We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Ranked #76 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at this central hotel and would definitely come back. Great location. Close to sights and shopping. Could ditch shopping phobic husband in tranquil garden with his book and shop to hearts content at end of day! Rooms ok. Keen reader so not too keen on dull black lampshades which gave out very little light. Would take own kindle light in future. Hotel room clean. Our room had a balcony with table. People smoking on next door balcony a bit irritating as smoke smell hitting us full on. Surely they can smoke in garden or go out on street? General hotel clean too and staff helpful and polite. Outside area spotless. Watched one very diligent member of staff sweep area and not one leaf left on ground! Breakfast - good selection to cater for all tastes. Again, staff very good and attentive. Overall, delighted with our choice of hotel. Would strongly recommend and contributed to a great stay in a lovely city.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Winnieterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Ive been to barcelona few times great city you do Alot of walking so good to have a hotel that is central and this one is 2nd street back from las ramblas.About 25 euros in a taxi from airport Great location in the heart of barcelon,clean staff helpfull we had our own massiv balcony which looked over the pool very good value for mney great time of year to go end of march.I would def stay here again I booked on booking.com

Room Tip: we had a great room we were in 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jola852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location at the entry of the old town from Plaza Catalyna, so the modern shops and the old architecture are very close. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are, as in many European hotels, not very big, but nice and clean and have good amenities. There is a bar that can save you for last moment food, the food is convenient but average (we ate in very nice restaurants, plenty of them in Barcelona). There is a nice swimming pool as well. Breakfast is nice but we tended to eat in local bakeries.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ztraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

First and foremost, the hotel is centrally situated on a beautiful pedestrian street just off Placa Catalunya. Despite essentially being in the Gothic quarter, which at some narrow alleys can feel a bit scary at night, Portal de l'Angel was wide and well lit enough to feel totally safe at all hours and easily reachable from anywhere. The building has been beautifully renovated, keeping its' old charm, side stairs and central staircase-patio that made us feel almost like Downton Abbey-like aristocracy each time we descended those stairs. If you prefer to avoid that sensation, there are also 2 elevators available. The rooms were reasonably priced without the breakfast, which for 18 additional euros PP seemed a bit overpriced considering that there are plenty of places in the immediate vicinity where you could find various breakfast options for 1/4 that price (especially if you venture out of the gothic quarter into Via Laietana). The staff was very nice & polite and the lobby well decorated with comfortable sofas and WIFI everywhere.
The only downside was the inner room (#227), with our room window facing right into another room's window, which made us keep the dark blind closed most of the time and hence unable to tell whether it was morning or still night. The artificial lighting did not compensate for it, as in most hotels, the room was very dark. Despite asking for a double-bed, the bed consisted of 2 twin beds joined together which had a tendency to drift apart every now and then and had to be pushed back together. The glass bathroom door had quite a big gap between it and the frame which didn't allow too much privacy... There was also a gap between the room's main door to the hall which let in quite a bit of noise whenever there was someone in the hall, but didn't prove to be too much of a problem since most of the noise began in the morning by the cleaning crew. Other than that, the room was spacious and well designed. Marble bathroom nice and spacious too, including a bidet to remind us that we were in Europe. We also appreciated having a digital safe, an electric kettle and tea / coffee. Overall, we were satisfied, but would suggest spending the extra 10 euros for a street facing room or 20 for the terraced inner-yard room.

Room Tip: If light is important to you, take the street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ilana_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very son in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have found my Hotel in Barcelona and I will not stay in any other place in Barcelona from now on! This was my first visit to Barcelona, and I traveled with my friend and stayed here for 3 days 2 nights.
This Hotel is a vintage building and has an old world charm without being too boring. The decor is classy, well done and modern enough, and the feel of staying in a vintage place like this is quite good. It was being renovated when we visited but we were never inconvenienced.
Location-The Hotel's location is its USP! Its located on a cozy street right off the Placa Catalunya square, and is on a parallel street to Las Ramblas. The Las Ramblas metro station is also quite close by. So the accessibility is very good. The bustling and bubbly Placa Catalunya square and Las Ramblas are a two minute walk, so you are not to far from action, and not too close to get disturbed. I loved the street this was in- because it is lined up with good apparel retail stores. Shopping therapy and Hotel comfort all packed in one street! There are other good hotels too in the same vicinity, but i prefer this for its location. Bershka is located right next to the entrance door of the Hotel. It is also easy to reach from airport because the shuttle bus drops you at Placa catalunya square
Staff- They are very courteous and always ready to help with information and tips. Carlos, the front desk manager is the sweetest person I have ever met in a hotel. He went beyond his way to help us make our Barcelona stay memorable with his advice.
Rooms- We got an interior facing room with no view per say. But that did not matter since we hardly stayed indoors. The room was clean, spacious for Europe standards, well maintained. The free wifi was very good. The bathroom also was big enough and clean with good fittings. We did not take the room with breakfast, because there are many options like bakeries, restaurants, bars around the hotel selling good fresh food. The prices of the rooms are also reasonable (probably because it was a low season when I visited) and you get value for your money.
In all, this is a very good choice to stay, if you are travelling with friends or families or as a couple.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kushal2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very son in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

........Perfect location, perfect room, perfect atmosfere ,perfect breakfast , perfect kindness ........what else do you need for a perfect vacation..........sun on the sky and warm weather.......just to short...I have to repete it

Room Tip: I didn't use fitness center or spa, so I cannot give advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisacrivitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very son in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our family met for a "big Birthday" celebration,all staying at different hotels. We had the best and they all wanted to visit us .
The service could not be faulted neither could their patience in chasing lost baggage for us. The birthday was not forgotten either with champers brought for us. The rooms are adequate and provide easy access to the Rambla and tourist bus routes.
A great place to stay for exploring all made special by the staff without exception

Room Tip: It was interesting to have a room on the Porte de Angel (a non traffic area) Lots of people but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to chossing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel and our service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from all the staff.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 515 in Barcelona
1,373 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 515 in Barcelona
514 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#108 of 515 in Barcelona
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#51 of 515 in Barcelona
2,074 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#134 of 515 in Barcelona
2,671 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#33 of 515 in Barcelona
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Portal de l'Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Portal de l'Angel

Address: Avenida Portal de l'Angel 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $119 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Portal de l'Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century building, the Catalonia Portal de l'Angel (formerly Catalonia Albinoni) is set between Plaza de Catalunya and Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter. It features an outdoor swimming pool on the grounds and has free Wi-Fi.The hotel's comfortable bedrooms all feature private bathrooms, air conditioning and satellite TV. The Albinoni maintains much of its original design. The hotel restaurant, El Jardí de l'Angel serves a range of Catalan dishes and guests can dine on the pool-side terrace. The famous Las Ramblas is less than 220 yards away, while Passeig de Gràcia and Gaudí’s Casa Batlló can be reached in around 10 minutes, by foot. Barcelona Cathedral is just over 110 yards from the hotel. The Catalonia has easy access to public transportation and is just a 5-minute walk from Catalunya Metro and Train Station, as well as several bus services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Portal de l'Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Portal De l`Angel Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Albinoni
Catalonia Portal De L'Angel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing