We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expo Barcelona- great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Expo Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #340 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expo Barcelona- great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked this hotel for a 7 night stay after reading other reviews online. Frst thing was great location, adjacent to Sants Railway Station meaning it took 25 minute journeyfrom Airport to get to hotel (£3 single). ALso hub for Metro which is a great way to get about the city. Vey efficient check-in, locely room on 8th floor so well away from street noise. Spotlessly clean, maid service every day inc. top ups of shower gel/shampoo. Excellent air-con kept you cool as it was 30-35 degrees throughout our stay. Booked a room only and cant comment on buffet breakfast/dinner as we went out as there is loads of choices nearby. Nice roof top terrace/pool where towels provided too. Bar/terrace had great views of the city too. Drinks were reasonable compared to elsewhere (certainly cheaper than La Ramblas which is extortionate. Service a bit slow at times but that was due to understaffing. Overall an excellent hotel & a great base to explore the city. Would definately go back and will check direct online booking next time. I doubt there would be a better place to stay if you were eating out all the time.

Room Tip: I has 9 storeys, I would go for a highre floor, nearer the rof bar/terrace pool and away from street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsmanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    1,035
    646
    269
    148
See reviews for
430
895
232
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel was not soundproof at all!!! You could hear the room neighbours all time! The breakfast was poor. Ordinary cheese and bacon and scrambled eggs were missing at our second visit. We asked a waitress, she hardly understood English.When she finally did, she went to the kitchen only to return to say there were no more cheese, bacon or eggs, 9.30 am!! They finished serving breakfast at 11 am!!
The most positive thing abt the hotel is the location!! Perfect when coming by train from the airport! Most Metro lines also pass Estacio Sans!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just got back from 3 night break in Barcelona, staying at Expo Hotel. Was clean, modern, safe, lovely buffet style breakfast (additional cost but cheaper if you book it through reception the day before), very helpful porters on the front desk and great location. Also, very handy to walk to famous nearby fountain show-well worth a visit at nightime.
Also was right near a metro station with easy access to all the major tourist attractions. We left our valuables in the room each day without any problems. Only (very minor) criticisms of the hotel were there was no tea or coffee facilities in our room and the swimming pool looked much smaller in reality, than on the website, Other than that however it was a great hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kieranandsarah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel was as expected when booked. Room was even larger than expected. Charges of beverages on top of hotel were way too expensive! Also many long thick black haires were still on the wall of the shower when we arrived. That was disgusting! Rooms are noisy as well.

Room Tip: Do use the pool area with the nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KramerremarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hotel doesn't look anything like it does in the photos. Very misleading. Executive room is not worth the extra cost because it's just as small and pokey as a standard room and you don't get anything extra apart from a bathrobe and slippers. Location not good you have to travel around to find restaurants, shops, etc... You can't get food when you want so if you're thinking about eating lunch here, forget it because the chef doesn't arrive until after 5pm and you can't have what you want on the menu. A waitress told me she was only doing pizza so I thought well what's the point in having menu?! Food was quite cold. My mother had to have hers reheated and my food the previous day was cold in the middle. Breakfast? Well depends whether you want hot or cold. If you want cold then the selection is good plenty of cakes, pastries, meat, cheese platters, fresh and dried fruit, yogurt bread, rolls, etc.. but the hot stuff isn't hot. I had scrambled egg and it was cold so I didn't touch the hot food after that. Didn't think much of the waiters/waitresses, they were very slow at coming over and taking orders and we waited ages for our food when having lunch/dinner as well. Would not say here again I like proper 4 star hotels. If you do stay here make sure you make use of the safe because a girl had £150 stolen out of her pocket by the cleaner so don't trust the cleaners.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWAINSBORO
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I made my reservation through Venere.com, and contacted the hotel directly to confirm the reservation and amenities. They were most friendly and helpful.

Each room has a private balcony overlooking the city. It was clean, the mattresses were acceptable, as they were comfortable but on the thin side. There was a mini refrigerator in the room and an electric kettle was available upon request. A walk-in closet was large enough to stow all luggage. The bathroom was spacious and very well laid out.

The buffet breakfast is superior, and at only $10 US, it is a real bargain! The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.

Take a taxi to the airport - The fare is less than $35 US, as the airport is relatively nearby, but the train from Sants Station is very, very crowded, and slow. If you're going to Terminal 1, the train will drop you at Terminal 2, and you must take a bus the rest of the way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIGbob07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Attractive hotel and lobby, but I would say the standard rooms are equivalent to 3* not 4. If you're choosing it specifically because of the lovely pictures of the swimming pool on the roof then be warned it is not as luxurious as it looks! Still a great place to sunbathe and take in the views though (it just wasn't what I expected).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitewoods60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#192 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#111 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#258 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#91 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel Barcelona

Property: Expo Hotel Barcelona
Address: C/ Mallorca 1-23, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A functional 4* hotel providing the perfect balance between quality and price, its strategic location makes it the first choice for savvy urban travellers. It's right next to Sants Railway Station - the main transportation intersection of Barcelona - making it fast and easy to get into the city center, to the beach and reach any tourist attractions in town. The hotel is also only a 5-minute walk from the Fira exhibition grounds and close to popular tourist attractions such as the Olympic area of the Montjuic, Placa d'Espanya and Arenas shopping center. The hotel's 423 ample, functionally designed exterior-facing rooms offer free WiFi and have a terrace - for a fabulous view of the city. Whatever the reason of your stay, a guest assistant will be at your disposal to make any necessary adjustments to your accommodation. The cherry on top: A roof terrace restaurant serving delicious Hamburgers and a swimming pool with privileged views of Montjuic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expo Hoteles, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Expo Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Expo Hotel
Expo Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing