We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“22yr old w/ girlfriend. Good stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
Ranked #254 of 524 Hotels in Barcelona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“22yr old w/ girlfriend. Good stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend did a little Europe trip and Barcelona was first on our list. This hotel was absolutely fine. Location could be more central, but it's very close to a metro stop. The hotel is of good standard and rooms are fine, they had everything we needed. There is a small swimming in the hotel which was great for an afternoon relaxation if you don't want to go to the beach. There are not many restaurants close by, La Rambla is the best for that. About a 20 minute walk to Sagrada Familia, which was great, but book online before you go, we beat the huge queue and went up the tower. Overall, good hotel especially if you are there for just a few nights.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jamie,

Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your little trip to Europe and for taking the time to write this review.

We are happy to know that in Catalonia Sagrada Familia you found everything that you needed during your vacation and that you spent a good time between us.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    425
    198
    69
    47
See reviews for
143
408
61
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ufa, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

we stayed here a week in march 2014, everything was good, you can easily get to:
1) the airport and avoid changing the transport with luggage;
2) sagrada familia (15 minut walk) and visit the bakery 'granier' on the way to it :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ильвира И
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ильвира И,

Thank you very much for using your time to give us your impressions about Catalonia Sagrada Familia Hotel.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you specially liked our location.

I would like to thank you once again for your review, we hope to see you back very soon in Barcelona.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just got back from a fantastic 5 day break in Barcelona.

Staying at this hotel made our trip even more enjoyable. For the price range it is absolutely outstanding value. Clean, comfortable, extremely helpful and friendly staff. I cannot praise it enough.

Rooms are air conditioned, which is a must at this time of year.

The pool isn't very big, but serves its purpose if you just want a dip to cool down after being out and about in the sun all day

It is also in an ideal location only about 10 minutes from the heart of Barcelona by metro from El Clot station and about 25 minutes from El Prat airport.

The local district neighborhood Clot (yes that's the correct spelling), is also worth exploring, with tree lined avenues, cafes and bars.

Look no further for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with all tripadvisor’s users and us.

It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so much our hotel and I will make extensive to all of our staff your comments, because they encourage us to keep working hard to improve our services day by day.

I would like to thank you once again. We hope to see you again very soon for another perfect holiday.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel itself is quite nice. The rooms are clean and functional, and the pool is relaxing despite reservations about its size by other users. Value-wise, it's fairly reasonable and in a great location that doesn't feel overly suffocating like you would staying around Placa Catalunya or Las Ramblas.

What I took issue with however was the rudeness of the hotel staff when a booking query was flagged with them. They had charged us in GBP when we arrived, against our wishes, which led to us paying more for the hotel than we had agreed and also incurred a booking free from our card provider.

When when we contested it we were given countless half-baked explanations and even insulted by the manager, despite her admission that they had charged us in Euros. First we were told it was because we were English - despite them putting down our nationality as Irish(!) - and then claimed that we wanted to be charged in GBP...on a pre-paid Euro-only card.

Having spoken to our card provider, they confirmed that the hotel had decided to charge us in GBP. When we asked the manager for some confirmation that we never requested to be charged in GBP, she gave us a note that wasn't even worth the plain paper it was written on and signed it 'The Front Desk'.

It soured what would have otherwise been a pleasant stay and has deterred me from ever booking with them again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RB7787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear RB7787,

First of all we would like to thank you for forwarding us your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

We regret not being able to fulfil your expectations regarding your stay with us and I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had concerning the payment.
I also take the opportunity to explain how the payment procedure is done so that other possible guests who might be reading this lines don’t have the same problem.

Our reservation’s system works with Euros, as it is our official money currency; that means that when a reservation is done, our system calculates the total amount of the reservation in Euros. When a guest arrives at the hotel and they give us a credit card for the payment we proceed to charge it in Euros. At this time (and not always) the dataphone gives us the opportunity to change the charge into our guest’s own card currency (at the change the bank has that day) and we always ask them how they want to be charged and let them press the option by themselves. Normally we don’t have any inconveniences but apparently something wrong happened this time.

Once again, I would like to apologize for this inconvenience. I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate you the renowned quality of our property if ever your travel brings you back to Barcelona.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed twice, both times great experience. Clean rooms , lovely breakfast. Great location. Only 10 minutes walk from Sagrada Familia. 2 mnutes from underground. In general you just can't go wrong. Would go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sebastian,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay between us and that you appreciate the location, our rooms and our lovely breakfast.

We can’t wait to welcome you once again in your third visit to our wonderful city!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia for a long weekend in May. We had originally looked at places to stay closer to La Rambla but I'm actually quite glad we chose not to stay in that area in the end - we found La Rambla to be a bit overrated and a general tourist trap (prices, crowds etc). So instead we decided to stay closer to the Sagrada Familia and this hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk away from the church. Our route was straight down the main road and turn right up the road where you see a Peugeot garage and keep walking up until you see the church (simples!) and we would use the hop on, hop off bus that stopped at the Sagrada Familia. Alternatively, if you walk in the opposite direction up the road that the hotel is on, there is a Metro station that can get you around Barcelona to visit places like Camp Nou. I would recommend the bus because you can see a lot more of the city than on an underground train and it is more informative - had I used the Metro all the time, I wouldn't have thought to visit Mount Tibidabo (which is a stop on the tour bus) and see the city from up high and enjoy the view whilst sitting back with a drink or two - I was on holiday after all!

The breakfast was quite good; plenty of choice from pancakes and omelettes to fruit and cereal. I really couldn't grumble about it and found it was a good way to stock up on lots of energy for a day's worth of exploring the city. I don't recall reading any reviews that were negative about the food here but if there are any, it would really surprise me. Speaking of food, I would suggest eating in the restaurants around the Sagrada Familia - prices are decent and seeing the church lit up at night is such a lovely atmosphere. It is also a lot quieter than in the day so you can have a pleasant stroll around it without bumping in to anybody. The same applies if you wanted to go inside it; in summer, the opening hours are until 8pm so we visited around 6/7ish as the queue was nowhere near as large and standing around in the heat won't drive you mad. If you wanted to, you could get a ticket just before closing time for the next day so you avoid the queue and get to go straight in the next day with all the time in the world to look around.

My only grumbles would probably be that the room was a little on the small side. I say that but honestly, we only used the room to shower, change and sleep in and we had enough space to do that in. If you want a larger room, maybe it is worth paying the extra for a suite. Also, our room wasn't ready when we arrived after an early morning flight. That didn't bother me so much as I've experienced this many times before and there was a room for us to leave our luggage in so we could go out for a few hours. We asked if we could leave our passports with the reception desk rather than walk around with them in my bag to which the lady at reception was happy to comply. The issue was when we came back, the staff had changed shifts and the new staff member at reception knew nothing about our passports. He found them in the end (and muttered a few frustrated words under his breath) but it was worrying for a while as to where our passports had been put. Maybe this is just a communication issue between staff that could be looked at.

If I was to return to Barcelona for another adventure, I would definitely come back to this hotel. If you choose to stay here, I hope you have as good an experience in this wonderful city as I did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenStatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Helen Statham,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia with us.

I am happy to read that you had a nice stay in the hotel and that you found our hotel's location and our breakfast perfect for your needs.

On the other hand I would also like to thank you for your comments about the inconvenient you had; your opinion is important to us because it helps us improve.

Should you plan a return visit to Barcelona in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in our sunny city.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Okay, so overall this hotel is pretty good. The rooms were clean and modern (though two twin beds pushed together is not an ideal "double"). Bathroom spacious and clean, plenty of space for clothing etc.
Pool is nice! A lot of people seem to think it's too small but it's bigger once your in it! Kind of a pain having to beg at reception for pool towels every time you go!
Breakfast, we didn't have. At 13 euro each this is really excessive. There are tonnes of places nearby where two people can eat for that price ( and get change!!!!)
The location is excellent. There are lots of lovely local bars and restaurants that are very cheap and a 10 minute walk from sagrada familia is perfect.
Our issue was with the staff. On arrival we agreed to pay in euro. However we were charged in pounds! Which lead to us paying more than we should have and incurring a fine from the bank. Hotel denied all knowledge for 2 days despite me having a receipt that states I was charged in pounds. Hotel staff reduced me to tears.
So if you can avoid the staff, it's a good hotel. Just beware of how they charge you!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rach_xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Rach_xox,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion about your stay at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia.

First of all I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you had concerning the payment of your stay. We normally charge to everyone in Euros, as it is our currency and our invoices are made in this coin, so we will have to check what happened specifically in this case so that it doesn’t happen again to anyone.

On the other hand we are happy to know that you enjoyed the pool and our rooms, and for your next visit we would also like to recommend you to let us know if you prefer a double room with just one big bed, so that you are more comfortable.

Concerning the price of the breakfast we would like to let you know that it is a very large buffet, with a wide variety of fresh products, so the price is really worth it.

Thank you once again for sharing your opinion with us and we hope that in your next visit we can exceed all your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Albeniz
Catalonia Albeniz
#174 of 524 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#247 of 524 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Barcelona Sagrada Familia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sagrada Familia
Hotel Sagrada Familia
#194 of 524 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 950 reviews
3.0 mi away
Expo Hotel Barcelona
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#328 of 524 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,382 reviews
2.2 mi away
Catalonia Park Guell
Catalonia Park Guell
#322 of 524 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia

Property: Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
Address: Aragon 569 Bis, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 524 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Sagrada Familia (formerly known as Catalonia Aragon) is situated on one of the most important streets in Barcelona, Calle Aragon, only a few metres from La Sagrada Familia. This hotel with swimming pool and free Wi-Fi is perfect for those who want to move around this vibrant Mediterranean city with ease and enjoy all it has to offer in tourism, gastronomy and culture. The hotel also offers a fitness room with free access to all customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Aragon Barcelona
Catalonia Aragon Hotel
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing