We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #150 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked the Astoria well in advance with very little knowledge of Barcelona. We were quietly surprised on check in, the location is very good. It's easy to get everywhere with a metro station just 5 mins walk away, a taxi rank opposite and many bars and restaurants in easy walking distance.

The entrance to the hotel was very grand with some fabulous style. Whilst our room didn't quite emulate this it was clean and perfectly functional for our short stay. The shower was fab and the bed / pillows very comfy.

The breakfast was OK not spectacular and I wouldn't have paid €14 which is the standard charge but for €8 on an offer it was alright value. If we did it again we'd probably look elsewhere.

Despite the breakfast this is a great hotel which for the price and location we would definitely re-visit and recommend. Barcelona is a wonderful city to visit and the Astoria the perfect base to explore.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria; is a plesure for all the staff to know that you spent as nice days in our Hotel and in Barcelona .

Our aim is to give the best service to everybody and we will continue this way.

Thank you again and see you soon in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    459
    166
    33
    18
See reviews for
159
499
55
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

What a great hotel. I can't say enough about it. Lovely property in a great location with the most helpful staff. Close enough to Ave. Diagonal where you can walk to La Pedrera, Casa Battlo, and the Sagrada Familia and there are not shortages of restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. The rooms were comfy and cozy and the property itself was beautiful. With an in-house art gallery in the lounge, a beautiful bar with happy hour, and a pool/spa and rooftop deck to enjoy, this hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff was wonderful and was always happy to answer any questions and whatever requests one might have. My spanish is not great and I tried to go from Barcelona to Madrid via train and the staff (forgive me, the gentleman's name who helped me escapes me) and he basically did it for me via computer and saved me a huge headache and apparently a long wait instead of going to the station. Breakfast wasn't included in our stay but for 8 euro a day it was well worth it. Delicious! All in all, I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is planning on visiting Barcelona. Reasonably priced, excellent location, wonderful staff, and divine property. When I return to Barcelona (which I hope is sooner than later) I will be staying at the Astoria Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your words about the Hotel Astoria.

As you said the hotel is in a good location, where you can go walking everywhere and we try to give the best service we can.

Thank you for coming with us and I hope to see you soon as you wrotte that will be your idea.

Thanks a lot.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Astoria hotel Barcelona is situated at an historical building of "art nouve" style, among other artistic-styled buildings.at the lobby there is a fabulous gallery of original pictures and old posters.the breakfast is served near the lobby in a very nice manner ,reminding boutique coffee-shop.although it looks as a simple buffet but one can find almost everything enough for a good morning meal.we enjoyed our walks by foot to all the important attractions and at the nearest neighborhood "shample"

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dina2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for coming to the Hotel Astoria and for your words.

We try to offer the best service to our clients and this is our aim.

Thank you so much and I hope to see you soon.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I visited this lovely hotel for a long week end recently. In a fabulous location it is ideally situated to visit the many sights of Barcelona, a 20 minute walk to Las Ramblas passing great architecture and plenty of bars to stop off and relax. The hotel is very comfortable, my friend and I shared a twin room which was spacious and clean. The maids cleaned the room every day and there was fresh fluffy towels. There was the usual complementary toiletries. The staff were very friendly and helpfull, a special mention to the lovely tall dark haired lady who was very kind to me when I was taken ill one morning, thankyou. The posters and paintings in the lobby and dining room are very interesting! Overall a fabulous experience and I don't hesitate to recommend this establishment! Will certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestYorkshireFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Coustomer,

Thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria.

For all the staff is a pleasure to know that our customers are happy with us.Always we try to give the best service we can; and in your case if you felt bad we helped you (the tall lady) of course.
If you return to the Hotel Astoria would like to know you and to give you information about my citty.

Thanks for apreciate our work, service, rooms, location, art-pictures, etc......

And see you soon in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel comes very highly recommended. It is very clean and tidy, the staff are very welcoming and helpful. A special mention has to go to the lovely tall slim lady in the breakfast room who was especially kind to my friend when she was feeling unwell. Our room, a twin on the sixth floor, was very spacious and the bathroom was clean and well stocked with large fluffy towels and the usual toiletries.
Check out the wonderful pictures and illustrations in the foyer (especially the risqué ones behind their special covers!!!)
The hotel is in a quiet area with some good bars and restaurants nearby. Las Ramblas is about 20 minutes walk past plenty of cafés, bars and nice shops.
All in all a great experience!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LizG10959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your sweet words about the Hotel Astori, and we are ver happy to know that you had a nice days with us.
We try to give the best service to our costumers this is always our aim, and we will try to be better if is possible.

Thanks a lot and see you soon in Barcelona.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are good size but the hotel is not so modern, still ok but not a design hotel, it really depends on what you like. I was there for business therefore it was ok but i wouldn't choose it for a romantic break. Breakfast is ok, a bit of everything but not outstanding.
Staff is gentle and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank superanna80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for coming to the Hotel Astoria and for your opinion.

We are very happy to know that our service was good for you.

Thank you and I hope to see you next future.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#147 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Emma
Room Mate Emma
#80 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Eixample
Evenia Rosello
Evenia Rosello
#135 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#160 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#127 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#113 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Paris, 203, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an elegant, central and modern hotel for your business trips or relaxing getaways? Hotel Astoria, a classic among the hotels in Barcelona, is one of the best the city has to offer. It is a three-star hotel located just a few metres from Avinguda Diagonal and Passeig de Gràcia offering first-class service.The hotel is located in a building in Barcelona's Eixample district, with architecture typical of the beginning of the 20th century. Among its distinguishing marks, the frescoes, Art-Nouveau busts and fine Lalique crystal are of special note. The walls are decorated with interesting Art-Nouveau posters.Hotel Astoria has a terrace and an outdoor swimming pool, function rooms, a restaurant and a museum dedicated to Catalan illustrator Ricard Opisso.Facilities114 guest rooms: 25 single rooms, 48 double rooms and 41 Superior roomsAstor RestaurantBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: Astor room, París room and the terrace-swimming pool area, located on the hotel's rooftop, and the Astor RestaurantGym and saunaOutdoor swimming pool and solariumOpisso MuseumLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Astoria Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing