff and the food both for breakfast and dinner was excellent and good value. The rooms are not large but well equipped for tourists and business customers who are out and about during the day. I would certainly return and would recommend this hotel for superb value and service.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the sea and back overlook a paved quadrangle with trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janmar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We appreciate your comment, and a pleasure that our clients are comfortable and enjoy their stay with us. Since this is our work.
Hope to see you soon at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is located in a smart residential suburb,approximately 3 miles from the Placa Catalunya which is Barcelona's main square. We chose an out of town location to avoid the noisy night revellers, preferring to be in the city by day and in a quiet, seafront suburb by night. It's a very pleasant (not to say healthy) 45 minute walk to the harbour and Columbus Monument at the foot of the Rambla, Barcelona's famous avenue. This walk will take you past dozens of restaurants, marinas and small bars as you pass 5 beautiful beaches.

The hotel is mixed bag. It faces the sea, across two busy dual carriageways, but the hotel is so well glazed that there is no worrisome traffic noise. It has 177 rooms distributed over two buildings. The front is a single storey affair with (as I remember) 50 rooms, 25 of which face the front and have sea views. Otherwise all the others look out onto a green quad where 3 sides are residential blocks. The rear building has (again, to the best of my memory) 7 floors; and the hotel's only two rooms with a balcony are sited on the top of this building. We were first allocated a room on the fifth floor which was like a shoe box. We asked for a change and were given a room in the first building, so just one floor up, and facing the sea. This was all done at once, with good grace, and the 15€ daily supplement was waived. Thus, my firm advice is to pay the supplement and book one of these sea view rooms in the first building. It's well worth it.

The general ambience is that it's a commercial hotel (lots of business people/conference attendees etc.), clean and functional, a bit bland with a rapid turnover of guests. We were there just 4 nights and it was not unusual for 40 guests to arrive, dine and leave the next morning.
The reception staff were courteous and efficient rather than warm and friendly and I have to say they were hopeless at offering tourist advice. For example, we asked where we could pick up the Autobus Touristica and quite accidentally found a stop just yards from the hotel having been given tortuous directions that would have taken us 20 minutes. There's a comfortable bar area and a very reasonable restaurant where we ate for 3 of our 4 nights. However, the Table d'Hote menu changes just once a week which we've never encountered before. We were there in April and this may change in High Season. But the food was excellent and at 15€ for three courses and a large glass of wine and bread it's terrific value. The buffet breakfast was very good as well.

The servers were delightful-here there really was the kind of warm and friendly service that you might expect in a more conventional holiday hotel where people stay for one or two weeks.
Finally, we love to shop and there is a superb shopping mall (The Forum), with a number of eateries, just 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamKamEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

It is a pleasure to receive your comments and see who has felt comfortable with us. The entire staff works to help you feel at home. On behalf of all employees, we thank you and hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

myself and my granson have just returned from 4 nights at thia hotel, we went with The Travel Department, which we have used before, so we had no say in where we stayed. The hotel was a good bit away from the centre of things, but that was ok as it was only 2euro on the Metro to get into the centre of Barcelona. The hotel itself was a let down, the breakfast area was to small, and the food was always cold. Imagine cold scrambled eggs! The rooms were small but overall the hotel was clean. It was very warm in the rooms, and when i asked why the air conditioning was not working, i was told they only have it on in the summer months! It was so hot in the room that on two nights we were unable to sleep. Also on their website it says that kettles are in the rooms, but there not. This is only an average hotel worth at the most 3 stars.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view cost an extra 15 euro a night, and are at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaymarrow31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving your comments, it is always helpful to know what our customers are saying. The hotel has a central air conditioning and heating, and seasonal changes as well as the date you visited us was not yet appropriate to the central change as time usually varies oltra mucho.Esperamos that time there have no problem and can enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is located in a newer area a few kilometers outside the city center of Barcelona, but the tram and bus within a maximum of 10 minutes of walking, makes the city easily reachable.

The beach is just across the street, and the area has quite a few restaurants and shops within a few minutes of walking from the hotel. There are also a couple of playgrounds for children nearby.

The staff is nice and friendly and the rooms are nice, clean and relatively spacey. My room had a huge bed, double closet, a working desk and a couple of chairs, and a also nice bathroom with shower and a big tub. The down side is that the desk is placed in the darkest corner of the room, with no possibilities of light, and that not all the rooms have cold storage/minibar-possibilities.

Internet is available both wireless and through cable. The wireless is quite unstable, but the front desk is handing out cables upon request.

You may experience some noise form the neighbor rooms or the streets, but unless you are a very light sleeper, it will probably not cause any problems.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ideatroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment, we note their observations and work on them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have just returned from a three day trip to Barcelona staying at this hotel. On arrival Hector and Manel greeted us and were very helpful and pleasant. Our bath did not work and we happened to just mention it on reception and immediately we were moved to a sea view room. Brilliant service! Breakfast is good with a great choice of food and unlimited, breakfast is served from 7am until 10.30 am - a very good time span. This is predominately a business hotel, having said that there were several people staying via Groupon deals and lots from Japan, Holland etc, And all walks of live.
We had a wonderful few days and

We are really looking forward to returning to the Front Maritim soon!

Maria and Trevor Burton-Shaw
Norwich
Norfolk.

Room Tip: I think they may allocate on a price system, ie: the more you pay, the better the room. They do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion, we work to make customers feel at home and enjoy their stay in Barcelona.
Check back soon and do not forget to find the best deals on our website

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
AC Hotel Gava Mar
#233 of 520 in Barcelona
426 reviews
Poblenou
Euro Hotel Barcelona
Euro Hotel Barcelona
#394 of 520 in Barcelona
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#254 of 520 in Barcelona
616 reviews
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#228 of 520 in Barcelona
633 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#241 of 520 in Barcelona
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Front Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Front Maritim

Address: Passeig Garcia Faria 69-71, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#191 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $81 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Front Maritim 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona right on the beachfront and a few meters from international congress centre CCIB, the hotel has 177 rooms with direct telephone line, internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning, full bathrooms with bathtub or shower and hair dryer. Some of them adapted for handicapped people and some with sea views. In the hotel you can enjoy our fitness room, with cardio machines, sauna and steam bath. Also you can use our business centre with computers connected to internet and our restaurant where you will taste a large variety of Mediterranean cuisine. There is own parking available in the same building. The hotel has 6 meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment, natural light, in front of the sea and high speed internet connection. They are the ideal place for the celebration of your meetings, conventions, banquets and all kinds of social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Front Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Maritim Barcelona
Front Maritim Hotel
Hotel Front Maritim Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing