We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend with you”
Review of Hesperia Sant Joan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hesperia Sant Joan
Ranked #212 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
1 review
“nice weekend with you”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

i liked the hotel,nice team ate reception very helpfull. the room clean and big (i didnt knew that was apahthotel.We have liked. The brekfast is very good (we take once and we have enjoyed).

The think that we didnt liked was the location,i've booking in a internet site (not hotel site) and i phill that i'm been busted because i loked for an hotel in plaza de espanha and the site give me your hotel (1hour from the plaza espanha). I know that in the site there are your address but i dont know barcelona and i thinked that was in the correct place.In deed no....I'll never booking again from the same site. but is not your fault.so i recommend your hotel,is verz nice.jose

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank jose s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    422
    156
    38
    17
See reviews for
244
324
57
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just back from a short first stay in barcelona
Booked in to the Hesperia because it was fairly close to the airport and as we were arrive at 2130 i didnt want the hassel of finding public transport so took a taxi which cost 23 euros.
Hotel was fairly basic but clean but although we asked for a non smoking room the smell of stale ciggies hit you we were on the 7th floor and wouldhave had a good view but the windows were dirty on the outside so could hardly see out.When i enquired about transport next day i was advised to buy a barcelona 48hour card but what i wasnt told told was that you had to change the reciept which you had to pay for in cash at a touriest information office in the city so you had to pay for the first journey as well a t10 card would have worked out a lot cheaper the only advantage of the card was the discount vouchers you got with them.the l77 bus that stops 50 yards from the hotel drops you off at the airport terminal1 frome there we had to take the shuttle bus to terminal2 and only cost 2 euro each all in all i think next time i would get a hotel closer to the city centre so as to spend less time on trams and metro

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel is fantastic, staff very friendly (except one miserable guy), rooms are huge for the price and have a kitchen, living area and bedroom, as well as a nice bathroom. You have to ask if you want cooking equipment, but we saved loads of money eating from the supermarket instead of eating out!

However, the pool is almost permanently in the shade, and so it is freezing. If you are aiming to spend a few days lounging by the pool, this isn't the best place for it. It is also a bit of a journey out of town, but with a T10 ticket, each journey is less than 1 euro, which allows up to 3 changes of transport. (bus 157 outside of hotel goes to beach/La Rambla, or tram T3 by supermarket goes to Maria Christina metro where you get L3 usually to downtown)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had just come from a Barcelona Holiday Inn Express which is new and modern which may have affected our opinion of this place, but this Hesperia pales in comparison. We only stayed here because of other reviews but they must have shares in Hesperia? We found our room tired and dark. My wife said there is nothing nice about it.

Although you have a kitchen it is limited in capacity. No oven and you have to ask for plates or cutlery to be delivered to your room.

The knob which sends the water to the shower rose was busted and sitting on the bathroom sink. The windows were really filthy, the balcony door would not lock, the pool is surrounded on all four sides by horrible apartments.

Beware of parking hassles in this hotel, we got ticketed right outside while moving our bags to our room. Free parking is impossible to find even after working hours.

Mainly it's the tired and dark feel of our room that would put us off ever returning. There are much better places than this one for similar pricing, for instance Holiday Inn Express which provide free continental breakfast and free parking.

Seems to be back packers who love the location?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

It is really a good value for money. The rooms are big and spacious. The kitchen set is available at the reception. The pool is nice, but it has too cold water in it. The area is quiet so you wont have trouble to catch a sleep.

The negative thing is that the location is too far away from the city center, if you like to party don´t even think about this hotel. Also there are not enough staff and most of the staff are not so good with customer service.

To us it was really great experience. We stayed there 9 nights

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luhnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
1,129 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#183 of 513 in Barcelona
564 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#195 of 513 in Barcelona
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#390 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#398 of 513 in Barcelona
242 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesperia Sant Joan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Sant Joan

Property: Hesperia Sant Joan
Address: Josep Trueta, 2 | Sant Joan Despi, 08970 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#121 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#155 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hesperia Sant Joan 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hesperia San Joan Suites is located at the northern end of Avenida Diagonal in Barcelona, giving guests fast and easy access to the city's business and shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hesperia Sant Joan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Sant Joan Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Sant Joan Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing