We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hold onto your cutlery!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
Ranked #256 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“hold onto your cutlery!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights. i made the mistake of reading all the reviews of the similarly named Sagrada Familia hotel, even going so far as to take down the directions so we ended up there by mistake. however it is only about 15-20 mins walk away, so no harm done.
this hotel is very close to Clot metro which takes you directly to/from the airport. just leave the clot station by the arago exit and cross over 2 pedestrian crossings to restaurant named Coctelera walk left and the hotel is about 1 minute walk on the right. the metro only costs 1-2 euro depending on which ticket you buy. The T10 costs 9.80 and gives you 10 metro journeys. tickets can be shared by just handing them to the next person to use. metro is a great way to travel, trains run often, seem safe, clean.
the room we had was average size, tea making facilities, safe (50e deposit required), fridge, TV, hairdryer. staff at check in were pleasant though this hotel seems to serve a lot of bus trips and if you happen to be checking in at the same time, it can be very busy. our air conditioning was very noisy the first night but we mentioned it the following morning and it was fixed on our return that day. we had a room overlooking a busy street (615) but the double glazing is excellent and we never heard a thing. the lifts are fast and numerous as each lift only seems to serve a few rooms on each floor. the shower is ok but can give you a blast of cold water on occasion.
breakfast was included in our rate. there was a good selection of continental and some hot food as well however they always seemed to run out of plates, cutlery etc. the staff are very busy clearing tables and there is no point asking them for spoons etc as they will just tell you "one momento" and carry on anyway. they are so diligent that if you leave your table to get a cup of coffee etc you will often find that your whole meal has been cleared away by the time you get back. we had to leave someone to "guard" the table and even then things were still lifted! i asked for a spoon for my cereal one morning and was handed a teaspoon from the next table! there only seems to be a snack bar open in the evenings and we ate there the first night, burger and chips, pizza etc. it was ok.
all in all this was a quite good hotel, very handy for the city centre but in a quieter area.

Room Tip: 615 was pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letterkenny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments which help us to improve every day. We ensure that they make us go up step by step. We look forward to your presence in the future, to be able to show how their suggestions have been carried out to the fullest extent possible. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    558
    255
    85
    56
See reviews for
189
561
81
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

the location is fine - next to a metro
there wasn't much space to move around the room and it was old fashioned..isn't as good as the pictures show
had to wait ages at the reception when checking in and staff didn't even apologize

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kalya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear customer:

Thank you for your comments, I would say we feel not having met your expectations. In the same way wish you did not lose confidence in our hotel and visit us again on your next visit to Barcelona.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The good:
- Very close to underground station.
- Very close to nice Moroccan restaurants which sell Halal food.
- Very close to a nice shopping area, with designer shops as well as a Carrefour.
- In front of a nice bakery in case you need breakfast or a late night snack.
- Good-sized room for a single person.
- Nice bathroom with adequate size although a bit dated.
- Free in-room WiFi, although they say it is in the lobby only! :)

The bad:
- My room was on a backyard so no significant view.
- Renovation in the adjacent room was quite noisy and inconvenient.

Overall: good experience and price. Will stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahmoud I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest:
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We've stayed four nights at this hotel in Barcelona. The hotel is a bit outside the city center, but only 5 minutes from the Clot station on metro line 1 and within walking distance of the Sagrada Familia area. All in all it was pretty convenient to get around from there. The hotel itself is modern, our room and the bathroom were clean. There was some noise from the corridor and nearby rooms, but nothing bad. The breakfast was a good deal, with a large buffet. The wifi connection was working fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredetSusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear customer:

We are really pleased that your stay was positive. Will convey to all my colleagues your comments and hope to have him back as a guest on your next visit to Barcelona at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well-located, just few hundred metres from the El Clot underground station, not far from the Sagrada Familia. They were very helpful at reception; rooms were very clean, and an excellent breakfast. WIFI was free and the connection was excellent. Althogh the hotel is not at the city centre, but you could be there in less than 10 minutes. I would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhammad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel, they help us to continue to work and try to improve every day. It is a great satisfaction to know that we met your expectations during your stay with us and hope to welcome you back. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location was ok, in a reasonably quiet part of town next to clot metro stn. Staff were mostly friendy and helpfull except the evening restaurant waiter who was a miserable sod. Room was functional but not posh in any way. No tea making facilities, even premier inn have this! Room cleaned daily to a high standard. Breakfast was good but dont eat there at night! Not a proper restaurant more a snack bar. Food was expensive but so was all of barcelona. pool was not open for some reason?
If i had to stay here again I wouldnt be too dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear customer:

First of all thank the reviews written on Trip Advisor, through them improve day by day. We hope to return and stay at our hotel to make your stay fully satisfactory.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard , Malta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is comfortable clean and well located. The breakfast is excellent for its category. No fancy frills but it was perfectly adequate and convenient. I would be happy to stay here again if u visit this pleasant city again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankVellaBardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio_Sanchez_HC, Gerente at Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest:

We thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. It helps us to keep working and try to improve every day. It's a great satisfaction to know that we have met your expectations during your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Albeniz
Catalonia Albeniz
#212 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
#251 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sagrada Familia
Hotel Sagrada Familia
#246 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Barcelona Sagrada Familia
2.1 mi away
Catalonia Park Guell
Catalonia Park Guell
#340 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
2.1 mi away
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#348 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia

Property: Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia
Address: Aragon 569 Bis, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Sagrada Familia (formerly known as Catalonia Aragon) is situated on one of the most important streets in Barcelona, Calle Aragon, only a few metres from La Sagrada Familia. This hotel with swimming pool and free Wi-Fi is perfect for those who want to move around this vibrant Mediterranean city with ease and enjoy all it has to offer in tourism, gastronomy and culture. The hotel also offers a fitness room with free access to all customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Aragon Barcelona
Catalonia Aragon Hotel
Hotel Catalonia Sagrada Familia Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing