We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location only”
Review of Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gallery Hotel
Ranked #35 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location only”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Location is great - the hotel front desk was aloof except for the people handling the luggage. This hotel needs refurbishment badly - what they have tried to do is just a band aid and poorly done. Our bathroom floor was dirty as was the outside patio area. The breakfast area is very small and with a large group eating at the same time is was somewhat chaotic. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate receiving feedback from our guests. We are really sorry that you did not feel the hotel met your expectations and we would like to mention that we take a great pride in our Hotel and we are constantly renovating the different areas of it such as the new pool at the rooftop or the complete renovation of the solarium. Furthermore, all our single and deluxe rooms were refurbished on 2012. Referring to the cleaning problem, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience it may had caused you and mention that all our cleaning staff takes it with special care and our cleaning manager supervise each room personally before any guest checks in. About the breakfast issue, it is served in the restaurant area but if the weather allows it, there is also some additional space outside the restaurant terrace. We would like to apologize, as well, for you having difficulties getting a table. Finally, we would like to let you know that we take comments about our staff very seriously and we will talk directly with the department.
We can only apologize for your not satisfactory experience in our Hotel.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    441
    80
    10
    12
See reviews for
271
491
48
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

It's rare to find a hotel in the region that comfortably accommodates a family of four in one room, but the family room (actually a suite) at the Gallery was perfect and spacious. The generous breakfast and included minibar were full of nourishing and delicious choices, which made it so much easier to travel with jet lagged small children. The courtesy and helpfulness of the front desk staff exceeded all our expectations. The location is also wonderful - a vibrant neighbourhood in walking distance to many great restaurants, yet quiet and safe for long walks late at night. We were able to visit all attractions either on foot or by subway using this hotel as a base. A fantastic experience. We will certainly return to the Gallery hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Bartholomew

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. All our staff appreciates your kind comments and is very happy to know that not only did you have a comfortable and pleasant stay at the hotel but you enjoyed and spent a wonderful time visiting Barcelona and all its unique attractions.
Again, thank you very much. Reviews like this make all our hard work worth-while. We are looking forward to seeing you and your family again in your next visit.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
389 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel should be 5 star not 4 star. From the minute I walked through the front door the service began. In fact, someone came immediately to take my luggage into the hotel. Front desk service was excellent. I got the room I had asked for. Now this room is large with a beautiful bathroom. The vanity has a basket of wonderful amenities. There is a minibar in the room with a nice size closet, electric pot with tea or coffee and condiments. FREE WIFI and it is fast. A desk with ample plugs for your computer and also to charge your phone. Tonight, I ate with my group at the TOP, a lovely dinner/Tapas restaurant and bar...under the Barcelona skies. This is also where the pool is and sauna. We had homemade Sangria, the best I have ever tasted. The waitress, Danique (spelling?) was marvelous. Don't hesitate to book this hotel. It's well worth it. And...I can't forget to mention the location which is perfect. I want to come back!

Room Tip: Go for the Superior rooms. You will be glad you did. They are wonderful. I like 216.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhyllisD534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Phillys.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments about the Hotel. We are glad to know that all the hotel facilities and staff meet all your expectations, that you spent a magnificent time in Barcelona and that you had the chance to taste all the culture of the country.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in your next visit.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel end of May.Its location is great for Barcelona itself. The rooms are lovely and clean .They are a fair size tooWe stayed bb ,the breakfast is good and covers continental and full .Barcelona is agreat place to vist,so much to see.Just be aware of the pick pockets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your gentle review. We are very happy to know that you had a good time with us and that you could make the most out of your trip in Barcelona.
We hope to see you soon again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is very well located in that it is about 50 yds from the metro which makes it easy to get anywhere in Barcelona. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the hotel is maintained to a very high standard of cleanliness.Barcelona is notorious in terms of thefts of handbags and pick pockets, but the area of this hotel felt safe. On a warm day the air conditioning is very effective, and the windows are at least triple glazed meaning there is very little street noise audible from the rooms.The orange juice at breakfast is freshly squeezed and excellent and the breakfast buffet has a decent selection for most tastes.
On the negative side - the pictures of the pool are misleading, it is only one to two strokes long and is more just a cooling down pool than a swimming pool. The bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in, and my husband and myself found ourselves both rolling into a dip in the middle during the night. The coffee at breakfast was always luke warm and not very good, even when my husband asked for fresh coffee, it suffered from the same problem.
It's a decent hotel in a very nice area and well located - probably better for a business trip than for a romantic weekend or family holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some reviews about your stay with us. We really appreciate it and take all of them into consideration in order to avoid them again.
We are sorry to know that the pool and the breakfast coffee did not meet all your expectations. About the pool, as it is located on the rooftop, it cannot be any deeper; otherwise the building would not support its weight and it is just a way to refresh oneself while enjoying the solarium area. Furthermore, since we removed all the carpets of the rooms, we are totally aware of the beds problem and we are taking care of it in pursuance of a solution. Cleanliness and friendly staff are two of our main policies in the hotel so good reviews on them make all our hard work worth-while, thank you.
We are happy to know that you had a wonderful time in Barcelona and we are looking forward to seeing you again in your next visit.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is near metro and in the central place. There are lot of high end stores nearby. La Rambla is few blocks away. Staff is friendly and helping. Rooms were neat and clean. But the hotel is so closed that there is no view from any of the rooms. Has a nice rooftop bar and live DJ almost everyday. Gym sucks. Swimming pool is a size of hottub - lol. Overall I wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshwaniNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Ashwani,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate receiving feedback from our guests.
About the pool, as it is located on the rooftop, it cannot be any deeper; otherwise the building would not support its weight and it is just a way to refresh oneself while enjoying the solarium area. Moreover, we are aware that the gym may not meet everyone’s expectations and that it is not very big, however we try to keep it as comfortable as possible due to the available space.
We are also conscious that our interior rooms doesn’t have much views but an indoor patio, nevertheless all of them have natural light and you are very welcomed to stay on our rooftop bar to enjoy the views from the outdoors.
Nevertheless, we are very proud of receiving such kind comments about our staff and cleaning department, they all appreciate it and we are glad to know that you enjoyed and had a wonderful time in Barcelona.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in your next visit.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location in upscale Eixample area. Easy access to all Barcelona sights. Metro station steps away from hotel. Very good breakfast. Clean with nicely updated furnishings.Walking distance to restaurants/tapas bars/shopping/Gaudi buildings. Pleasant staff. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandAndreaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your gentle comments. We are very happy to know that we could meet all of your expectations, that you had a good time with us and that you could make the most out of your trip in Barcelona.
We hope to see you soon again in Barcelona.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#30 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ohla Eixample
Ohla Eixample
#26 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Gracia
Hotel Well and Come
Hotel Well and Come
#44 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hotel

Property: Gallery Hotel
Address: Rosello 249, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gallery Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing