We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had low expectations due to rankings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Ranked #344 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Had low expectations due to rankings”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Travelled as apart of a Contiki - June 13. Stayed in a room as a couple with a room with balcony onto the adjacent courtyard. We did not expect alot considering some of the poor reviews however we were very happy with the room/bathroom and overall experience was great for the money we spend. We had 1x dinner and 2x breakfasts in our 2 night stay - food was fantastic. A bit out of the way location wise however a cheap gem on the outskirts of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt260989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    270
    235
    100
    96
See reviews for
115
369
56
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Pros: None really
Cons: Poor location, smelt bad outside, dingy rooms that look (literally) into others, can hear everything through paper-like walls, overpriced, poor shower, hard bed

I'm going to be harsh about Putxet because it pretends to be a "4 star" hotel. That's what those shiny things - well, a bit dirty and old-looking in this case - on the outside of the building claim. Don't be fooled, if this is a 4 star hotel then the scale must be out of 40! I do wonder if they roll up the flags and pull the stars off when an inspector comes around.
Not much positive to stay: on business when a large show was on and this hotel rakes in the cash by ripping off clients. The location's no good, it's near nothing of note, it smells like sewage outside, the staff couldn't successfully organise taxis for us at any given point, and the price was way, way off.
The rooms are dingy, the shower was poor, the small bed was hard and the windows looked out into either uninspiring views or directly into other peoples' rooms - literally; like bathroom to bathroom.
I'd have to be paid to stay here again, it puts a downer on the star system and lowers the joys of what being in Barcelona can otherwise bring. Avoid!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmxbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

When I went into my single room, I noticed the window led to a tiny courtyard and staff members smoked down there. The draft in my window brought it right into my room. I was able to fix it, but there was a small set of shutters in the bathroom that led to pipes that made a lot of noise when anybody near me flushes, so I just closed the bathroom door. The lack of natural light made the room terribly dark at night and getting a little bit of light was difficult. The things that bothered me the most were on the second afternoon, housekeeping folded the blanket and there was this dirty spot on it, and it was right on top! I don't understand how this was overlooked. Also, an afternoon in Barcelona and I forgot to eat lunch. Around 5:00 I looked at the menus in my room and one clearly stated it didn't deliver until 7. The menu for the bar downstairs had no such clarification but when I went downstairs the guy was slightly curt in his explanation that "In Spain we don't eat this early". Well that's nice buddy, but you're running a hotel full of these people called TOURISTS.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilHistory_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is among the worst places I have stayed. It located far away form the city center where it is impossible to get a cab. the hotel has on paper 4 stars but in reality it is hard to imagine how it could get 2 at most. I had water leakage in the bathroom, no heating upon arrival, noise coming from the piping system. Hygiene... stains on the blanked, hair (not mine and of a variety of colors) in the sink and shower. No need to add more!

Room Tip: to be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano_Nardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Alltogether I am satisfied with the hotel, which is situated on a hill, with a splendid view from the balcony. I did not expected much, because of the low price, and I got exactly the fair service I expected. The hotel is rated four stars, but who wants a really four stars hotel, don't pick this one. It's more like a budget hotel, with quality services, a little outdated interiors, not too big rooms. Who does'nt like the fuzz in the city, it is in a really quiet neighbourhood, allthogh one night a guest made a lot of noise. The metro station is at five to ten minutes walk, which is okay, but in the evening, when you are tired, it is not the most pleasent to climb the steep road to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank zsombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Dated decor , no bar fridge in room , shower didn't work properly, Hotel seemed terribly away from the central city but it actually was not the case. Its a good value hotel, one gets what one pays for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Couldn't complain about our stay at this hotel, the rooms were clean and had all decent facilities. With regards to location its ok you get what you pay for! just expect to pay more on the metro or walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Catalonia Park Guell
#338 of 512 in Barcelona
880 reviews
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#320 of 512 in Barcelona
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#305 of 512 in Barcelona
298 reviews
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#412 of 512 in Barcelona
367 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#371 of 512 in Barcelona
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel

Property: Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Address: 68th Putxet St, 08023 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Park Putxet, built in 1975 and renovated in 2001, is located in the quiet residential area of Putxet, very near Balmes Street and Ronda General Mitre, a very convenient access road to any part of Barcelona. In addition, the hotel is located near Guell Park, an emblem of the city and a masterpiece by Antoni Gaudi. The hotel has 1 suite and 140 rooms, and almost all of them have a view, many with a balcony or a terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Park Putxet Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Park Putxet
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing