We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
Ranked #254 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Nazareth, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not in the perfect location”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed with my family 5 members from 18.7.13 - 24.7.13 (6 nights).

We really loved our stay there.

We took two rooms, one double and one triple.
Personally, I didn't expect the rooms to be that good! They had a refrigerator, AC (Though not so good), great and wide beds, big and clean bathroom, wide window, a very clear and excellent flat-screen and more!!

The AC was not that good, it didn't give the temperature we needed but it wasn't bad.

The hotel's location is not far from La Sagrada Familia, probably the most famous place in Barcelona, it is 7 blocks away, 5 walking straight then taking a round and walking another 2 blocks.

The hotel is near to a Metro station.

There is a water hydrant near the hotel and a good number of supermarkets and shops.

We had only breakfast in the hotel. It had cereal for both children and adults with fresh juices.
It contained a full breakfast meal, toasts, eggs, omelette, pancakes and more ..

The staff was helpful but kind of slow at working.. Check-in took 20 -25 minutes.

The service is great! We ordered extra towels and they brought it after couple of minutes.

The rooms has also telephones, with the ability of calling other rooms, reception, room service, external phone numbers freely ...

The stuff in the refrigerator are very expensive, I don't recommend using any of them, except the free bottle of water they put in the room as a gift.

I would highly recommend families to stay in that hotel, it is not that expensive and suitable for a family who is going to spend "touristic time" in Barcelona, though this hotel is not suitable for relaxation and recreation..

If you have any questions I would be more than glad to answer at:
ramihanna9@hotmail.com

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamiHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    558
    254
    83
    56
See reviews for
189
559
81
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in one of the newly-renovated rooms on the first floor, and it was spotless. The double bed was lovely, and we had fantastic water pressure and very good temperature control in the rain shower. Although it looked directly onto a pretty major road, we couldn't hear any noise (good double-glazing) and slept very well. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood a short subway journey (or even a pleasantly long-ish walk) from the city center. It is within easy walking distance of the Basílica de la Sagrada Familia.

The service was absolutely excellent. We arrived with the intention of dropping our bags and going to see the Basílica de la Sagrada Família before checking in. I was panicked because we hadn't been able to successfully print our online tickets yet, after trying in 2 separate La Caixa locations already. The staffperson at the desk was so helpful (and calming!) and gave us directions for where to go. We ultimately were successful - got to see the gorgeous Basílica - then went to a local market for lunch, and came back for a relaxing dip in the outdoor pool.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would look to stay here again on any future trips to Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebmargit1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed just few days ago for 3 nights with my wife and can't really say a bad thing about it. Of course one could pick on little things here and there, but c'mon. Yes, room is not large, but you are not going to throw a cocktail party there. It's a lovely, clean and tasteful room and price was right considering high season. We stayed in their newest part. Besides, I loved El Clot area, charming little rugged streets, big indoor market for olives, meat, fish, fruits etc, nearby park, tons of places for drinks and food, mostly locals to hang out with. Huge plus is that El Clot train station to airport is just a block away and so is metro. Every place in Barcelona is just a quick metro ride away and Sagrada Familia just a 10 minute walk. Pool is tiny, but awesome for refreshing. Unless you want to swim laps it's just perfect. We ate breakfast there only once, but it was really great and plentiful. Didn't encounter any rude staff, everyone was friendly and helpful. Enter with a smile and try little Spanish or even better Catalan and that will break the ice. :) We would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: D tower the newest we stayed was really good. It's smaller with lesser rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TauriP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is located near the metro which is good, but the neighborhood is not the best one to stay. The internet sucks! The room are tiny tiny tiny with tiny tiny closets. The bed ,,, ufff better of sleeping on the floor,but then again, not space to do that!!! Very rude customer service at departure. Would not go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagardenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir:
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations and we would like to clarify some points.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights. i made the mistake of reading all the reviews of the similarly named Sagrada Familia hotel, even going so far as to take down the directions so we ended up there by mistake. however it is only about 15-20 mins walk away, so no harm done.
this hotel is very close to Clot metro which takes you directly to/from the airport. just leave the clot station by the arago exit and cross over 2 pedestrian crossings to restaurant named Coctelera walk left and the hotel is about 1 minute walk on the right. the metro only costs 1-2 euro depending on which ticket you buy. The T10 costs 9.80 and gives you 10 metro journeys. tickets can be shared by just handing them to the next person to use. metro is a great way to travel, trains run often, seem safe, clean.
the room we had was average size, tea making facilities, safe (50e deposit required), fridge, TV, hairdryer. staff at check in were pleasant though this hotel seems to serve a lot of bus trips and if you happen to be checking in at the same time, it can be very busy. our air conditioning was very noisy the first night but we mentioned it the following morning and it was fixed on our return that day. we had a room overlooking a busy street (615) but the double glazing is excellent and we never heard a thing. the lifts are fast and numerous as each lift only seems to serve a few rooms on each floor. the shower is ok but can give you a blast of cold water on occasion.
breakfast was included in our rate. there was a good selection of continental and some hot food as well however they always seemed to run out of plates, cutlery etc. the staff are very busy clearing tables and there is no point asking them for spoons etc as they will just tell you "one momento" and carry on anyway. they are so diligent that if you leave your table to get a cup of coffee etc you will often find that your whole meal has been cleared away by the time you get back. we had to leave someone to "guard" the table and even then things were still lifted! i asked for a spoon for my cereal one morning and was handed a teaspoon from the next table! there only seems to be a snack bar open in the evenings and we ate there the first night, burger and chips, pizza etc. it was ok.
all in all this was a quite good hotel, very handy for the city centre but in a quieter area.

Room Tip: 615 was pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letterkenny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments which help us to improve every day. We ensure that they make us go up step by step. We look forward to your presence in the future, to be able to show how their suggestions have been carried out to the fullest extent possible. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

the location is fine - next to a metro
there wasn't much space to move around the room and it was old fashioned..isn't as good as the pictures show
had to wait ages at the reception when checking in and staff didn't even apologize

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kalya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear customer:

Thank you for your comments, I would say we feel not having met your expectations. In the same way wish you did not lose confidence in our hotel and visit us again on your next visit to Barcelona.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The good:
- Very close to underground station.
- Very close to nice Moroccan restaurants which sell Halal food.
- Very close to a nice shopping area, with designer shops as well as a Carrefour.
- In front of a nice bakery in case you need breakfast or a late night snack.
- Good-sized room for a single person.
- Nice bathroom with adequate size although a bit dated.
- Free in-room WiFi, although they say it is in the lobby only! :)

The bad:
- My room was on a backyard so no significant view.
- Renovation in the adjacent room was quite noisy and inconvenient.

Overall: good experience and price. Will stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahmoud I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Albeniz
Catalonia Albeniz
#221 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#251 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sagrada Familia
Hotel Sagrada Familia
#246 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Barcelona Sagrada Familia
2.1 mi away
Catalonia Park Guell
Catalonia Park Guell
#336 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.1 mi away
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#347 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia

Property: Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
Address: Aragon 569 Bis, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Sagrada Familia (formerly known as Catalonia Aragon) is situated on one of the most important streets in Barcelona, Calle Aragon, only a few metres from La Sagrada Familia. This hotel with swimming pool and free Wi-Fi is perfect for those who want to move around this vibrant Mediterranean city with ease and enjoy all it has to offer in tourism, gastronomy and culture. The hotel also offers a fitness room with free access to all customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Aragon Barcelona
Catalonia Aragon Hotel
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing