We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and service for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Ranked #303 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three night at the end of April. Excellent hotel, service and location. Breakfast was included and was great as well. Walking distance to many restaurants and metro station. Flamenco show/restaurant across the street.

The only reason we gave 4 stars is a sleep quality. The beds are very hard and not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McCaleI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 566 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

The best amenity of this hotel is the staff at the front desk particularly Gabriela. Gabriela was able to rescue me. My computer did not work and she was able to e-mail and fax my handwritten edited article in time for it to go to press and get published in June 2013.
I was impressed with her level of compassion, competence and persistence that enabled my editor to receive the e-mail while we talked on the phone and went over the details of the edited version.
Thanks for that wonderful work.
All members of the front desk staff responded well to our needs and were courteous, helpful and caring.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Hotel Catalonia Diagonal Centro was located in center of the city. It was very easy to get to anywhere in the city from the hotel. The hotel front desk staff are very courteous, informative and very helpful. They always made sure that we got to our destination and we come back to the hotel safely. They showed us the places we wished to visit on the map, and then wrote down how to get there. Every day they asked us if there was anything they could do for us to make our city stay enjoyable. Their team work with the other hotel staff was excellent. Moreover, they cooperated well with Rafaela Martinez--our Go Ahead Tour Director.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT_13104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was worried what type of hotel experience we were going to have based on some of the recent reviews. This hotel was wonderful. The location was great and it was around the corner from a Metro station. We arrived at the hotel about 9 am. We were told our room was not ready, but honestly we weren't expecting it to be ready. To our surprise we were given a room in about 30 minutes. We had a triple room of average European size. It was clean and well appointed. In the early evening all the power to our room shut off. I went into the hallway and saw a staff member who immediately fixed the problem. A few hours later it happened again. We requested another room and was moved immediately. Our room number was 206 and had a balcony overlooking the street. It was very nice and despite being on the street side, was quiet. All the staff were extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. All of our interactions with any staff member was a positive experience. The breakfast was nice. Plenty of fresh fruits, meats, cheeses and breads. Along with several different types of juice. My only complaint about the breakfast was the coffee service. Coffee could only be obtained through a single serving machine. Which meant waiting on a line for a cup of coffee or tea. I would suggest adding another machine. It would cut down on have the wait time. You could easily spend 5-10 minutes on line for a cup of coffee. That being said, everything else was great. We were very fortunate to have been assigned a wonderful and knowledgeable tour director, Ms. Rafaela Martinez from Go Ahead tours. She went out of her way to make our vacation wonderful. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others and would absolutely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akb517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location was great. Probably refurbished rooms, breakfast was excellent
Close to subway Recommend the hotel
There is a super close to the hotel, we did not use because there was no need. Those matters that the room will internalize the street and yard to ask in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldad195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On arrival was offered and shown choice of rooms most with not attractive outlook so upgraded us to penthouse.service excellent nothing too much trouble.the only thing i could fault was no tea making facilities in room which i think should be standard in 4 star hotel.breakfast had a great choice but bacon and eggs were kept in heating trays and was cold but other than that great hotel.got black and yellow taxi from airport to hotel should charge 4.20 euro supplement he charged us double BE AWARE

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canary61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for WMC. Room was really small, I mean, claustrophobic! I was given initially a smoking room, although I had asked at the time of reservation and again at check in to make sure it was a non-smoking. I complained and reception said that it was a non-smoking room, despite the sign on the door saying it was a smoking room. After some back and forth, receptionist gave me another room, well it was like a closet with a bed. They claim to be 4-star hotel, but I would say it is a 2 or 3-star at most! For Euro285/night, I would expect something MUCH better. I know all hotels charge whatever they want during the WMC, but this was ridiculous. Breakfast was surprisingly good.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank ckatsuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#406 of 517 in Barcelona
272 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#174 of 517 in Barcelona
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#179 of 517 in Barcelona
593 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#319 of 517 in Barcelona
372 reviews
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#344 of 517 in Barcelona
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Diagonal Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Diagonal Centro

Address: C/ Balmes, 142-146, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#181 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $82 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Diagonal Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Gran Hotel Catalonia. This hotel is located on the modernist route next to Paseo de Gracia. It is surrounded by the most beautiful modernist architecture and the most representative buildings of the work by Gaudí. Its location in the centre of Barcelona means that you are walking distance from the best commercial area and can enjoy the intense atmosphere of this Mediterranean city.Our most prized feature is our quality service. Organise your family celebrations and business meetings in one of our 5 meeting rooms, which have a capacity for morethan 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Diagonal Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Diagonal Centro Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Gran Hotel
Catalonia Diagonal Centro Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing