We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, large room and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atlantis
Ranked #169 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is very convenient to shops, buses and attractions and we found it a good base for our exploration of the city. Staff are helpful and were gracious toward us as we don't speak Spanish. The breakfast is very nice and generous. Our room was huge; with a spa bath, separate shower and bathroom, though I suspect this was an upgrade from their usual standard rooms.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank glenstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 672 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here for 8 nights in late December 2013/Early January 2014. The location was perfect being just a 10 minute walk to Las Rambles and the Gothic Quarter. The room was an adequate size particularly for an American in a European hotel and the bathroom was huge. Plenty of hot water and the wifi was consistently fast. There was no view to speak of from the room but I didn't come to Spain to sit in my hotel and look out the window. Breakfast was so so. The only real complaint is that I appear to have been charged twice for a the HOHO bus that I booked through them but the amount in question is 5 Euros so I'm not going to lose a great deal of sleep over this. I was in a hurry when I left and didn't check the bill as carefully as I should have. Overall, very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked this hotel due to its´ location in the city centre. We were also lucky to get a very reduced price. The hotel is very clean, rooms are comfortable, bathroom had good lighting and a shower that worked well. The breakfast buffet was basic, but good enough, considering the price we paid. We were quite pleased with the location (five minute walk to the Plaza de Catalunya). Will definitely stay there again, provided we get a similar offer!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had no problems with noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

hotel atlantis is ideally situated to explore Barcelona .It is by placa catalunya and placa universitat and 5 mins walk from La Rambla. Check in was very smooth and the male receptionist was very efficient. The rooms were neat and tidy and free toiletries including shoe shine,comb etc were a nice touch. Breakfast had an excellent choice,in my opinion all tastes were covered.If you wanted bacon,egg and sausage or a continental breakfast you would be satisfied. The bar was small and strangely closed at 10.30pm and didnt open saturday but there are several bars within skipping distance so that was not an issue. This is an excellent hotel and will not disappoint if staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthportLaudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Atlantis for three nights. The location is fantastic! It is just a few hundred yards from La Ramblas and Plazza Catalunya. We chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and we were not sorry! The transport from the airport is very easy. You may use the airport shuttle (5,90 euro per person). The shuttle drops you off at Plazza Catalunya. Then you can walk to the hotel very easily. The rooms are a little bit dated but it is not a problem. Ask for a room that has a street view and a balcony. Wi-Fi works very well. The buffet breakfast is generous and has a variety of options.If location is more important to you than luxury is, I would definitely recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maskan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A few hundred yards from Place Catalunya and Ramblas makes this a very good location. Reception staff over the 3 nights we stayed were uncommunicative and not welcoming. We had an inside 4th floor room with no natural light - we had a window which looked out into a central well -and although it was early November the room was stuffy. The a/c was effective but too noisy. Comfortable beds in a small room.
Breakfast was simple, tinned fruit, cereals, some stodgy danish pastries and croissants, but great machine coffee. If you just want somewhere to sleep then this is OK.We paid about £85 per night for the room and breakfast - I guess that you have to pay more to get improvements although it would cost nothing to provide a friendly welcome, and not much to improve breakfast. The room size is probably as big as you will get for the price in this location.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidfyffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is about a block from La Ramblas and Placa de Catalunya. From there you can catch the hop on/hop off tourist bus or access the metra. The hotel is clean, breakfast is decent, and the staff was incredibly helpful with tips on getting around the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#203 of 515 in Barcelona
1,252 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#176 of 515 in Barcelona
1,495 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#90 of 515 in Barcelona
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#196 of 515 in Barcelona
552 reviews
Eixample
Continental Palacete
Continental Palacete
#331 of 515 in Barcelona
469 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#19 of 515 in Barcelona
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Address: Carrer de Pelai 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#152 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $104 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantis 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the city; easily accessible to all places of interest; fully equipped rooms and a multilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Atlantis Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing