We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a quiet location”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #149 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a quiet location”
Reviewed February 28, 2010

The hotel is a little north of Plaça de Catalunya (one stop on the train) in the Eixample district. This is where most of the Modernist buildings are like Sagrada Familia and La Pedrera. My room was in the interior of the hotel so had no view but it was clean and tastefully decorated. The hotel staff were helpful and polite. I didn't try the restaurant or breakfast but there are plenty of little cafe's around to grab a coffee and croissant. For the rate I paid, the hotel was a bargain and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente muchas gracias por sus comentarios y celebramos de que estuvieran bien.
Esperando que puedan volver en un futuro les saludamos muy cordialmente.

Pepe Camps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    476
    173
    34
    18
See reviews for
166
519
58
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The common areas of this hotel are lovely and give you a feeling that it is too good to be true when you walk in the door. How could this beatutiful hotel be so resaonably priced. It makes sense when you enter the guest room. The furnishings are spare and unattractive. It looks as though it hasn't been updated in years. It is diffcult to control the temp and opening up a window to the loud and busy street (C/Paris) makes it impossible to sleep. I was most uncomfortable with the shower. It was not clean enough to take a bath and the grout between the tiles was covered in mildew. Very unpleasant. The staff was generally friendly and helpful with the exception of one desk clerk that was annoyed when asked about local restaurants and didn't like to be bothered for a cocktail in the lounge, when it was clearly his responsibility. The wi-fi was too slow to be considered useful at all. The reasonable price makes more sense to me now.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretchen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
Google Translation
Apreciado cliente gracias por sus comentarios y esperamos que en un futuro podamos mejorar las prestaciones del Hotel si en algún caso no han sido satisfechas al 100x100.

Sus comentarios nos ayudan a mejorar nuestra calidad.

Reciba un cordial saludo y gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We have said at Hotel Astoria twice this year, once in April with our 9 year old son and in October without him. We had a lovely room in April that slept 3 comfortably and was clean, well appointed and quiet. It did not have the most pretiest of views - been on the inside - but that did not bother us - as we were so busy. The common areas were clean and interesting we enjoyed looking at the art work etc. It was in a lovely location - with some lovely restaurants nearby. We came back in October and were in a room in the loft - which was not as nicely laid out as our room in April, but we grew to like it - it had a window we could open (and the fresh air was lovely on a hot weekend) and the views across the roof tops was fascinating.

We had breakfast included in April and it was fine, but in October it was not part of the package so we found the most beautiful deli on the Diagnol not far from the hotel - a favourite with the locals that was fantastic. It is our hotel of choice for furture visits to Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizzyLizzyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for coming to our Hotel Astoria.

Is very important for us to know that you had a nice days in our Hotel and in Barcelona.

We try to give the best to our clients, this is and will be our aim.

Thank you for coming with us.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

The Astoria offers value at a convenient location. Stayed in an inside room with no view, but it didn't matter as you want to be out as much as possible enjoying this fabulous city. Room was clean and functional and staff was helpful whenever information was needed. Only problem was the free wifi in the room was often painfully slow.

Particularly liked the choice of places to eat in the neighborhood and recommend the Trobador's outdoor tables just around the corner from the hotel where we ate a lunch and a dinner during a three day stay. Tasty food at decent prices with red wine by the glass for just 3 euros.

Transportation from the hotel is convenient with number 68 bus stop across the street from Astoria's front door. It's just four stops to center city's Plaza Catalunya, which took about ten minutes and a fare of 1.35 euros, where the Aerobus to the airport takes about 30 minutes for a five euro fare. Getting from the hotel to the airport in under an hour makes one truly appreciate European efficiency.

Wish I'd known this coming into the city as taking a taxi from Plaza Catalunya after taking the Aerobus from airport was a big mistake. Driver played dumb and went in wrong direction before being corrected and would not reduce fare because of his mistake. He also charged extra for two bags in his trunk, so fare was 17 euros when a bus would have cost less than two. So avoid Barcelona taxis like the plague!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DECoxPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your words about the Hotel Astoria.
Is very important to know the best places in Barcelona, and for the things you said you knew part of the places and restaurants and Hotels.

Thank you so much and congratulations for the places you discovered.

Thanks.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Found this hotel through the NY Times Travel section for great small hotels under 150 Euros per night. This hotel was a gem...very clean and nicely furnished. Room was small but adequate....bathroom was a nice size...had nice toiletries....Very quiet residential neighborhood. Our only "complaint" and it really wasn't that big a deal was that it was a few subway stops away from the action. Not that much to see or do in the neighborhood. Would strongly suggest taking the Turista Bus tour to give you the "lay of the land" Alot of fun in the Bari Gothic neighborhood. Ramblas was overrated...Loved Boqueria Market...the Sagrada Familia Cathedral was a MUST SEE...all the Gaudi sights were amazing! Too much to see in 3 days!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oatti0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Customer,

thank you for coming to the Hotel Astoria.

We try to give the best service to our clients, this is our aim; we try to give the best recomandations for our clients about Restaurants, places, shops, etc....

Thank you again and I hope to see you next future in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne,UK
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We thought that the hotel was marvelous! The room was cleaned well every day, cleaning included clean sheets and towels etc. The Front Desk staff were very helpful, only one small error, the tour bus only takes credit cards in the Placa Catalunya terminus not at every stop. The hotel is located in a good area, a mix of shops, office and residential. Our room was of a good size. The window opened onto an inner tiny outside area with other windows closeby, this did not concern us as net curtains kept us hidden and the aircon was great. The room was newly appointed with wooden floor, sofa, comfy bed, flat screen tv, smart bathroom with efficient shower, fridge and all faultless! Small and pleasent sunbathing area and little pool on roof was a real treat. Several cafes restaurants are very closeby. The metro is a short walk from the hotel, perhaps 10 minutes. Beware of pickpockets on the metro. I was a victim and they are very very skillful. Will recommend this hotel to all our friends. . . we were thrilled.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your words about the Hotel Astoria, is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed with us us.

Thank you for coming and I hope to see you next future.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I have to say that this is a great resource for finding a great place to stay. After reading about the Hotel Astoria on this website I decided to go for it. I wasnt dissappointed. The Hotel is nothing fancy but it is a quality place to stay. Nicely located at the top of the Rambla it is a short walk to the main action. Located in a great neighborhood with a local flare, we had everything we wanted. Very safe at night to walk around. We didnt use the Metro until we returned back from our cruise but it was very clean, safe, and easy to navigate. Take the tourist bus one day and it gives you a whole overview of the city. Floow-up the next day on the Mtro hitting the spots you missed or wanted to spend more time at.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBSalomone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria.

For all the staff is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed with us.

Thank you so much and I hope to see you next future.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#124 of 512 in Barcelona
1,155 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#170 of 512 in Barcelona
1,265 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#70 of 512 in Barcelona
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#163 of 512 in Barcelona
487 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#94 of 512 in Barcelona
990 reviews
Eixample
Evenia Rosello
Evenia Rosello
#133 of 512 in Barcelona
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Paris, 203, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an elegant, central and modern hotel for your business trips or relaxing getaways? Hotel Astoria, a classic among the hotels in Barcelona, is one of the best the city has to offer. It is a three-star hotel located just a few metres from Avinguda Diagonal and Passeig de Gràcia offering first-class service.The hotel is located in a building in Barcelona's Eixample district, with architecture typical of the beginning of the 20th century. Among its distinguishing marks, the frescoes, Art-Nouveau busts and fine Lalique crystal are of special note. The walls are decorated with interesting Art-Nouveau posters.Hotel Astoria has a terrace and an outdoor swimming pool, function rooms, a restaurant and a museum dedicated to Catalan illustrator Ricard Opisso.Facilities114 guest rooms: 25 single rooms, 48 double rooms and 41 Superior roomsAstor RestaurantBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: Astor room, París room and the terrace-swimming pool area, located on the hotel's rooftop, and the Astor RestaurantGym and saunaOutdoor swimming pool and solariumOpisso MuseumLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Astoria Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing