We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Ranked #62 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My friend an I stayed at this hotel for three nights while in Barcelona. The location is fantastic, very close to good restaurants and La Boqueria Market, and there is a metro stop within a two minute walk. Not only did we get a free upgrade to a room with a terrace, but the nightly rate was even cheaper than what I was quoted when I booked. Great breakfast buffet, which was also included in the room rate. Our room was very spacious and elegant with a huge bathroom. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona and will stay there again the next time I visit!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emzee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Director General at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guest is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
Yours sincerely,

Dolores Hurtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    373
    73
    18
    16
See reviews for
199
500
61
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We couldn't expect more than this lovely, perfect located hotel. The staff was most helpful, friendly and anxious to give us the best experience of Barcelona. The room was wonderful, and breakfast was tasty. We will defiantly recommend hotel Catalonia Portal de l'Angel to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayutyogev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Director General at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guest is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
Yours sincerely,

Dolores Hurtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

After being up and traveling for 26 hours from the Seattle area we arrived at our hotel. The clerk agreed that we had reservations but there were no vacancies. They would be happy to put us up at one of their other hotels. It would only be a five minute walk, at night, with our suitcases through an unfamiliar city with an unfamiliar language. After our objections they agreed to pay for the 15 minute cab ride. Two other couples we were meeting up with had the same experience. Advice. Don't count on them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank west21high
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Director General at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guest is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We apologize to move you to another hotel better category and same area .I would like to point that we always try to find a solution the best we could and assist our guest in all possible ways trying to give them an excellent stay.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
Yours sincerely,

Dolores Hurtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I spent four nights here during a recent visit to Barcelona. The guy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and check in was a breeze. We upgraded to a Premium Room for an extra 20 Euros/night so I don't know what the standard rooms are like. Our room was modern and spacious. It overlooked the very busy & noisy pedestrian street Portal de L'Angel, but the double windows are pretty good at sound proofing. Also, the foot traffic and noise really dropped off after about 10:00. For an additonal 10 Euros/night there are Premium Terrace rooms available that open onto a quiet courtyard in the rear of the building. Those concerned about noise might want to consider these.

We opted for the hotel's buffet breakfast, which was very good. Lots of choices of things to eat and a large and attractive breakfast room in the rear courtyard.

As others have pointed out, the hotel is in a great location for sight seeing, dining, shopping, etc. The only negative about our stay was that it was very warm and humid in Barcelona. We appreciated the complementary bottled water in our Premium Room, but our AC was not very effective. We were always a little warm in the room. Another reason to consider the Premium Terrace rooms is that you can open the balcony doors to let cool breezes into your room. When we opened the windows in our room, the noise from outside was a little too much for us.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebirds277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Director General at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guest is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
Yours sincerely,

Dolores Hurtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We really had a great trip to Barcelona and it started with the check in to this hotel. We had reserved a superior room with a terrace and none were available so we were quickly pgraded to their only suite. It was a duplex on the top floor with the bedroom upstairs(nothing but the bedroom) in a turret on the roof. While it was somewhat difficult because you had to go downstairs to go to the bathroom, it was incredibly private and even quiet in the center of the old city tourist and shopping area. The location was great and it really made our trip easy and comfortable. It wasn't perfect but in my mind this 3 star hotel was really the value of a 4 star in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Poertal del'Angel could be noisy through the day until 10 pm or so but really make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philkemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Director General at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guest is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, demonstrate that our commitment towards customer’s satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.
Yours sincerely,

Dolores Hurtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I booked 2 Premium rooms with Balcony and they were fine, although the additional extras that you get, water, biscuits etc were not provided.

The position makes up for the shortfalls in service.

My son left a jacket which we discovered at the airport and rang rception who promised to send on charging my Credit card.

Despites faxes and e mails, both of which went unanswered, we are no closer to getting its return.

Unfortunately this is an example of the hit and miss service that you will expect to receive; if you get someone to talk to you are reassured but of course nothing is followed up.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden, pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

For tourists planning a visit to Barcelona, this hotel is in an excellent location. It's an easy walk to the Placa de Catalunya (a transportation hub) and walking-distance to both the Barri Gotic and l'Eixample. Once inside the hotel, you encounter a delightful staircase and court that are vestiges of a historic building. Everything is clean. We stayed in a "Premium Terrace" guestroom that had a balcony with a table and chairs; the balcony overlooked a rear patio--definitely worth the extra euros. Also the rear location meant we heard no noise from the street. The room itself was a bit on the small size, although not tight. There was a desk with a chair, but no second chair. The decorating was slightly off-key--fake wood floors and black bedspreads--but it wasn't terrible, either. The best part was the bathroom. It was spacious, with a long counter, a large mirror, and walls and floor covered in a beautiful reddish regional stone. Air conditioning worked well. As for breakfast, you may choose to buy it nearby as there are lots of options. But we enjoyed the hotel breakfast, which included fresh fruit, several types of eggs and meat, cheeses, flaky croissants and bread. The staff was great, and one member helped us make a restaurant reservation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clouds75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataloniaPortalAngel, Director General at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guest is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We apologize that your room decoration were not like you expected.I would like to point that we always try to find a solution the best we could and assist our guest in all possible ways trying to give them an excellent stay. Thanks about the comments from the bathroom, the breakfast and also the staff.
We really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, and don't doubt in contacting me.
Yours sincerely,

Dolores Hurtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#46 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Portal de l'Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Portal de l'Angel

Property: Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Address: Avenida Portal de l'Angel 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Portal de l'Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century building, the Catalonia Portal de l'Angel (formerly Catalonia Albinoni) is set between Plaza de Catalunya and Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter. It features an outdoor swimming pool on the grounds and has free Wi-Fi.The hotel's comfortable bedrooms all feature private bathrooms, air conditioning and satellite TV. The Albinoni maintains much of its original design. The hotel restaurant, El Jardí de l'Angel serves a range of Catalan dishes and guests can dine on the pool-side terrace. The famous Las Ramblas is less than 220 yards away, while Passeig de Gràcia and Gaudí’s Casa Batlló can be reached in around 10 minutes, by foot. Barcelona Cathedral is just over 110 yards from the hotel. The Catalonia has easy access to public transportation and is just a 5-minute walk from Catalunya Metro and Train Station, as well as several bus services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Portal de l'Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Portal De l`Angel Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Hotel Barcelona
Catalonia Albinoni Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Albinoni
Catalonia Portal De L'Angel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing