We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Via Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Via Augusta
Ranked #177 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I wouldn't exchange it for any other hotel: best position, services, nice rooms, cleanliness and extremely kind and friendly staff! Last but not least all...excellent price:) I love Gracia, charming location!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittaePitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    426
    125
    24
    6
See reviews for
147
352
104
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed there this weekend (Jan 2014).
Very close to Metro, so easy to get into the City Centre, but nice location for base.
Hotel clean, staff helpful and breakfast great. We paid 5 Euros extra for room with balcony, well worth it. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: As mentioned, room with balcony good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in the 13th December!

Although past reviews were mainly positive I was slightly worried because of how cheap it was.

However what an amazing stay we had!
Upgraded for only 4 euros a night to have a balcony and could not fault the room at all! Absolutely spotless and enjoyed a bath every night!

Gracia metro is a one minute walk and from there you can be in plaza catalyuna in 5 minutes! Or a lovely 20 minute walk.

What an absolute bargain!!!!!!

Lovely location too with Gracia having all the shops / restaurant and bars you could need!

Could not fault this hotel, and looking forward to returning in the Summer!

Barcelona is a must see and this hotel is a perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice hotel, nice neighbourhood. very nice shops and lovely restaurants in the Gracia /St. Gervasi neighbourhood.
clean rooms, good airco, good shower. nice and very friendly staff. Even in Dutch!

Breakfastbuffet is good value for the price.
easy public transportation and all on walking distance. Plaza Catalunya about 20 minutes

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naerssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna Region, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

The personnel is really friendly and gives good tourist tips.
Breakfast is good and exhaustive. The hotel has nice and recently renovated rooms.
Really good place to stay as it's near to the city centre, either walking distance or easy public transportation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was a good deal and the hotel was better than I expected in every way. When I booked it, it was described as a cheap hotel, but it didn't feel like that at all. It was a smart, clean, simple room and quiet, so a great nights sleep. Beautiful bathroom, warm and cosy heating (we were there in December). The staff could not be more helpful in reception - showed us all sorts of places to go. Breakfast was really beautifully presented and all you can eat, so you could have a good breakfast to set you up for the day. Last time I stayed in Barcelona it was near the Ramblas. This was further out - right next to Gracia and a few minutes walk from Fortuna metro stations - we loved this area in the evenings. Some lovely little bars where you could see locals, rather than be in a tourist trap. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j00lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel Via Augusta is situated in the area north of the centre of Barcelona known as Gracia, just a minute's walk from the FGC station of the same name. Being about 20 minutes from Placa Catalunya on foot or 5 minutes using the FGC train, it is very convenient for visiting the city. Buses also pass by in front of the hotel if you prefer and the nearest metro stop is a five minute walk. The neighbourhood is pleasant with local shops and a cinema handy. Fairly quiet at night and safe feeling. The staff in this hotel were very friendly and welcoming. After a morning arrival by train from Paris I checked in about 11am, well before usual check-in hours, but was informed I could have my room within the half hour and shown to a quiet seating area to wait. I was in my room within 10 minutes !! The room itself was pleasant, although not big by any means, it had everything I needed including a spacious bathroom and was clean and bright. The only small complaint was the shower which lacked any great enthusiasm when it came to the water pressure and I found the temperature control rather temperamental. Breakfast was a buffet type offering in a enjoyable quiet atmosphere with more friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast price was on the expensive side, although not compared to most hotels these days, and for the pleasant start to the day, not outrageously so. The hotel has complimentary wifi which although reliable was a little on the slow side at times. All in all I was very glad I chose this hotel for my stay and would certainly stay here again when I return to Barcelona. The great attitude of the staff really made a difference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry_Hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
SmartRoom Barcelona
#100 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#193 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#114 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#156 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Gracia
Aparthotel Silver
Aparthotel Silver
#68 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Via Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Augusta

Property: Hotel Via Augusta
Address: Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#102 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Via Augusta 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Gracia FGC Train Station, Hotel Via Augusta has a rooftop terrace with views of Barcelona. It offers functional, air conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen satellite TV.The Via Augusta is a historic building with a beautiful original foyer. Rooms have simple, modern decor and hardwood floors. They include a work desk, a safe and a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied breakfast buffet is served in the hotel, and drinks are available from the vending machine. A wide range of bars and restaurants can be found in the popular Gracia district, within a 5-minute walk.Hotel Via Augusta is 1300 ft from Fontana Metro Station, and Parc Guell is just 1 Metro stop away. Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas are a 5-minute ride from nearby Gracia Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Via Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Via Augusta Hotel
Via Augusta Barcelona
Hotel Via Augusta Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing