We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel In A Great City”
Review of Barcelo Sants

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Sants
Ranked #109 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a few years ago and it looks like it's had a refurbishment since we visited. It is a good, clean hotel and well located for travel into the city centre. Barcelona is one of my favourite cities to visit so far and this hotel makes for a great base to explore. I would stay here again and would recommend. There was a spectacular storm one night and we enjoyed sitting in our room with the lights off watching the lightning through the ceiling to floor window.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 3,310 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very comfortable large clean rooms, great attention to detail in the setup amenities & services, and a fun theme. Great food with local and international fusion tastes. I will certainly come back in my next visit to Barcelona.

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank Alxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo Sants for 3 nights before our Mediterranean cruise. The location is awesome, you can get the subway right from the airport to the hotel. Take the subway to Estacio Sants/Barcelona Sants stop, about 3.50 euros per person. You walk out of Sants station and 2 doors down is the entrance to the hotel. We paid about $130 per night including tax at the end of Sept., early Oct. I thought that was very reasonable. It is a futuristic style hotel. Front desk staff were always very helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant in the hotel and a coffee shop right next door and another restaurant a few doors down in the other directions. Across the street, there were a few different restaurants with outdoor seating. The hotel was very clean, beds were very comfortable, lots of pillows, soft, fluffy towels, large room. We had booked tickets to La Segrada Familia (make sure you get tickets in advance, long, long lines) for the day we arrived and it was raining hard all day. after inquiring at the front desk, we were told to go downstairs and buy a subway ticket to Segrada Familia. Very convenient. You can get a 10 ticket pass for about 10 euros so our party of 4 were able to get to the Segrada Familia and back with a couple of tickets leftover for about $2-3 per person. We also booked a 2 day Hop On Hop Off bus ticket in advance and I would also highly recommend this. It is a great way to see the city, especially if you have limited time. The front desk was kind enough to call them and get the details for us as far as how to get the actual tickets, where we could catch it, etc. The bus stopped outside of the hotel right across the street. We handed in our vouchers in exchange for the tickets right there on the bus. There are 2 routes and you can get on and off anywhere that the bus stops on the route. A bus comes by every 10 to 15 minutes and the whole route is about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. You get earphones and all of the points of interest are pointed out as well as history, etc. I suggest riding the whole route and then deciding want you want to see. Once you have done the first route, one of the places that you can catch the second route is Plaza Catalunya. This area is a very busy area and there were always lines waiting to get on the bus. We did catch the 2nd route from there though, with no problem, no wait. Definitely get advance tickets to Segrada Familia, the cathedral that Gaudi started building. Park Guell is awesome, Gaudi's home is there to visit. We were disappointed that we didn't have time to go through it. Barcelona Cathedral is awesome and worth seeing. Late afternoon, they open it up for free but the admission is only about 5 euros, give or take. We wanted to go to the Picasso museum and the History museum but never made it. Las Ramblas is a very famous area, never got off there but it has a lot of shops and restaurants and lots and lots of people around. The aquarium looked awesome, no time to go there either, unfortunately. The bus also goes up to the former Olympic site as well as so many other great stops. We definitely want to go back for about 2 weeks because there is some much to do and see. You get tons of sightseeing plus there is the beach which looked great.
We took a cab from the hotel to the cruise pier, for 4 people it was about 40 euros. Definitely much, much cheaper than taking the cruise transfers.
Great city, can't say enough good things about it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MediterraneanMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is one of the most modern hotels that I have stayed in. I liked the space theme that it offered. The room "controls" were great. The furniture was comfortable. The location was good. We were able to walk to many restaurants and not far from bus and train stops. The restaurant had a great breakfast. I will certainly stay here again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historian1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was very good location. We used a train from Madrid to Barcelona and the hotel is just above the station. The room was clean and comfortable. All the furnitures were white and new. The best thing was the bed. So comfortable which I never experienced before in any other hotels. A bit of walk to the central city but good walk to look around. You can also take train as well. Lastly the train goes to the airport directly for 15 mins. We took the first train in the morning but it was so easy as the hotel was located just above the train station!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsGiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have booked a suite for a week and had to pay the hole stay upon arrival otherwise we had certainly left after 1 day.Even if the suite is big and modern we are very disappointed.We checked in without a smile or a welcome word, the staff is unfriendly and seem to do not care about guests.Housekeeping service is very average, breakfast as well, oh yes they do have a gym but they forgot to tell you that you have to pay for...(10€ / day), one more detail they don´t even have a pack of cigarettes to sell . the location at the top of a train station is the worst you can get and you meet homeless every time you go down and walk around. Finally if you are used to 4 stars hotels or know hotel industry, forget it . this hotel definitely does not worth the price....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertrandmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YolandaCB, Manager at Barcelo Sants, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

First of all, we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Barcelona, and apologies if it did not meet your expectations.

Our main goal is to guarantee total satisfaction of all our guests, and our priority is to devote full commitment to their needs.



On the one hand, we regret we did not inform you properly upon check-in of all our services with extra charge, as it is the case of our Gym Fitness Center, which does not happen usually and will make efforts so that this situation does not happen again in the future.

On the other hand, our hotel is a non-smoking space, and that is the reason why we do not sell cigarettes in our hotel, but we always inform our guests where is the most suitable place to purchase them, and it is inside the main train station, just below us.

Finally, we regret to hear you did not have a good impression about the area, but we must explain that Sants is a very pleasant neighborhood in the city and the hotel is one of the best communicated hotel in Barcelona (direct access to airport, and to the metro and train network of the city).



Thanks again for your comments, which help us approach our guests and improve our service.

We hope to welcome you back again to our hotel and be able to satisfy all your expectations.



The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The space theme is interesting and well done. The location, whilst not in center city, has much to be said for it as it is directly above the train and subway stations so there is little need to have a car or use a taxi. We were able to come from the airport on the train and depart for Madrid on the train with very little effort. We used the buses and subway throughout our stay to get to wherever we wanted to go.
The room was quite nice, in good repair and clean. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom, as has been noted in several other reviews could be better isolated from the rest of the room but it was quite nice nonetheless.
The staff was friendly and efficient.
My one negative comment relates to their electrical system. One morning during our stay there was a power outage at the hotel and despite the fact that they seem to have a robust backup power plant - I could hear it and there was full power in the lobby as evidenced by every light in the lobby being lit - there was zero lighting in the room. It would seem reasonable to expect there to be at least a single light in each room connected to backup power. We couldn't even raise the window shade because in keeping with the ultra futuristic theme, it is operated by an electric motor. It seems to me a little dangerous to have a situation where there is no light available in guest rooms.
That said, I would consider staying there again if I have the opportunity to return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 515 in Barcelona
3,863 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#333 of 515 in Barcelona
2,823 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#71 of 515 in Barcelona
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#220 of 515 in Barcelona
1,353 reviews
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#127 of 515 in Barcelona
2,581 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Sants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Sants

Address: Pl Paisos Catalans, Estacion Barcelona Sants, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $118 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Sants 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Sants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Sants Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Sants
Barcelo Sants Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing