We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Shoppers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #188 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited in 2011 before the renovation and the hotel was very nice. Rooms were spacious, staff was accommodating, and the location was top notch. We walked to las ramblas, the market, shopping, and the sea. Lots of restaurants were near the hotel so unfortunately we never happened to eat at the hotel. The front desk was very knowledgable and helped us picked a few restaurants that we would like. We did go on the terrace and indulge in a bottle of wine over looking the city at sunset and it was quite frankly one of the most beautiful sites I have ever seen. We were very pleased. Coming from someone that is in the hospitality industry, you will not regret this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed one night in late August on Marriott points. 2 rooms.

As others have said this hotel is in a great location being in easy walking distance to Placa Catalunya and from there Las Ramblas, etc.

I'm a Gold Marriott member so we all got free wifi and a free breakfast. Breakfast was pleasant enough with a decent buffet spread.

Rooms were up to Renaissance standard and we didn't suffer from thin walls or other such issues.

Hotel staff were very helpful. Front desk excellent. The Concierge likewise gave us some excellent recommendations.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights there, paying in Marriott points. Flew in overnight and there was no problem with our requested early check-in. The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of water pressure. The iron and board in the room actually came in handy. Only one small complaint in the room - the lighting around the sink wasn't good - ok for drying hair but not so much for putting on eye liner. The hotel was located near the metro and train systems, though most of the usual tourist attractions are walkable, and the staff gave excellent directions and suggestions. There is no free wifi in this hotel, but they provide 2 Apple computers in the lobby. So as long as you're flexible on when you check your mail etc. you're OK. If the last person who used Facebook before you was French, however, you may have difficulty figuring out how to switch to English. Lobby wifi would be the one thing they could add that I would really have appreciated. I'd stay there again in a flash, though.

Room Tip: We had no difficulty with noise on a mid-level floor. Ask for early check-in in advance if you know...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and room was perfect, design and comfort was superb! Location was excellent! Service at front office can be further improved. Everything else was a perfect 10! Highly recommended! Thanks for making my first visit to Barcelona a memorable one!

1  Thank Peipei19
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a nice hotel in the heart of the city. What I liked about the hotel
1. Nice room with modern bathroom
2. the hotel had more channels than any hotel I have ever stayed in my life, including about 10 English channels
3. Platinum and gold members get free internet
4. Platinum and gold members get free breakfast, and the breakfast is pretty elaborate
5. The staff are generally nice and helpful

Room Tip: Make sure you write the address down, most taxi drivers do not know this hotel by its current name
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Over all it is just an ok hotel I have stayed 45 nights at Marriott properties this year and his was not high on the list. In fact I will be back in Barcelona in December again for work and I will find another hotel.

Ok the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
Good location just on the edge of the busy must see areas.

Nice Breakfast all though on one busy day I could not get a cup of coffee....They are under staffed for a big crowd.

Hotel is fresh just redone.

Cons:

For Gold and Plat no Executive Lounge.

Room 425 at least smells like sewer gas at times.

Walls are thin and not well insulated. I could hear the people brush their teeth and "other things” in the next room.

Some people have said and I don't think it’s a big deal buy the guys AKA “security” in the lobby eyeball you like you just shop lifted something.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJGfrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed hear on holiday, using points. Since our kids were along, they could not put us in one big suite, but did give us two adjacent rooms, with one of them being an executive room.

Very nice, clean, helpful. Staff was attentive and professional. Breakfast was a platinum amenity, and it was quite good. Location is central, a couple minutes from the Passeig Gracias, with plenty of shopping and dining, or about 15 minutes' wakj from Barrio Gotti and El Bord.

Room Tip: A very nice terrace, with a bar and snacks, is a good place to sit and plan your evening before sett...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Synopsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,590 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
Eurostars BCN Design
Eurostars BCN Design
#345 of 513 in Barcelona
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#111 of 513 in Barcelona
2,521 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,893 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 513 in Barcelona
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $233 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing