We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #183 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed there last may! They just renovated their hotel,rooms and restaurant. Rooms are clean and quiet. The locations is keys just step away from passeig de gracia, metro,train station. Very convenient, staff was very friendly. A lot of nice restaurant around. Good price for the location!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jojo1982Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

This holtel has a vergood and central locaion if you want to explore Barcelona the hotel is nicely and modernly decorated and has a freindly admosphere over it. The rooms are nice, clean and confortable. The steakhouse restaurant in the hotel is a very good place for a good quality diner if you dont ahve time to go into town a dork later in teh bar is a nice and conforatble experaince all in all a recomendabel hotel either for vactaion or business,

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel keeps some of the trafic noice away altough this is not realy a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for one night. I am a platinum elite member and used points savers of 20,000 plus a 60 euro upgrade fee.
I will start with the highlights first. Quick, easy and efficient check-in. We received a great glass of moscato juice upon our arrival. The bar area was excellent and uncrowded which surprised me as this hotel is in the downtown area of Barcelona. The wine selection was excellent and the bartenders were as well! The rooms were spacious and accommodating. The gym area was very nice with free bottled water in two large refrigerators. Even if you dont work out, go there and snag a few bottles for the room.
Now the low-lights...not sure what the deal was but this place had a very distinct smell to it. Not sure how to describe it but it permeated the floors. The hair dryers did not work (even hers with the adapter) which frustrated my wife.
In summary a decent place but not a Renaissance like in the States. We moved to the Hotel Arts (Ritz) upon our return from a cruise before we flew back to the US.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtraveler838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great location, near shopping, restaurants and attractions. Staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and things to do. Lighting in room was low and our request for an additional desk lamp to do work at desk was quickly provided. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJUSA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. We took a shuttle from the Airport to Plaça de Catalunya hoping to take a taxi from there to the hotel; however the taxi driver told us that we could walk. We didn't have much luggage so we walked to the hotel; it took us 15-20 minutes.
This hotel is clean and modern and the rooms have parquet flooring, the marbled bathroom is beautiful with Bvlgari amenities. The bed was really comfortable and the selection of TV channel was adequate.
We had two rooms and felt totally comfortable throughout our stay; in room amenities included tea and coffee making facilities as well as a mini refrigerator. This is really convenient when travelling with children because it is quite nice to have the choice of relaxing with a hot or cold beverage without having to deal with room service all the time.
The proximity of the hotel made it tempting for us to walk to main attractions; Passeig de Gràcia is around the corner. We walked to Las Ramblas, the port, and the beach and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful weather and atmosphere. We also managed to fit in a two day bus tour.
The only negativity was that housekeeping sometimes didn't replace amenities correctly between the two rooms. An attempt to order room service once also turned out to be a bit of a challenge because the person we spoke to didn't speak very good English, therefore there was a lot of going back and forth to complete our order. There is a roof top bar with a view of the city; however every time we went up there, it was empty.
Overall, this is a great hotel and location for families, couples or single travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank montage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good location, close to Las Ramblas, shopping, restaurants, etc.

Rooms are on the small side and functional, without offering anything special (disappointing for an upscale product). Bedding is comfortable, albeit small. TV channel selection is mediocre and badly organized. Wi-Fi is quite pricey and terribly inconsistent (did not work correctly three nights out of four!!!). Staff seem incapable of fixing the issue, which is unacceptable for a paying service. Cleanliness of the room is very average, with some areas of the room (e.g. toilet phone, lamp shades, etc.) never cleaned. Returned one evening to the room, to find that the door to the room had not been closed properly by Housekeeping staff. We were relieved that nothing was missing...

Breakfast was also a disappointment with a poor selection and veeeeeeery unmotivated staff. The bar on the ground floor is not too bad.

Overall, a poor experience which is a far cry from other Renaissance hotels. It almost felt like staying in a hotel where there were no managers to supervise staff or walk the property to control cleanliness, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luccin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here one night for business. The hotel is coveniently located in the downtown area. The rooms are small, but nicely appointed with modern style features.

The breakfast buffett was good, and i did not have any other meals at the hotel. The staff was friendly, and most spoke better english thn my Spanish...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahansen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,622 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars BCN Design
Eurostars BCN Design
#344 of 515 in Barcelona
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 515 in Barcelona
1,921 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#110 of 515 in Barcelona
2,542 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#18 of 515 in Barcelona
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $187 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing