We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #186 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here at the recommendation of a business partner. Hotel was updated and modern. Room was comfortable and nice. At the last minute I needed a place to host a private meeting and the staff was quite accommodating. For a reasonable price they gave me a nice, quiet room with all the tools needed for creative thought.

In addition to my meeting, the staff was very helpful in helping me find local restaurants, etc. In particular the two they directed me to were spot on.

Great location - from my room I could see LaSagrada Familia. It was a short walk to Las Ramblas, and explore it's narrow streets lined with interesting shops.

Room Tip: Lower floor if it is a windy day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAK350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We made a reservation to the hotel a couple of weeks before our arrival and before arriving we called to notify we will be arriving with a baby. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to see that the room was waiting for us with a small bed for the baby and a special little bath for her (with baby shampoo :-).
Besides that, the hotel had a very courteous and helpful staff and had all the amenities you can expect from a 5* hotel.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from "La Rambla"

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rotemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Marriott Renaissance Barcelona is in a great location for first time visitors to Barcelona. It is close to most of the popular tourist attractions, there are plenty of good restaurants, a wide variety of shopping choices within a short walking distance and if you chose to use the Metro there are several stations within a few blocks of the hotel. We found a wide variety of dinning choices. The food was good to very good everywhere except the hotel. While we did not eat at the hotel's restaurant for an evening meal. Breakfast was good albeit normal for Marriott in Europe. However room service food was very poor and not indicative of our experience with other Marriott hotels in Europe. The hotel staff were very professional, pleasant, and helpful. We had a room on the 10th floor. It was big by most European standards and about average for Marriott in Europe. The room was furnished well and was very comfortable. No executive lounge, but breakfast was free. Overall great experience and we would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 9th or 10th floor, so you will have a view over the neighboring buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ndt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I liked the fact that you could go out of the hotel and find the best restaurants and best views within walking distance. Visited Sagrada Familia and I walked from the hotel to there.
The rooms are very nice, with a huge bed. I ate something very good there: red tuna on avocado.
I recommend this hotel- 1 thing would be that the people at reception could be a little more fast in checking in the guest, had to wait a while. Also, if you have an event there be very specific in what you want and check everything, the event team will make mistakes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

As a Platinum Elite, I was kind of hoping for a room upgrade (I’ve been rather spoilt lately with numerous upgrades at other Marriott properties). Check-in staff said that the put me on the exec floor, but the rooms were no different and they DID NOT include the upgraded toiletries. In fact, they completely ignored my profile and put me right next to the lifts and did not supply the extra towels or pillows that I asked for. I did try to change rooms, but I was informed that there was nothing else available. In fact, on day two, they didn’t even re-supply me with any toiletries and I had to go down to reception and ask for some (despite leaving a room tip). There were very apologetic, but for the price, they really need to up their game.

The room itself while not huge was very comfortable. The bed was a dream and I had an amazing sleep on both nights. The shower had excellent water pressure and everything was squeaky clean. I was very impressed with the TV as it also had a number of UK freeview channels and well as a large variety of foreign stations. I also liked that there was a small fridge in the room.

The rooftop patio was very comfortable and located on the 8th floor – it was a perfect area to relax over the weekend I stayed, as the temp fell between 16 – 21 C. While I didn’t try the ground floor bar, it looked very stylish.

The breakfast was of a very good quality, but the service was a little slow and if something ran out, they never replaced the item. However, I thought it was an excellent idea to extend the breakfast hours on the weekend so you could have a bit of a lie-in.

The property contained a nice gym which supplied complimentary newspapers and bottles of water.

The hotel itself is only a 10-minute walk from the top of La Ramblas in a quiet area. The concierge ordered me a people-mover to the airport and it was a flat fee of 35 Euros.

If I could get a good price, I would like to return, despite some of the service issues.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 8th floor have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We travel around Europe a lot and we stay at reasonably priced accommodations, but the Renaissance Barcelona was a treat for us thanks to a co-traveler's Marriott points.

I do not know what the "regular" rooms are like, but I believe we stayed on an executive floor. For European standards, I found our room to be spacious, clean, well appointed, and comfortable. Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion, and bar soaps were all provided, which is unusual in our travel experiences in Europe (well, the conditioner and lotion are unusual). As a bonus, the room also included various other toiletries such as a "shaving kit," a "dental kit," nail file, cotton swabs, a sewing kit, and shoe polish. The room had climate control, sound proof windows, and basically all of the amenities Americans typically expect in an American hotel. . . except this hotel is in Barcelona where these things are less common.

The hotel seemed secure with door staff/bouncers all day. Room key cards are required to operate the elevator.

The breakfast was lovely, though if it is not included in your room rate the price is a bit steep at €24 per person. A coffee with a croissant down the street goes for about €2.

Room Tip: The 5th floor is an "executive" floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights and were very pleased. The location is great. You can walk everywhere but if you prefer, the Metro station is one block away. The staff is tremendous, they are all polite and very helpful. Our room was on the 8th floor which was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. The room was a little small but was perfectly adequate for one couple and all our belongings for 4 nights. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masspjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#116 of 517 in Barcelona
2,583 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 517 in Barcelona
1,977 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#70 of 517 in Barcelona
4,862 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $170 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing