We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #186 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Incredible suite! Extremely professional staff! Fantastic breakfast! Great location for subway and airport train! Very close walk to major tourist sites, especially the Gaudi sites. Wife hooked on little treats you keep at the front desk! Concierge gave us a map and perfect advice and directions. A perfect stay! We love Barcelona and this hotel made a lot of it happen! Thanks for the perfect directions from the airport, they were spot on!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Raoul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

OUTSTANDING STAFF!!! This staff is very knowledgeable and more than willing to help with local attractions and any room issues. This is a very clean and classy hotel and the pride that the workers have shows! Amenities in the rooms are plentiful. I have never seen a mostly "hard wood" floor with a center carpet before but some how, they made this work.

The hotel is very quiet and the traffic can barely be heard outside. There lounge/bar area is spacious and it has an "inviting" atmosphere. The elevators are a bit small but very fast; so if you are traveling within a party or family, be prepared to take more than one elevator (this is a very minor point).

Just about everything in town is within walking distance and that is nice if you like to exercise. There are a lot of places to eat around the local are as well as shopping. The hotel is on a corner lot and the staff is plentiful enough to allow you to feel safe in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duck1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a wonderful establishment, with just a few quirks. The location is fantastic : walking distance from almost all the highlights in Barcelona.
The few faults are in the lobby area. At heavy check in times there is not enough staff at the desks, nor bell men to handle the arriving luggage. Obviously aware of this the kind young man who checked us in, Albert, came around from behind the desk to take our luggage from us into storage. On a positive note our room was ready within the hour they said it would be.
The rooms are very comfortable, bathrooms well arranged, and enough closet space. We had trouble moving one of the sliding closet doors and within minutes an engineer was in our room to fix it! That is service!
Bottom line: next trip to Barcelona I would stay here!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 8 nights on a business trip, the location of the hotel is very convenient in regards to shops, restaurants and metro station on passeig de gracia.

It's a 30 euro taxi fare from the airport, the reception staff were very friendly and speedy check in procedure.

Room was spacious with very comfortable bed, the bathroom area is well furnished with towels and toiletries.
Shower had plenty of hot water.

A/C was working nicely with very comfortable temperature.

The breakfast area is located on the A level, service is very slow and you might wait for a good 15 min before getting anyone offering coffee.

I had a wonderful experience attending the Classico game between real Madrid and Barcelona and the hotel staff were very helpful in giving info to obtain tickets although a friend of mine ended up getting the tickets.

Over all a nice experience and I do not mind coming back again

Room Tip: Elevators could be slow so lower levels rooms are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nassudmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after our week long cruise on Royal Caribbean's Liberty of the Seas cruise. Everyone at the hotel was super nice and it was such a nice and updated hotel. The morning breakfast was very good as well. A wide variety of choices to choose from. This hotel is also walking distance to La Ramblas, about 20 minutes to the airport and 20 minutes away from the port. It's also in a safe and nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rispectd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here on business and it exceeded my expectations. Nicely designed, spacious rooms (I had a double double), quite a modern touch, good quality linens, bed, and excellent bathrooms. Only think I missed was the mini bar, but they have great reception services with a little shop. I was here only one night, but all the staff were charming! Would recommend, particularly as it is well located.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights pre-cruise. Arrived via Taxi (30 Euro) from the airport and they had my room ready for me at 11 a.m. The beds were very comfortable and a nice size for European standards. There is no executive lounge at this facility, however, for those with status, breakfast is included. The buffet was very nice, and you could order typical breakfast items if they were not in the buffet. Coffee was strong and delicious.
The location was very good. We walked a couple of blocks and had lunch at an outdoor café, then walked down to las ramblas and purchased some wine for our cruise from a very large department store with the supermarket in the basement, which is typical in Europe and Asia. Barcelona is a very walkable city and the hotel is in a central location. The hotel had two computers in the lobby where I was able to print my cruise documents at no charge.
The staff was always extremely helpful. The concierge can get busy though.
Taxi's were always available. Cost for a taxi from the hotel to the port was (35 euro) as there is an extra supplement for entering and leaving the port.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekker954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#115 of 517 in Barcelona
2,584 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 517 in Barcelona
1,978 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#70 of 517 in Barcelona
4,863 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $174 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing