We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a great city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Ranked #320 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We really liked this hotel - decent location near where my husband was working - on bus route. Though walkable into centre, all downhill, took almost an hour, so good to have 58 or 64 bus back up the hill.
The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the staff were pleasant, helpful & friendly.
We had some good breakfasts, several drinks, and 3 meals in the bar - all good value.
Enjoyed our stay & would return.

Room Tip: We had a huge balcony - not useful as was chilly & windy in January but nice to be able to step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMO25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    160
    77
    36
    15
See reviews for
77
131
29
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North-West UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had booked the nearby sister holel at Passeig de Gracia, but they bumped me round to this one. Lovely. 5 star feel, at a slightly more affordable price. I did room only, but the breakfast looked great. Room was huge, clean and city chic. The location is perfect for exploring Barcelona and nipping back to drop stuff off. Handy for both the airport bus and trains, if taxis aren't your style. The (many) staff on reception and around the place were really good. I didn't use the pool, but it didn't look all that special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moikul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel Catalonia steps away from the main square around the old cathedral and Medieval ramparts of Barcelona. Words cannot express our love for this city and this hotel. I have travelled extensively in Europe and your hotel in the cities are sometimes iffy in cleanliness or location or security. We were worried about staying in the inner city due to the reports of theft, and pick pockets and other crime. We had zero problems! Every morning we awoke to another beautiful blue sky and view of a corner of the square. For breakfast we indulged in a large croissant and cafe con leche in the cafe facing the cathedral! Breathtaking. The hotel was quiet clean and safe. It is conveniently located in the middle of a fantastic pedestrian shopping district and next door to the tourist bureau. Everything is in walking distance or by train or subway which is around the corner. We did not have a chance to enjoy the roof top pool as the weather was cool, nor did we eat at the hotel but the menus as well as the offering and atmosphere were enticing! The staff were friendly and helpful. Price was very decent for such a clean, Central European hotel. Rooms were small but very modern and comfortable. Do not hesitate to stay here! I can't wait to go back next year, God willing!!

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the back alley as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrisl67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Spacious rooms, close to the metro station Putxet, great breakfast buffet, very friendly staff, child friendly, nice but very small pool on the roof, diner in the restaurant was poor (steak was baked far too long)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I liked this place right by MDA which is awesome lots of shops lots of walks and Olympic stadium right behind MDA clean comfy rooms pool views great nice spot! Think a couple if these comments stayed somewhere else? Staff weren't the friendliest but they weren't terrible either! Metro right there three stops and your in town! Il stay again defo!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinnairdgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Wouldnt bother.

Inaccessible, no where near the metro. All local shops are closed or about to close.

Joke of a pool. You could probably get 4 and a half people in there comfortably. When its open.

Poor wifi.

Get something closer to the center of town. Unfair representation of barcelona, dont let it ruin your visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themadbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and were very impressed with the overall service, value for money and location. The bus to the centre of town sits immediately outside reception, arriving every 5 minutes and cost €2.00. The pool area is a great place to relax, but the staff and their attitude to us as visitors was exceptional. Would definitely stay here again if going to the centre of Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark8624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#311 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#344 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#272 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#253 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Angli
Eurostars Angli
#328 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Park Guell
Catalonia Park Guell
#336 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505

Property: Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Address: Calle Muntaner 505, 08022 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#170 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#188 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Suite hotel was built in 1986 and was renovated in 2002. The hotel offers its guests a peaceful and calm atmosphere. It is located in upper Barcelona, near Guell Park, the Science Museum and prestigious medical centres such as Clinica Teknon, Clinica Sant Jordi, Dexeus and Barraquer. The hotel has 4 rooms at our clients' disposal for any kind of meeting, conference or banquet, as well as a restaurant and parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Suite Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Suite
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing