We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience, not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Expo Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #336 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Far from the metro station, not same as the description in lastminute.com. Book a double bed for the staff insisted double bed = 2 single beds and there is no room with 1 big bed. Staff Poor knowledge and not willing to help. And lastly, poor english and difficult to communicate. Not recommend for tourist.

1  Thank Mcchoychai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is well located right next to sants station which is why i booked a 1 night stay for the recent champions league game between Barcelona and Bayern Munich. From the outside the hotel looks lovely and modern and the reception area is air conditioned and also neatly and modernly decorated. HOWEVER, When you get into the rooms they are old, dated and have no air con at all. the heating/air con system in our room had two settings. HOT AND HOTTER! couldn't even turn it off. The rooms are noisy and you can hear everything. The hotel is in desperate need of modernisation. Basically i wouldn't stop at this hotel again and if i'd have been staying for more than 1 night then i would have complained as because of the heat, the noise from the heater and the other rooms i basically didn't sleep a wink. The safe is not free you have to pay which is something i'm not used to either. BUT, you do get what you pay for so if i was someone staying for a few nights and not going for the cheapest available then i most certainly wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: not sure if there are any better rooms or if they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was my second time staying at the hotel, and if I travel again to Barcelona I would stay at the same hotel because is near downtown, across the street from the metro station, nice and comfortable rooms, not problem with noise, very clean.

Room Tip: has a very comfortable rooms (space) and beds, rooms in higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel has as a wide mix of customers from business to independent travellers and can cope with any problems at reception. We stayed in an upgraded room here for a couple of nights after a cruise and were able to get checked in early. We found the standard room fine for one night before the cruise. For an extra 13 Euros we upgraded to a room with more space to move around and a better layout. The hotel is ideal as its only 20 minutes from the airport or pier by taxi which cost no more than 20 Euros. If you have time to sightsee only 5 minutes walk away are Tarragona Metro station or Estacio Sants. There is a taxi rank at the front door and there was always one waiting when we needed it. We had breakfast in the hotel and it is the well stocked with everything for adults and children. We did not wish to eat lunch or dinner in the hotel as the menu is a typical business menu. Fine if you are there for no more than one meal as it never changes. There is a large supermarket next door for last minute items or a cheap lunch in there cafe. They have burgers etc and that well known Spanish delicacy huevas con patatas or 'chips and egg' as we in Scotland call it. We also tried two of the restaurants right across the street from the hotel. We can recommend the Gran Galicia across from the hotel entrance. We had an excellent two course lunch in this traditional Spanish restaurant for 10 Euros, but they do not speak any English. We tried the Pizza Roma for dinner and it is also excellent if a bit pricier. Two main courses and a bottle of wine and a bottle of water was 40 Euros, they charged 2 euros for a half litre of water in a fancy bottle. The food was excellent and the service and surroundings where comparable with any Italian restaurants. A good hotel for touring as it is handy for everything shopping, sightseeing or stopping off for a break. We never got to use the rooftop pool or bar as it was raining torrents.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very basic the upgrade is worth the 13 Euro charge for extra space if there are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor_Suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked a lastminute 'secret hotel' deal so the hotel was good value. However, when we arrived we were informed that there were only twin beds available, despite the fact that we had booked a double (and had the confirmation to prove it). The receiptionist claimed they didn’t have any doubles available and we would have to pay for an upgrade. After a lot of arguing they gave us a double, which they apparently had available all along! Not a great first impression.

The room was very clean but very plain, no art on the walls. It had a nice bathroom. We were however overlooking a very busy road which was very noisy.

The staff were friendly throughout our stay, very helpful with directions and advice. The hotel is not near the busy areas of las ramblas, the gothic area, etc. However it has good train links, with a train going direct to the airport.

Also the swimming pool was closed, which we werent warned of in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great first impression as we arrived mid morning for an afternoon check-in and were told we our rooms were ready if we wanted to check in early. We were offered the opportunity to order breakfast for the whole stay but decided to see how we felt each morning and we were told that we could just head down to the restaurant in the morning if we fancied breakfast. A full buffet breakfast was just under 8 euros which we felt was reasonable for a large selection of breakfast items.
Upon check-in we were offered the chance to upgrade the room to an executive suite but decided to stay in the rooms we had booked. the rooms & bathrooms were clean and spacious and the shower was particularly good for a hotel shower.
Reception was helpful in recommending restaurants and directing us to the metro.
The hotel was in a good location for a city break but do not book if you are looking for a central location, the location of the hotel is a tube/bus ride from the main city centre however the metro station adn bus stops are in short walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaidstoneHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Lobby nice, AMAZING location!!! Very safe area of Barcelona, more residential than the touristy areas that most guests will be visiting.

The ROOFTOP is amazing!!! The view is incredible, and having a full bar available made it the perfect night. Everybody in this hotel spoke english, which surprised me. Supermarket right next door. Directly next to Industrial park and train station. Very near MontJuic, but that was lower on our "to-do" list.

The hotel rooms were simple but nice. European hotels are very different from US. For a european hotel, this place has fantastic value and great location. Not great for walking, most people will need to use the subway, but Barcelona has one of the cleanest, easiest and newest subway systems I've ever seen. Way way way better than Rome's.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT_in_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#211 of 516 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 516 in Barcelona
4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#64 of 516 in Barcelona
3,231 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 516 in Barcelona
2,309 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#173 of 516 in Barcelona
3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel Barcelona

Address: C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $69 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A functional 4* hotel providing the perfect balance between quality and price, its strategic location makes it the first choice for savvy urban travellers. It's right next to Sants Railway Station - the main transportation intersection of Barcelona - making it fast and easy to get into the city center, to the beach and reach any tourist attractions in town. The hotel is also only a 5-minute walk from the Fira exhibition grounds and close to popular tourist attractions such as the Olympic area of the Montjuic, Placa d'Espanya and Arenas shopping center. The hotel's 423 ample, functionally designed exterior-facing rooms offer free WiFi and have a terrace - for a fabulous view of the city. Whatever the reason of your stay, a guest assistant will be at your disposal to make any necessary adjustments to your accommodation. The cherry on top: A roof terrace restaurant serving delicious Hamburgers and a swimming pool with privileged views of Montjuic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expo Hoteles, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Expo Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing