We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #175 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well pleased”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My 3rd stay at the Renaissance Barcelona and each time I'm more pleased with the location. Easy walkiing distance to a variety of restaurants; helpful conceirge. Very comfortable rooms. A great choice for pre or post cruisers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelerfr0mtheS0uth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    541
    146
    42
    24
See reviews for
221
559
52
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oz
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Renaissance Barcelona was ideal for us post cruise to rest up for one night and to be able to explore some of the central sights by foot. Two of the classical Gaudi buildings are just mere minutes away and we even walked to the land mark Sagrada Familia in 15-20 minutes. Pau Claris was one of the quieter streets especially in the evenings which may be relevant for some. Certainly if you wish to be in a traditional grand European hotel oozing with old world charm located on a major boulevard such as the adjacent Passeig de Gracia then this is not your hotel. For me the Renaissance represented Comfort, Convenience and Cost effective value. The interior styling could be described as very modern which may not be to every one taste

Where my expectation was exceeded and what prompted me to write the review was the fantastic service offered. A welcome introductory email three days before arrival asking if I had any requests, I initially considered this to be a standardised generic automated email. However when I received a personalised response a few hours later specifically addressing my queries I was most impressed. Upon check in - my request for an early check in (9am) was granted making life a lot easier when we only had a day to explore the city. The navigator service was great pointing out local landmarks for us to reach and the restaurant recommendation was also spot on. I couldn't believe the generosity when my request for a late check out was also granted once again helping us to maximise the limited time we had. Upon checking out I mentioned to the bell boy I hope the taxi driver wouldn't take us on the "scenic route" to the airport. He approached (and may have negotiated on our behalf) a private chauffeur waiting outside and arranged for him to take us to the airport in a luxury mercedes sedan instead of a regular taxi that had no accountability to the hotel. With tip it probably cost 5 Euro more than a regular taxi but well worth the peace of knowing you are not being "fleeced". The service from every staff member -housekeeping, reception, bell boy, terrace drinks waiter radiated genuine warmth as they greeted you with a smiling "hola". Hotels I've stayed at in Europe costing two or three times that of Renaissance Barcelona could certainly learn from this.

A few minor gripes as mentioned in previous reviews. The sound proofing was a bit lacking and with heavy room doors every time someone opened and and allowed the door to slam shut it could be heard down the corridor and potentially disturb sleep. The lack of lighting in the bathroom was not helped by the choice of very dark coloured floor and wall tiles.

Overall I'm happy to return to the hotel based on its service and location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vegasnewboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at this location for 3 nights. Great location, helpful staff, and comfortable and stylish rooms. As a platinum elite, also received complimentary buffet breakfast that was fresh and tasty. Also received free wi fi. Had no problems with wi-fi as others noted. The Concierge was very helpful and gave us great suggestions for nearby Tapas restaurants and tourist sites. The hotel is located in a great location to some fine restaurants, shopping and tourist spots. Can walk to old town area which is something to see. When I return to Barcelona again this is a property I will look for first.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotel is in great location
Service was stellar and over great experience
Great conceriege - Breakfast was well done.
Front desk was top flight -polite and quality.
I would recommend before or after any cruises out of or into Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjb428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina E, PR & Communications Coordinator at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review from your recent stay at the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your positive comments regarding our ambassadors and service and that you enjoyed your breakfast experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for a future visit and thank you once again for posting a great review.

Yours Sincerely,
Cristina E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were very impressed by this hotel. Excellent location and the staff were really attentive. The rooftop bar on the 8th Floor lends superb vistas of Barcelona and serves good wine and food. We would definitely stay at the Renaissance Barcelona again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina E, PR & Communications Coordinator at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

Great to hear your kind comments regarding the hotel’s location and the level of service you received from our ambassadors. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy a glass of wine and nice food in our 8th floor terrace, which as you say, is the perfect venue to enjoy the stunning views over the city.

Thanks again for your kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Cristina E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this property for two nights (June 29 & 30, 2014) prior to our Princess cruise. On our way from the airport to the hotel our taxi driver told us that there would be a taxi driver strike beginning on July 1 which was the day we needed to get from the hotel to the port. When we arrived at the hotel we inquired about whether or not the hotel would be able to help us get to the port - NO! Everyone at the front desk that we spoke to were so incredibly disinterested in trying to help us find some alternative to the port. Luckily for us we had friends staying at another hotel in Barcelona that arranged for a bus to take their hotel guests to the port and after talking with them they allowed us to book 4 spots on their bus!
Now to the service - absolutely the worst service we have ever experienced at any hotel! Started with breakfast and only 2 people to take care of a very busy breakfast area so tables not cleared, difficulty getting any tea or coffee because there were not enough servers to efficiently take care of the number of guests. One evening, my daughter and I sat in the near empty bar area and it was 20 minutes before a server came over and another 40 minutes for our drinks to be delivered!
On our 2nd day my husband was in the shower and I was using the bathroom when I heard him say "Hey who is out there?" The bathroom door is a sort of frosted glass so he could see someone out there. So the hotel staff had let themselves in to our room to leave a note for us! Rather than leave it under the door they walked in!
My husband is a platinum awards level and he spends on average over 200 nights a year at Marriott properties and said this was his worst experience ever!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilliebean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina E, PR & Communications Coordinator at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Mrs. JillieBean,

Thank you for your review, detailing your experience with us at the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you found your accommodation with us not as your were expecting and we do apologize for the discomfort your husband experienced, rest assured your comments have been passed on to our Front Office Manager for further investigation. Clearly these are not the service standards we pride ourselves on.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and feedback, and we hope that our facilities and service will bring you back to the hotel in the future, giving us the opportunity to make your next stay with us an excellent one from start to finish.

Yours Sincerely,
Cristina E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is centrally situated one block from Plaza Gracia which has many fine restaurants as well as two of Gaudi's buildings. Go one more block and you are at La Rambla, Barcelona's pedestrian only shopping area.
The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely appointed. I did not like the closets as the doors were sliding from side to side so only one person could access the closet, safe, refrigerator at a time. WIFI in the rooms as well as the lobby worked flawlessly.
Our room faced the front and the view of the city street was very nice.
The rooftop bar offers excellent views of Barcelona and a must visit for any guest. The lobby bar is a bustling place and the servers are attentive and polite.

Room Tip: WE faced the front of the hotel at the corner of two streets, Room was right next to the elevator on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina E, PR & Communications Coordinator at Renaissance Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Michele O,

Thank you for this helpful feedback, we really appreciate it.

We are glad you found the hotel to be to your liking and enjoyed the rooms, the hotel facilities and the convenience of the location.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Cristina E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,520 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Eurostars BCN Design
Eurostars BCN Design
#333 of 512 in Barcelona
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,846 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#114 of 512 in Barcelona
2,463 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Property: Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#124 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing