We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Via Augusta Good location and good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Via Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Via Augusta
Ranked #176 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Hotel Via Augusta Good location and good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Via Augusta for eight nights and I enjoyed it. Two metro stations are on walking distance. It is close to downtown (Ramblas Street) by Metro and the neighborhood is also nice. Staff in Hotel is very friendly and helpful. There is a good breakfast available. Rooms are clean.
My suggestion would be that they should have a double bed or a larger bed (although single bed is OK too). They should also provide an iron (plancha) for customers to iron clothes.
Overall, a good place to stay
Geet, Toronto, Canada

Room Tip: In Room: AC, wi-fi. Look for private washroom. Hotel should be near to Metro or Bus stop. Staff sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelViaAugusta, Manager at Hotel Via Augusta, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review about your stay in Hotel Via Augusta.

I will show your review to our staff to motivate them. They will celebrate your opinion about our friendly and helpful service.

For your next visit to Barcelona, I would like to inform you about our laundry service. In 24 hours we can clean and iron whatever you need.

Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor, they are very helpful for a small and independent hotel as our to constantly improve.

All the team wishes you the best and hopes to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    414
    125
    22
    6
See reviews for
145
345
101
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice hotel with good location. It took us only 5 min to go to underground station Fontana. Also hotel is not far from Passieg de Gracia and it takes about 25-30 min to go to Placa de Catalunya and Park Guell. The streets around the hotel are quiet and cozy. Hotel is small, so there are not many people and likely no noizy neighbours. The hotel staff is helpfull and polite. Room is not very big, but clean, also there are comfortable beds, TV, airconditioning, safe box, WiFi.
Just few inconveniencies in the lavatory:
- a lot of water on the floor after taking shower despite the glass shower door,
- no shelfs in the shower (it is not convenient to use my own conmetics),
- only 1 hook for the towels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is easily accessible by underground area. Nice staff, clean and relaxing rooms, comfortable sized bathroom. The restaurant offers a huge selection of food and drink, lol!
Unfortunately, there was no time to try the pool!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venetacomplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The service and staff was outstanding. Very clean room, not noisy at all, but the shower and bed can improve alot. Madrass was hard, so if you are in weight, stay out and after a shower, the floor was a swimming pool.

Short way to metro, three stops and you are at top of Rambla. Also very cheep, 9 euros for 10 tours.

Bus right outside take you to Park Gaudi and Camp Nou. Autobanka near by, and marked.

All in all good stay, recommend it at its best. Me and my girlfriend lived there for a week. Stay out of the breakfast, nearby coffee place with sheep and good food early in mornings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Peder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights here. It was very well priced, in one of the best areas to stay while in Barcelona. It was quiet, and very clean. The rooms feel quite new. Breakfast was included for us, and the quality of the food was decent enough. Quite a number of options. The bed comfort is average, good enough to have a decent sleep. I will return and stay here no doubt. Staff, and service is good. Air conditioning is unreal. Close to metro, and train.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWatsonAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Had a two break over a week-end. It was an excellent package arrangement via Voyage Prive which included breakfast. This hotel has recently been taken over and the new owners have plans to renovate. Although the decor in our room was a little tired, it was spotlessly clean, had a wonderful king size double bed, and a very large, well appointed bathroom. It also had a fully functioning air con system that actually worked ! As the room was not facing the road, it was extremely quiet. The breakfast was well above average and beat many a 4 star hotel we have used.

Getting in and out of the city centre was very easy. Two metro stations were less that 150 metres walk and took you diectly to Plaza Cataluna in 15 minutes. Another bus service also took you straight to a city centre location. There were two night buses that stopped less than 50 metres from the hotel. The surrounding area to the hotel had excellent facilities, coffee shops, snack bars etc. If you use public transport in Barcelona, buy the 10 journey ticket for Zone 1. It costs less than 50% of the single journey fare and can be used on buses and metro by more than one person each using the same ticket at the barrier. Taxis from the centre would normally cost around €7

Perfect for a budget break and very hard to beat

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and I would say ask for rooms ending with 12 ( ie 212,312 etc ) as these are doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry_Martin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on the third floor, and our satisfaction soars when we can get good strong free wifi connection from inside our room. Simple and easy to connect. The room was clean and comfy, staff friendly and helpful. Close to gracia metro station. Breakfast was also good with variety of choice. We will definitely come again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#116 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#96 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Gracia
Aparthotel Silver
Aparthotel Silver
#70 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#197 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#151 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Via Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Via Augusta

Property: Hotel Via Augusta
Address: Via Augusta 63, 08006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#102 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Via Augusta 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to Gracia FGC Train Station, Hotel Via Augusta has a rooftop terrace with views of Barcelona. It offers functional, air conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen satellite TV.The Via Augusta is a historic building with a beautiful original foyer. Rooms have simple, modern decor and hardwood floors. They include a work desk, a safe and a bathroom with a hairdryer.A varied breakfast buffet is served in the hotel, and drinks are available from the vending machine. A wide range of bars and restaurants can be found in the popular Gracia district, within a 5-minute walk.Hotel Via Augusta is 1300 ft from Fontana Metro Station, and Parc Guell is just 1 Metro stop away. Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas are a 5-minute ride from nearby Gracia Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Via Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Via Augusta Hotel
Via Augusta Barcelona
Hotel Via Augusta Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing