We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Ranked #62 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I wanted to stay in one of the luxury hotels in Barcelona but decided to save some EUR and stay between the Gothic Quarter and Playa Catalunya at this hotel. Small entrance directly on Portal del Angel which is a walking street (but official taxis can drive to entrance) and impressive restored interior of public areas. The rooms and beds are small but I splurged for the terrace which was a good size. It was cold in Barcelona but the heating unit was fast if needed. The receptionist helped me make dinner reservations at a place he had not heard of (my friends recommended it - see my review of El Salon) and spent the time to find it, call them, give me detailed directions and print me a map. Not usual in a 3 star! Also I managed to forget a very important little bag of documents, keys, and cash which was carefully stored for me until I came back for it. Overall was glad I stayed there and would recommend to others. Could be a bit loud if you have the wrong neighbors.

Room Tip: Ask for terrace room on garden side if you don't want the noise of Portal del Angel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust0037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much to choosing our hotel and of course to your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and the service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    373
    73
    18
    16
See reviews for
200
501
61
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

First you can't beat this location and second: BREAKFAST!!! Rich variety of really delicious food! Would you like cava, white or red wine for breakfast? No problem!
My room was tiny but enough space for one person. But the lightning was really poor!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linchikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered here at our hotel.
We would like to thank you once again and hope that in your next visit we can exceed all.
Yours sincerely,

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I booked a standard room in this hotel, room only, a couple of weeks before we travelled. It cost a lot more than we would normally pay,over 3 nights it worked out at 200 euros a night with tax for a 3star hotel, but, hey, we convinced ourselves it would be a memorable experience. It was. Just not in the way we had expected.
It is in an ideal location, arguably the best position in central Barcelona, on a wide pedestrianised street running south from the two Corte Inglese stores off Plaza Catalunya. It also has a lovely pool area at the back, with palms and sun loungers, plus a small pool. Hard to believe you were in the centre of the city. So far so good, then.
But it is a basic hotel, almost gothic, with lots of stone on display. Last year we stayed at the Chic and Basic in the Born for half the cost, yet it turned out to be less basic than this, and with a customer care ethos this hotel could only dream of.I stress this was our experience - others have obviously had a better experience and good luck to them.
The room we were allocated was 217, which turned out to be small, dark and gloomy, overlooking a small courtyard area, giving little natural light .The sink had a star shaped crack in it, the shower bracket was hanging off the wall, the door was an obscured glass swing arrangement offering little privacy, the light constantly flickered but had to be left on to augment the poor lighting in the bedroom, and the television had few channels ( and no English speaking ones) through weak signals; and finally the air conditioning was noisy and ineffectual, resulting in a very humid atmosphere.
We stayed the night, but decided to ask for another room the next morning. We were allocated 331, which seemed to be directly above it, and was a better room. We were told we could have a balcony, but at another 20 euros a night.The hotel wasn't full, although others around were, so why couldn't we have been given a better room initially? Other reviewers have noted this. Why haven't management acted?
Room 331, like 207, had poor lighting ( one end was too dark to boil a kettle safely), and could have done with a vanity mirror for ladies to do their make-up.Two faults soon emerged. The wardrobe originally had just two shelves for two people to share, but the supporting pegs were missing from one, so they had simply resolved the problem by removing it altogether, and the one below had one peg short, so as soon as anything was placed on it it promptly collapsed.
The other thing was that the glass swing door made a loud cracking noise when moved, which reverberated throughout the glass. Thus anyone using the bathroom overnight unavoidably woke their partner. Have I mentioned we were paying 200 euros a night for this experience? We reported this to with ( I assume) the manageress listening in, but nothing was ever done about either issue.The hotel's attitude, we can only conclude, was take it or leave it. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again, despite it's location, nor would I risk staying in any of the Chain's hotels if management here is at all typical of the others.lf location is all that matters to you, fine, that's all I will say.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cynffig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered here at our hotel.
We would like to thank you once again and hope that in your next visit we can exceed all.
Yours sincerely,

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel made our stay in Barcelona so enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and spoke English, the rooms were small but clean. The little balcony and sliding door in our room made it nice to have some fresh air and watch the people traffic below. The swimming pool was small but cool and wet after a busy summer day of walking and sight seeing. We loved the bar and their yummy tapas. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in a small hotel. All this and conveniently located very close to Placa de Catalunya- metro train, buses, taxis and restaurants. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BevB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much to choosing our hotel and of course to your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and the service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Small Hotel right next to "Plaça de Catalunya" with very good connection to the Airport by bus. Many shopping facilities, restaurants and bars around the hotel. Modern rooms with flatscreen TV and new furniture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and the service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
409 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our choice of hotel couldn't have been better. The hotel is well situated, just 200 meters from Placa de Catalunya where the airport bus stops, yet off the buzy traffic as it's on the pedestrian street. The room we got didn't have any view although it had a window, but it was towards an empty inner yard. This didn't bother us as we could get some outher light and it was very peaceful. The room was tastfully decorated and the used materials were good. There was a small minibar, good TV and all bathroom acessories you need. They got fluffy towels and a bathtub. The English langage skills of the personnell wasn't that good, but still very friendly. The lack of language skills caused some missunderstandig, but nothing that would have spoilt our vacation. The breakfast was quite pricy, but worth the price if you wanted to start your day with a glass of spakrling wine. The breakfast hall was a separate "tent" in the inne yard. Furthermore there was some sun chairs and a small pool in the yard, which is quite nice if you want to get away from the hassle of the town for a while. The walls surrounding the inner yard was nicely painted with art.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and the service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

A friend who has lived in Barcelona for many years recommended the Portal de L'Angel among reasonably priced choices that were well located. Our own preferences included outdoor space and an historic building. This one hit all our criteria. In addition, staff was pleasant and helpful, room was immaculately clean, and the breakfast buffet (which we didn't try until our last morning) was a bargain. A slow drain was fixed immediately by the maintenance staff. We were in a second floor room with a terrace overlooking back courtyard and pool. It was quiet, and a treat to have a nice breeze all night long. It was a little chilly to use the pool, but maybe next time. We would stay here again in a second.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are spacious and quiet--worth the small upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Gerente at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and of course for your extremely kind review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and the service.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards from Barcelona.

Dolores Hurtado
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#47 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Portal de l'Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Portal de l'Angel

Property: Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Address: Avenida Portal de l'Angel 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Portal de l'Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century building, the Catalonia Portal de l'Angel (formerly Catalonia Albinoni) is set between Plaza de Catalunya and Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter. It features an outdoor swimming pool on the grounds and has free Wi-Fi.The hotel's comfortable bedrooms all feature private bathrooms, air conditioning and satellite TV. The Albinoni maintains much of its original design. The hotel restaurant, El Jardí de l'Angel serves a range of Catalan dishes and guests can dine on the pool-side terrace. The famous Las Ramblas is less than 220 yards away, while Passeig de Gràcia and Gaudí’s Casa Batlló can be reached in around 10 minutes, by foot. Barcelona Cathedral is just over 110 yards from the hotel. The Catalonia has easy access to public transportation and is just a 5-minute walk from Catalunya Metro and Train Station, as well as several bus services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Portal de l'Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Portal De l`Angel Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Albinoni
Catalonia Portal De L'Angel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing