We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #187 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a nice hotel in the heart of the city. What I liked about the hotel
1. Nice room with modern bathroom
2. the hotel had more channels than any hotel I have ever stayed in my life, including about 10 English channels
3. Platinum and gold members get free internet
4. Platinum and gold members get free breakfast, and the breakfast is pretty elaborate
5. The staff are generally nice and helpful

Room Tip: Make sure you write the address down, most taxi drivers do not know this hotel by its current name
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Over all it is just an ok hotel I have stayed 45 nights at Marriott properties this year and his was not high on the list. In fact I will be back in Barcelona in December again for work and I will find another hotel.

Ok the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
Good location just on the edge of the busy must see areas.

Nice Breakfast all though on one busy day I could not get a cup of coffee....They are under staffed for a big crowd.

Hotel is fresh just redone.

Cons:

For Gold and Plat no Executive Lounge.

Room 425 at least smells like sewer gas at times.

Walls are thin and not well insulated. I could hear the people brush their teeth and "other things” in the next room.

Some people have said and I don't think it’s a big deal buy the guys AKA “security” in the lobby eyeball you like you just shop lifted something.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJGfrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed hear on holiday, using points. Since our kids were along, they could not put us in one big suite, but did give us two adjacent rooms, with one of them being an executive room.

Very nice, clean, helpful. Staff was attentive and professional. Breakfast was a platinum amenity, and it was quite good. Location is central, a couple minutes from the Passeig Gracias, with plenty of shopping and dining, or about 15 minutes' wakj from Barrio Gotti and El Bord.

Room Tip: A very nice terrace, with a bar and snacks, is a good place to sit and plan your evening before sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Synopsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for two days prioer to departing on a cruise from Barcelona. This is an outstanding Renaissance Hotel that had the feel of a real boutique hotel. I loved the room and bathroom and was totally impressed by the lobby, bar and terrace. It is located two blocks from most of the action, shopping and restaurants in Barcelona. I arrived at this hotel before 9AM in the morning yet was immediately checked into my room. The staff was totally accomodating. I could find nothing wrong with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Barcelona.
One caveat, however, when I arrived from the airport the taxi fare was 27 Euros. As I was walking thru the lobby at check out a well dressed man approached me to ask if we needed transportation. He informed me that he was affiliated with the Hotel. As I have stayed in numerous Marriotts that offered this transportation I took him at face value. This was a major mistake. I was was traveling to the Port with my son and two bags. This is a distance of maybe 2 miles from the Hotel. This trip in a Van cost 60 Euros. I was astonished and argued with the man. He claimed that it was a Sunday and a Holiday and that was the rate friom the Renaissance. Well, there is simply no way that can be the case. I paid him and chalked it up to another lesson in life. As a comparison, the return trip from the Port to the airport on a Sunday was 32 Euros. I would urge the Management of the Renaissance to take whatever necessary steps to stop these predators from using their lobby. It is an extremely small lobby and the Security and Staff had to know of his existence. Otherwise, this is an Excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlueMarlinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

On a return trip to Barcelona, this newly redesigned hotel did not disappoint. It is by far the most beautifully and tastefully appointed hotel I have seen in the Marriott chain of properties. Unlike most generically designed Renaissance hotels in the U.S., this one has the look and feel of a luxurious boutique hotel. From the Gaudi-esque, mosaic-like screens to the richly textured surfaces that serve as wall decor, this hotel engages the senses. Unlike a previous experience with a higher end hotel 3 years ago, the staff was professional and efficient, with just a hint of that famous Barcelona 'tude that comes across as detachment, if not a strange mix of welcome and hauteur. A bespectacled woman on the evening shift was especially helpful, providing directions and dining suggestions. The hotel's location on Pau Claris is excellent, with the color and excitement of Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya a couple of blocks down, and the Picasso Museum and Casa Botllia just a few steps away. If there was one negative in an otherwise great experience, it was a big one: the attitude of what appeared to be the hotel's security detail. A bespectacled, dour-looking older man eyed us suspiciously as my friend and I walked around and admired the decorative touches at the lobby. Another security person, a big, burly guy unable to muster a smile, threw a baleful glance our way as we entered the lobby, making no effort to hide what looked like disdain. Here's a tip to the hotel execs: post security professionals who can also act as gracious and knowledgeable brand ambassadors. While checking out hotel premises and visitors, they could be more friendly and welcoming, perhaps providing information and history about the hotel's stunning layout and decorative touches instead of being unsmiling and forbidding security automatons. You could also teach them Customer Service 101: greet guests with a smile or a good morning, offer help or information, or just act friendly. Security doesn't have to be heavy-handed - it can be seamlessly blended into the visitor experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChronicFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

i didn't know that pau claris is one block over from the main luxury shopping strip of barcelona. walking on pau claris is sad. but walk one block over and life transforms. my room was clean, but they have an emergency light right outside of the bathroom that seems bright enough to use as a reading light at night. it cannot be turned off and the hotel staff had to send someone up to my room with black paper and tape to cover the light so that i could sleep. there is a nice sized gym at this hotel. the best thing about this place is the terrace on the ninth floor (i think?) it is such a cool place to order a drink and just hang out. the location really can't be beat. if you were one block over on pedraig de gracia, the rates would probably be triple what this hotel charges. the easiest way to find this place after you get off the aerobus at the catalunya stop (easily the best way to get to twon from the airport and only for 5,65 euros), walk up pedraig de gracia on the right side of this wide street until you see tapa tapas, then make a right. it's one block away.

Room Tip: take the aerobus. inexpensive, relaxing and stress free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fongghoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located to all the main attractions, hop on/hop off bus stop and the metro. There are some great tapas restaurants and bars right around the corner and plenty of shopping within 5-10 minutes of walking. Casa Battlo by Gaudi is right across the street and the famous La Rambla is within 10 minutes of walking distance. The ride from the airport was under 30 euros for 2. As a platinum member we had free buffet every morning as well as free wifi in the room. The buffet was amazing, fresh fruit, wide selection; the only suggestion to improve is the eggs. The fridge was restocked every morning with fresh water, and you can also get water from the gym room any time you need more. The bar downstairs is modern with a big tv. The lounge on the 8th floor has a perfect view of the city. The only problem we had was the AC in our room, but it was fixed as soon as we called downstairs. We really enjoyed our stay and would come back here any time we are in the city again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,641 reviews
El Raval
Le Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona
#111 of 516 in Barcelona
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Hilton Barcelona
Hilton Barcelona
#170 of 516 in Barcelona
1,973 reviews
Eixample
Alexandra Barcelona Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 516 in Barcelona
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Address: Pau Claris, 122, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $179 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Barcelona Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city and just steps away from Paseo de Gracia shopping district and Plaza Cataluña. The hotel is also just minutes away from famous cultural and historical sites such as Las Ramblas and Sagrada Familia, but also surrounded by many little hidden treasured away from the main stream tourist attractions.This ultimate full-service lifestyle hotel offers 211 contemporary guestrooms. The hotel features 7 meeting rooms with almost 500 m2 ideal for corporate meeting and social gathering, and also the outside venue “La Terrassa” with breathtaking views over Barcelona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Diplomatic Hotel Barcelona
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing