We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, economical, good for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
Ranked #217 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here on business recently. Had a terrace room which was a nice addition. Price was very good. Overall very good value for money. Very clean everywhere, quality fittings, decent TV and free, fast wifi. Excellent staff - very friendly and knowledgeable. Simple breakfast, but good quality. Good location 5 minutes from the metro station, so city centre is very accessible.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for balcony or terrace room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metaballistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 410 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Firstly, the location is fairly good, being located about a three minute walk from the underground station Les Tres Torres. The square adjacent to the hotel is okay, but doesn't feel particularly safe, especially at night.
The room I stayed in was fairly clean, not massive but not overly tiny, but it lacked a balcony and had a poor view (but that's to be expected in a city). There was a door which connected to another room so the sounds from next door were often overpowering the TV.
The food was a disappointment, and I found the waiter difficult to understand - he wasn't the best at English. The cooked breakfast was a major let down, especially for a Brit, however, the cakes were actually half decent, so I decided to have them for breakfast instead.
Overall, a poor stay but I'm not really very surprised.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack_0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a small, simple hotel that's reasonably priced and without horror story reviews. Specifically asked for a non-smoking room, but had to be transferred twice because of cigarette smell.

Throughout the entire process and otherwise, staff has been very helpful.

1  Thank Semion N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Room & bathroom was clean, place was located close to subway stop (FGC), staff was friendly and helpful, neighborhood was safe, Internet connection was working good, 10 - 15 min from supermarket by foot. We recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomasz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel was very clean, with air-conditioner, TV, balcony. The staff was helpful and friendly.
Very close to the subway (it costs 2 euro to the centre). There is nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent helpful friendly staff. Room was Smokey, but air con was welcome. Very comfy, and spacious. Very impressed. Would definitely stay here again.
Travel links excellent. So staying out of tourist trap is highly recommended. It's lovely and peaceful, with plenty of bars and cafes near by and the centre of Barcelona easily accessible via the metro from near by stop Les Tres Torres.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieAntiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed 4 days and specifically chose this hotel because of its proximity to the European University my husband needed to get to. It is far from the city center, in the middle of a residential area with a small park with benches just moments from the entrance. It has the metro close by, it does have supermarkets in the vicinity and if you like stretching your legs, it's a good walk down to the shopping malls. It was doable for us but come prepared to walk a lot if you do not have a car.
We had the misfortune of checking in when the hotel was full up and were given a box for a room. I can honestly say I have never been so shocked a hotel would provide a room so small, you can virtually not get around the bed. Furthermore, when you open the curtains, you are greeted with a stone wall - all I could think was "they have got to be kidding me". So I went down to the front desk and as politely as possible explained that I would like to be given a different room. The clerk said they hadn't got any other rooms at that moment but as soon as they did, they would move us. And indeed they did. Huge relief - please take note Hotel Catalonia Castellnou - use this space for storage, not to put paying guests in!
The second room we were put in was clean and fine. A/C worked well, TV had English news channels. The bathroom is in need of an update but everything in working order. We loved our little balcony where we sat outside watching the world go by. Calm, quiet location and good wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlievdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#316 of 513 in Barcelona
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tres Torres Atiram Hotel
Tres Torres Atiram Hotel
#337 of 513 in Barcelona
275 reviews
1.8 mi away
SmartRoom Barcelona
SmartRoom Barcelona
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#323 of 513 in Barcelona
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bonanova Park
Bonanova Park
#381 of 513 in Barcelona
268 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Castellnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Castellnou

Address: C/ Castellnou 61, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $73 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalonia Castellnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the centre of a quiet and exclusive residential area known as Tres Torres, close to the most important medical centres of Barcelona such as Clinica Tres Torres, Corachon etc. It is also close to the ring roads and the Vallvidrera tunnel, the fastest route between Barcelona and the Valles Occidental region. The hotel was built in 1970 and renovated in 2000. Its 49 rooms offer you all possible comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Castellnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Castellnou Hotel
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing