We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #142 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location and reasonable price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We used trip advisor to help up select this hotel for our summer trip in July 2012. We arrived to a very nice lobby but our room was not ready so we had to wait until about 3pm. We entered the room and my son went to use the bathroom and the door fell off the hinges, so we requested another room and were given another room but it was much smaller. We did have a refrigerator in the room but it was already filled with Hotel snacks and drinks that they want you to buy from them. We removed and placed most of the drinks in a plastic bag and put it on the desk near the fridge so we could store our own food and drinks in the fridge. (just remember to replace all the original contents of the fridge or you will be charged probably more than you spent on the room) You may want to take a picture of the contents of the fridge to help you in this process and to use as proof if there are any issues at check-out.

The hotel was clean and within walking distance from the ramblas (about 20 min walk)

You should use the Diagonal metro stop because it is the closest to the hotel. If you plan to be in barcelona for several days you may want to get the metro/bus daypass it pays for it self if you plan to take 5 rides per day on the metro or bus, plus it gives you the flexibility to get on and off the buses or metro as many times as you want.

We also rented bikes to ride along the boardwalk near the beach and that was really enjoyable.

Near the hotel there is a supermarket about 3 blocks away and lots of restaurants nearby that are reasonable.

There is free wifi/internet in the lobby, and you can also use it for 1 hour in your rooms. They also provide a PC connected to the internet in the lobby, but they do not enforce a time limit so you could wait for a long time for people who think that the hotel PC is their personal PC to chat and view FB. They should enforce a 30 minute limit per session like other hotels where you have to enter your room number and name and it allows you to connect for up to 30mins at a time them it kicks you off for at least 30mins. there were some people that were on the pc for several hours. Overall the hotel has clean rooms, a pool, wifi and is a good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria.

Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed in our Hotel Astoria.

Thank you and I hope to see you next future.^

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    447
    161
    32
    18
See reviews for
155
489
53
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my teenage son from 19th - 23rd August 2012. We could not fault it in any way. The room (424) was large with plenty of cupboard space, very comfy beds and reasonably priced mini bar. It, along with the bathroom was immaculately clean as were all the public areas in the hotel. The hotel was quiet and well located for the Barcelona tourist bus and other public transport. Staff were very polite and helpful at all times, even at 01.30am when we got in from seeing Barca play! Very quick wifi in the front of reception - just ask for the network and password. We had a great stay and would reccommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room was quiet with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdmanLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your opinion about the Hotel Astoria .

We are very happy if our clients are happy with our service, our rooms, breakfast, etc....

Thank you so much for coming to our Hotel Astoria and I hope to see you nex future.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed several times in Barcelona and now I understand it's one of the best areas of the City. It is quiet and lovely.
I dont like to stay next to Rambla, in Gotic area or Chinese ... It's noisy, smells bad and dangerous when you walk home in the night. There are a lot of people from Pakistan who sell everything and run from the police... as well as different kind of punks, tourists and others who are really noisy.
It's better to live in next residential area to this one.
The atmosphere is nice in this place. It's great to have a swimming pool in the roof. But there are 2 rooms which look at the pool - you can not trouble them in early morning (swimming calm ;) and it's closed in the late evening.

Room Tip: I've seen some photos in reviews with some dirty things but ours was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your opinion and for coming to our Hotel Astoria.

Is a pleasere to know that you enjoyed in our Hotel with our service and with the location, etc.

Thanks and I hope to see you next future.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012


Got back last night. Never usually write reviews despite being a frequent holiday maker. However, this appalling hotel infuriated me so much that I need to get this off my chest! Booked this for a romantic summer break fort my fiancé and I.

+'s
It's in Barcelona .... Need I say more! Beautiful place!

-'s
Here we go ....
Window opens on to a a concrete void/internal wall. Room as a result does not receive daylight/fresh air! Had to switch on the tv every morning to check the time as we were unable to confirm sunrise!!!!

Filthy water in the pool - toenails, feathers and empty beer cans.

Room was tiny!

Crack in the bathroom sink.

Beds extremely small and uncomfortable

Had a 5 euro note stolen from the worktop in the room by cleaning staff that I accidentally left out whilst sight seeing in Barcelona. To see whether or not this actually happened, I deliberately left a one euro coin on the floor the following day as 'bait' and low and behold, it also disappeared!

Staff very rude and have no time for you at all. Felt a total inconvenience.

On day of departure/checkout, I asked to book a courtesy room to shower and freshen up before setting off for the airport. Was told that they didn't have one and that we would have to use the shower on the pool deck in the open air/full view of every Tom, Dick and Harry! Unbelievable! I have always had access to a courtesy room - isn't this common/good practice? Staff didnt even apologise or bothered!

Once I had come to terms with the 'tramping manner' in which we had to shower and change before heading for the airport, I asked could I at least borrow one towel to share between my fiancé and I. I explained to staff that as a result of traveling with easyjet and binging one piece of hand luggage, we did not bring towels knowing fully well hotels provide towels for the guests. However, staff refused point blank to lend us a towel as we had in theory checked out 12pm that day! Crazy!!!! Staff did not seem bothered at all. When I questioned this, the young receptionist asked a senior member of staff. He simply said no and shrugged his shoulders. As a result, we had to shower in the pool area in full view of sunbathers, traipse down 8 floors sopping wet with cases and get changed in the toilets in reception, using our dirty laundry to 'towel dry'!!!

Hotel accessible by anybody as hotel is open 24hrs a day with no security measures in place.

Do not visit this place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pritchy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion and sorry if our service was not perfect.

We try to offer the best to our clients but sometimes is not possible as you said.

I will work hard in order to be better, thank you for coming to our Hotel.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family and I staid at the Astoria from August 12th to august 19th 2012 and really appreciated the hotel. I used the pool on the roof and, even though it is small, it was really appreciated after a day of walking around Barcelona. The service was always curteous and fast. I did asked for extra pillows and they were provided within minutes. The location is excellent because its is in a quieter area of the city and only a few minutes away from buses and metro station. The breakfast was included and was good. Card infroming guess that hot selections like eggs, bacon and other things were avaialbe on request were left on table so all guest woukld know about the service.

Our rooms were on the first floor. The one with a view of the street had a view however it can be noisier ( not a real problem since the area is in a quiet negihbourhood and the patron from the bar across the street did not make much noise). The other room was an inside room which was quieter but with a view of a inisde wall. Size of the room was good for europe standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dederman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for coming to the Hotel Astoria and we are very happy to know that you had a nice experience in our Hotel.
As you said we have a small swiming pool with a view of all Barcelona, that is very important for the clients during the summer.
I like that you enjoyed with our breakfast and your family too.

Thank you for your evaluation and I hope to see you next future in the Hotel Astoria.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vina del mar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Safety is a big concern here since there is no control over who enters the hotel or where they wander. Also they do not honor the prices you book on the internet "prices change daily madam". My particular room had a view of the elevator shaft for 84. euros a night. Dinner is only for reserved group bookings not hotel guests. Also, I was told to move my car by 9 am or it would be ticketed. It was towed at 7 am which cost 170 euros.
No internet connections in the rooms even if you pay for it.
I was concerned for my safety and that of my teenage children staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: skip this hotel and choose one that offers better prices and better security
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gringaVinaDelMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepe066, Director General at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dhatear Guest,

Thank you for your evaluation about our Hotel and I am very sorry for the problems you had.
I want to tell you that the prices are changing every day , and this is very normal in all the Hotels in the world.
We try to offer the best service to our clients and this is our way of work.
I hope to see you in the future in our Hotel in order to change this not good experience.

Thank you.

Pepe Camps.
Director Hotel Astoria:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#137 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Emma
Room Mate Emma
#73 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Eixample
Evenia Rosello
Evenia Rosello
#149 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#156 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#135 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#115 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Paris, 203, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#108 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an elegant, central and modern hotel for your business trips or relaxing getaways? Hotel Astoria, a classic among the hotels in Barcelona, is one of the best the city has to offer. It is a three-star hotel located just a few metres from Avinguda Diagonal and Passeig de Gràcia offering first-class service.The hotel is located in a building in Barcelona's Eixample district, with architecture typical of the beginning of the 20th century. Among its distinguishing marks, the frescoes, Art-Nouveau busts and fine Lalique crystal are of special note. The walls are decorated with interesting Art-Nouveau posters.Hotel Astoria has a terrace and an outdoor swimming pool, function rooms, a restaurant and a museum dedicated to Catalan illustrator Ricard Opisso.Facilities114 guest rooms: 25 single rooms, 48 double rooms and 41 Superior roomsAstor RestaurantBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: Astor room, París room and the terrace-swimming pool area, located on the hotel's rooftop, and the Astor RestaurantGym and saunaOutdoor swimming pool and solariumOpisso MuseumLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Astoria Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing