We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a quiet neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
Ranked #257 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel in a quiet neighborhood”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed in a single room and while it was very small it was still large enough to get the job done. The bed was a bit firm, but the air conditioning worked very well and the room was quiet (the a/c blocked out the little bit of noise there was). The front desk was very helpful and friendly and compared to many other hotels the price was pretty good. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the metro station and a 15-20 minute metro ride to the center of the city. One thing to note is the hotel is on a different metro line (L6) and if you are using single tickets you will have to buy another to transfer to the rest of the metro system. There was an odd odor in my room that seemed to mostly go away with the a/c on, and it was there each night when I returned, but it did not affect my ability to sleep. Also, the hotel seemed to not be the cleanest. It wasn't filthy by any means, but I did find a hair on the bed when I pulled the sheets back. This may have just been bad luck since no one else seems to have had cleanliness problems, so don't necessarily let it scare you away from this otherwise nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sierragpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    155
    64
    24
    9
See reviews for
60
155
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is a nice small hotel in a quiet neighborhood. 15 minutes walk from Diagonal street and a numerous shopping centers; 15 minutes by Metro from Catalunya square and the city center.
We were a couple and we got a room with 3 beds (twin bedroom). After I asked to get a double bed room I saw the double bed rooms are very small so we stayed in the 3-bed room which is not comfortable for a couple.
There was a door between our room and the next room and the acoustics was very bad. We could hear almost everything...
Breakfast was average. The bacon was sticking and they had the same eggs (sunny side up) every day...
All in all it was a nice quiet hotel in a quiet neighborhood.
Next time I will try to look for a hotel in walking distance from the center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimr0dS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is located 6 stops from Pl de Catalunya (the centre) on L6 metro line. The ride takes 15 min and is very convenient. Price is quite affordable and the room is basic and clean. The breakfast buffet offers both hot and cold option and is of the standard of any chain hotel. Free wifi is available. The parking is very expensive, but street parking, if you can find one, is about 2euro per hour.
I stayed at the hotel for the FC Barcelona vs Real Madrid match. it is 20 min walk to Camp Nou and hence convenient for football fans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights in room 405 and thought it was a 4 star hotel instead of a 3 star hotel. Service was great. Breakfast was simple but tasty and they always had enough food. Flat screens in the rooms and an amazing AC system that will make you turn it off because it gets so cold! The neighborhood is very calm and safe, and there is a couple of mini marts near by. Subway station is about 3 blocks away and so is the bus stop. Overrall, great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JR_WSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

3 blocks from the metro, 5 minutes metro ride to Plaza Catalunia. Elisabeth, the hotel receptionist, is super super attentive, friendly and speaks great english. Ask her for her best room and she'll give it to you. Buy the breakfast for 8 euros, it's 5 star quality. Julisa is the attendant and if it's not at the buffet she will get it for you. The room was extremely clean. I gave it a 4 rating because the furniture is a bit on the beatened side. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Barcelona again.

Room Tip: all room from the 2 floor up have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ABesada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#316 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Catalonia Park Guell
Catalonia Park Guell
#340 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
3.1 mi away
Catalonia Albeniz
Catalonia Albeniz
#212 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#327 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#430 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Castellnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Castellnou

Property: Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
Address: C/ Castellnou 61, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalonia Castellnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the centre of a quiet and exclusive residential area known as Tres Torres, close to the most important medical centres of Barcelona such as Clinica Tres Torres, Corachon etc. It is also close to the ring roads and the Vallvidrera tunnel, the fastest route between Barcelona and the Valles Occidental region. The hotel was built in 1970 and renovated in 2000. Its 49 rooms offer you all possible comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Castellnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Castellnou Hotel
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing