We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
Ranked #213 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We booked this hotel one day before we go to Barcelona so we were waiting for everything.
The room was ok but the view was awful (like an inside yard of other houses) and it wasn't bright. The bathroom needs more attention, maybe a renovation too. The neighborhood was nice.
Generally our stay was pleasant, but most of the days we stayed in the room just for sleep.
The big + of the hotel is the free wi-fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DespoinaThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 428 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

Hello.Dear Catalonia Castellnou.
I was really pleased to have stayed in your hotel.
My first hotel was not cosy as yours.It was close to everywhere where we want to see.
Thanks you in advance for your service and for everything.
im planing my second visit to your hotel , Gracias =)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikolBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellnoubarcelona, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Castellnou, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Dear Mr. Baku,

I am happy to hear about your nice stay at the Catalonia Castellnou Hotel. Thank you very much for choosing us and I really hope to see you here again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This hotel is a very nice way to start explore Barcelona. It is cheap, but it is really CLEAN(which is not always the case even with hotels that hold more stars). The location is really quiet, and it has a Metro stop(Les tres Torres L6) very close. You can get to the center of Barcelona(Ramblas+ Plaza Catalunya) in about 10 mins.
Hotel Staff is multilingual and really nice.
Breakfast is good value if you are at weekend, because then they have it for half-price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tono57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Room at 3rd floor, facing the main street. This was our second stay. Must admit that the first stay was more enjoyable. This time we were given a rather shabby room. The walls were dirty, broken tiles in the bathroom, etc, as some other reviews mention. Generally the whole apartment was in desperate need for a repair. The worst problem was noise - not from the outside, but from other guests on our floor. In our room we could hear everything our neighbours were speaking about.

The most positive about this hotel is its location, near Tres Torres metro, which provides quick access to the center. Staff was friendly and spoke english quite well.

If they choose to repair this hotel we are likely to return. Otherwise there are better options at this price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaromaxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for the last night after we came back to Barcelona. The price is OK, but the hotel offer the room on the groundfloor to us next to restaurant. We were woke up at 3:30am and 6:00am by the staff working in the restaurant. Very noisy... and not very friendly staff..we phone the hotel how to get there, and they just told us the metro stop and didn't tell us how to get there after the metro.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Room at 1st floor on the main street was very noisy.
Single bed room very small. Fridge-Minibar was broken and beverages were warm inside.
Many tiles in the bathroom were broken, generally the bathroom needed a restructuring.
Nice staff, fiendly (but with a quite basic English).
Excellent price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pietro1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I made a big mistake to come to this hotel after having stayed at another -- Gran Hotel Catalonia. I thought I would save a few euros trading it off with a few more stops on the metro away from the center, but I was bitterly disappointed when I came. The single room had a single twin bed and the room itself was not much bigger than the bed, topped with a small window facing an internal shaft whose curtain is permanently on, it feels like a prison cell, really claustrofobic. The room was on the 4th floor and I could hear very loudly when other doors open and close (with a bang) and when there is any movement in the corridors and perhaps also other floors. The metro is also not very convenient as the line which serves this stop comes only once every 15 min so although in theory you can reach Plaza Catalunia in 10 min, in practice it can take over 30 min. It's a residential zone, supposedly the expensive one in town, so there is nothing to do around and it really feels very out of the way. The hotel staff were friendly but unfortunately they can't make up for the poor rating I give this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller201084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#313 of 516 in Barcelona
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bonanova Park
Bonanova Park
#383 of 516 in Barcelona
272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#343 of 516 in Barcelona
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
1.5 mi away
Catalonia Park Guell
Catalonia Park Guell
#339 of 516 in Barcelona
952 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#322 of 516 in Barcelona
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Castellnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Castellnou

Address: C/ Castellnou 61, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $49 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalonia Castellnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the centre of a quiet and exclusive residential area known as Tres Torres, close to the most important medical centres of Barcelona such as Clinica Tres Torres, Corachon etc. It is also close to the ring roads and the Vallvidrera tunnel, the fastest route between Barcelona and the Valles Occidental region. The hotel was built in 1970 and renovated in 2000. Its 49 rooms offer you all possible comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Castellnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Castellnou Hotel
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing