We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Atenas Hotel
Ranked #249 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Valencia, Spain
1 review
“4 stars???”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Ok,but I expected more since it's a 4 star. It was clean but we found a bug in the bathroom. The room was small, there was no minibar, and the safety box was broken. I booked a double bed and they gave me a room with two single beds put together. Besides, the mattresses were quite old.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rut V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Director General at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Customer,
We thank you for your review and your comments help us to improve our services every day.
We want to thank you again for your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to show that the Catalonia Atenas Hotel offers quality service and facilities you expect.
We welcome your comments always help us improve.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    589
    258
    121
    90
See reviews for
259
560
80
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great Hotel with friendly staff located near the city centre close to underground stop. I enjoyed the breakfast to most great selection of Spanish and international breakfast specials. It has a pool on the rooftop which is rather small but still a great place to relax by after a long day of walk exploring the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Szabi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Director General at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Customer,
First thanks for having taken the time to send us your comments as they help us to improve our service. I am sorry that your stay at the hotel was not their full satisfaction and hope you will accept my sincere apologies.
Thanks again and I hope another time we can meet your expectations with our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My boyfriend & I just came back from Barcelona Mon night. The hotel was fab. It was literally a min walk over the road to the metro (underground), so perfect location. The staff were friendly & very accommodating. The room was clean, showers good & the buffet breakfast was good too. The only slight niggle I had is that our room had twin beds rather than a double.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Director General at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear customer,
We really appreciate your feedback.
We are pleased that the hotel and service have their needs covered. Your feedback helps us to see that the effort and dedication of all the staff of the Hotel, is rewarded with pleasant stays like yours.
Thank you very much again for taking part of your time to submit your review.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

* friendly and helpful staff
* clean, neat rooms, with street view
* nice, safe area, you can walk by foot to several tourist location and there are bus and subway stations nearby
* there are electric bikes for rent at the hotel
* there's a bar, a pool, lots of vending machines and a tons of groceries just outside.
* the breakfast served was really good, a variety cheese and sausages, complimentary beverages of many sorts, a plethora of fried and greasy, a bit low on the old veggies tho.
* for our night flight we were easily able to postpone our checkout and stay for the needed hours - at a very reasonable rate.

This is not a new \ classy hotel, but it is comfortable, hospitable, easy to navigate from and very pleasant.

Room Tip: We came with friends and all of us secured quite good rooms. Try requesting a room not fronting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank אוכל ב
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HC_Atenas, Director General at Catalonia Atenas Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear customer,
Along with the entire team of the Hotel Catalonia Atenas, I thank you for choosing us on your last stay and we are pleased that had a positive experience in our establishment.
Thanks for your comments and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Barcelona.
Kind Regards of all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and tidy ...it's modern furniture.. Cozy and wide bed..the front desk was so helpful , there is also free wifi in rooms and also a computer u can use free in reception ... The location of hotel is relatively quite with a near metro station called clot , it's like one minute walk ( just cross the road in front of the hotel) ..... It's not so far from city center Ramblas just 10 minutes by metro ...ooh even the breakfast open buffet was good ...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Menna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Please,don't stay in this hotel.
Hotel is polar opposite to what any picture you have seen depicts.its old,tired,dirty and over priced.
The worst about it was the front desk staff,completely unhelpful and incompetent.
By mistake,I left a ring in the safe.on the way to airport,I rang and explained to the front desk. I asked if they please could post it to me which they said they would. I also offered to do whatever I had to do to get it back. After another three phone calls and three e mails,I was fobbed off and ignored. Eventually I was just told,they didn't know what I was talking about and were rude and all of a sudden,had poor english.It was so so upsetting and frustrating.the ring is of huge importance and they just ignored all contact I made,
The only positive was breakfast and the staff were fantastic there,they need to move "Sebastian" to front desk and get rid of who's there.
Don't waste your money, it isn't worth the hassle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Never a four star hotel, but it was clean and value for money. Liked the fact it was outside the town. Good local shops and markets, which I prefer to the main tourist haunts. Lots of small local bars, etc to visit. Beach is a 30 min walk, but tube is close by.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Catalonia Albeniz
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel & Spa Villa Olimpica Suites
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Salles Hotel Pere IV
Salles Hotel Pere IV
#296 of 513 in Barcelona
131 reviews
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#346 of 513 in Barcelona
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Atenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atenas Hotel

Property: Catalonia Atenas Hotel
Address: Avda Meridiana 151, 08026 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#159 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renewed in 2004, the hotel is situated in Avenida Meridiana, with easy access to any part of the city due to the proximity to Aragon Street one main streets of Barcelona, and Rondas witch will help you to get shortly to the Metropolitan Area. The Hotel Atenas is provided of an outdoor swimming pool and a solarium situated in the upper part of the hotel where you will enjoy a brilliant panoramic view of Barcelona. It also has a SPA with Turquish Bath and jacuzzi and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Catalonia Atenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atenas Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Atenas
Catalonia Atenas Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing