We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine location and accommodations”
Review of Hotel Balmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Balmes
Ranked #123 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine location and accommodations”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Hotel Balmes is a very good choice for visitors to Barcelona. It is well located in the Eixample district, quite close to shopping areas (Passeig de Gràcia) and many of the best known tourist attractions, but free of the crowds and noise that travelers encounter when they stay at properties near the Ramblas in the heart of the old city. The modern lobby makes a good first impression and, like other Derby properties, emphasizes art: there is a display of African artifacts downstairs and guest rooms had framed prints, presumably by contemporary artists. Breakfast was served in a large, comfortable space and hotel staff made sure to replenish the buffet as needed.

My standard room was on the small size, which is entirely characteristic of all the various Barcelona hotels I've stayed at. That said, the space was certainly adequate. Since I had work to do in the evenings, I appreciated the ample desk and very good desk lamp. Hotel lighting is often inadequate so the Balmes is to be commended for excellent illumination. I could read, write and edit in comfort. Furniture in the room was beginning to show its age (scuffs and dents) but the bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean. Toiletries were provided (shampoo, lotion, bath gel) and a chocolate was placed on the night table each evening. There was a full size shower/bathtub with a rain shower head. The bed was perfectly comfortable and I was pleased to see that the air conditioning system was still running in early November, when the city ran into a spell of unusually warm, humid weather.
Apparently the hotel has a pool and garden area but I never found time to check out this feature of the property. One odd feature: both rooms I occupied had a floor-to-ceiling column (in one instance, very inconveniently located right next to the door). I assume this must be a structural feature of the building. Satellite TV offers stations in Castilian, Catalan, English, German, Italian and French.

Front desk staff were very helpful. The first room I was assigned was on the first floor, overlooking the lobby area and elevator. When the noise proved problematic, it was no problem for them to switch me to a room on a higher floor, far from the elevator. I spent the rest of my stay in blissful quiet. There is a single computer located near the lobby that is available for use by guests. If there is one recommendation I would make, it would be to add an additional computer to avoid long waits like I experienced. If you have considerable business to transact or need regular e-mail access you may wish to bring your laptop (the hotel has wi-fi). That's a better alternative than doing your e-mail at 1:30 AM--which I ended up doing--when no one else is around.

The breakfast buffet was more than adequate: pastries, breads, cheeses, several varieties of fresh fruit, tortilla, juices. As is so often the case, coffee was dispensed from a machine. The added charge for breakfast is not inexpensive; however, if you can find a deal that includes it as part of your room rate it's a good option and certainly very convenient, especially if you're in Barcelona for business. A nice plus: a variety of newspapers are available at breakfast.

In sum, this is very comfortable 3-star hotel with good amenities, a central location, and efficient staff. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid first-floor rooms overlooking the ground floor lobby to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your words about the Hotel Balmes. Is very good for as that you enjoyed in our Hotel.We work hard every day in order to give the best service to our clients, this is our aim.
And when we know that our clients say as you : that the rooms are well, the service is good, the locations is perfect, the staff is very helpful, the breakfast is fantastic, etc, we feel very proud and happy.

Thank you again for your opinion and see you soon in the Hotel Balmes.

Pepe Camps. - General Manager of the Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    444
    177
    58
    24
See reviews for
180
475
83
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I know quite well Barcelona and it was the first I stayed in this hotel and I would definitely come back. Perfectly located. Walking distance from very good restaurants in the area, shopping, metro, House of Gaudi etc... Hotel staff is really nice and the rooms are very good for the deal I had. For a 3 star hotel and in Barcelona, it's far better than expected.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenelausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your words about the Balmes Hotel,
Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed in our Hotel Balmes.

I hope to see you next future in the Balmes Hotel and if you need something I will be happy to offer you.

Thnak you so much.

Pepe Camps.- General Manager Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week long holiday in Barcelona. We stayed at Balmes and it was briliant, we were in room 202 which had a large terrace, we sat out in the mornings for breakfast as there is a 24 hour supermarket just a few doors down. The supermarket has a good selection of wines, salami, ham, bread and cheese etc at very reasonable prices. We had lovely cava sitting out on the terrace each evening also bought from the supermarket!
The room was lovely, the staff were excellent especially the lovely lady who cleaned our room - she was so friendly and very good.
I would recommend this hotel as it was a great central location and was very good value for money.
I cant wait to head back out to barcelona!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Balmes, is for us a pleasure to know that you had a
very nice experience with our Hotel. We always try to do the best for our clients this is our principal aim.If the clients are happy all the staff of the Hotel Balmes is happy.

I hope to see you next future in Barcelona and of course in the Hotel Balmes.

Thanks and see you soon.

Pepe Camps.- General Manager Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is a really friendly efficient hotel with the bonus of a nice pool area and no traffic noise. Its in the centre of the city so within easy walking distance of the main Gaudi sites and the old town. We could'nt have picked a better base for our 4 day city break.

If you get to the Gaudi sites at their opening times the crowds are slight. Book the Sagrada in advance and always take the audio equipment at all sites.

Leave a day for Montserrat ....brilliant.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool/garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your words about the Hotel Balmes.
We try to do the best for all the clients and this is our way of work.
For all the staff of the Hotel Balmes is very important to know that our clients are happy with us.

Thank you so much and I hope to see you soon in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.- General Manager Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The lobby is magnificent, which you can see from the photos, provided by the hotel/
There is back yard with the pool and the bar. The rooms are very small but have lots of very creative design about them. The bathroom is full marble, very stylish. The noise at night can be an issue, if your neighbors are having parties in their room. But overall - it is good honest place , centrally located, which was pleasant to come back every night after the day on the town.
The internet WIFI works only in the lobby and on the 1st floor. There is a computer downstairs.
The art in the lobby is very high class.

Room Tip: They are all very very different. Ask specific questions about the size and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glamontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Balmes.
For all the staff of the Balmes Hotel is very important to know that our clients are happy.
We try to do the best for our clients this is our aim, and we will continue working hard in this way.

Thank you for apreciate the Art we have in the Hotel and for apreciate our service.

See you soon in the Hotel Balmes.

Pepe Camps.- General Manager Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

First Class Hotel, modern clean and comfortable. Brilliant location, staff could not have been more helpful, go for a room with a terrace if possible. Cannot understand complaints of thin walls, our room was perfect, we stayed in executive room well worth the extra.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for executive room and ask for a terrace on 1st or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blagdon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your words about our Hotel Balmes.

All the staff of the Hotel and me, we feel very happy to know that you were happy with us in our Hotel Balmes.

We try to give the best always to our clients, this is our aim.

Thank you again and see you next future in the Hotel Balmes.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Balmes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Hotel Balmes, barcelona

Centrally located in a relatively good neighborhood and closer to a series of restaurants and not too far from the metro. Breakfast is good although we paid extra for it. There is good selection of food e.g. there is boiled egg and omelet. The room size is ok and shower is comfortable.  Staff is helpful and efficient. The in room wifi is good.

However just as some previous comments noted the walls are rather thin to the point that we could make our every word of what our neighbors said if we could understand them. This is not good if you are looking for some sound sleep after a day of walking. Avoid ground floor rooms esp. those near the reception and the lounge and common areas. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Balmes, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your words about the Hotel Balmes and hope to see you in the future in our Hotel again.
For all the staff is a pleasure to know that you had a very good experience with us.

I would like that all the clients respect the silence at night , because some of them sometimes don´t respect it.We will work hard in order to respect the rest of the clients.

Thank you so much, and see you soon in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps- General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#49 of 513 in Barcelona
1,411 reviews
Eixample
Acevi Villarroel
Acevi Villarroel
#149 of 513 in Barcelona
936 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#147 of 513 in Barcelona
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#128 of 513 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#94 of 513 in Barcelona
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balmes

Property: Hotel Balmes
Address: Mallorca, 216, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#93 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balmes 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmes is a modern four-star hotel just steps away from Barcelona's Avinguda Diagonal in the city's Eixample neighborhood. Minutes from Passeig de Gràcia, the hotel combines its central location with the tranquility of its pool and interior garden. An oasis in the heart of Barcelona's shopping district with a sauna and exclusive services. With 102 comfortable rooms and a range of tailored options, from double and family rooms to exquisite suites and luxurious apartments, guests are ensured the perfect stay for either business or pleasure. In addition to its function rooms and one-of-a-kind dining options for groups and events, the hotel also features a collection of African art that showcases three-dimensional wooden African masks and sculptures from different sub-Saharan African countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Balmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Balmes Hotel
Balmes Barcelona
Hotel Balmes Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing