We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$213
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$219
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$155
$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$166
$157
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$189
$166
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercer Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$420
$361
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$248
$198
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$503
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $568/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (875)
Filter reviews
875 results
Traveler rating
216
425
151
43
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
425
151
43
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmundet metro stationgreen linenice hotelcoffee and croissantrooms are bigmini barpleasant staylas ramblaswifisupermarketeuroscitytaxiwallpaperstopssoundproofingtoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 875 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I took my partner to Barcelona for his birthday and booked flights and accomodation all through the same website and got a pretty good deal. We got the metro from the airport to the hotel which was really straight forward when you get hold of an undergound map. Just need to get the green line L3 to Mundet and the hotel is a about 100 yards away from here. There isn't any shops from what i could see surrounding the hotel but to be fair we didn't really look as it was so easy to jump straight on the metro and a few stops down you have restaurants, shops everything you need. The hotel staff were very friendly and spoke very good english. They were happy to help when we were looking for places to go and gave us a map to take away. The rooms were very clean and beds and towels changed daily. We didn't eat at the hotel as breakfast was 17 euros. Overall we were very happy staying at the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank soapybubbles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Went to the Alimara hotel for 5 nights and had a lovely clean, big room, not exactly 4 * standard maybe 3* is more accurate. The main problem we faced was the total lack of food places near the hotel. After a long hot flight and travelling we went on search for food, to find out there is only 1 restaurant, which looks more like a run down shack. And one tiny shop which closes at like 7, which we just managed to get to. The metro stop is a 3 min walk which is perfect and 12 mins into las ramblas. The metro is fab, and v cheap. Good hotel for price we paid, no pool which was kinda sad.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

As said elsewhere, the hotel is a bit out of the centre but easily accessible using the brilliant Metro.

The staff do lighten up after a gag of two but initially seem a little surely. The hotel is owned by the University and attached to the school of turism running hotel managment / toursit degrees (tsk, don't they do real degrees in university anymore). I assume the staff are undergraduates getting experiernce.

Our grumbles: Breakfast was closed at 9.30 on the dot, in fact 9:29 and 37 seconds. Don't be late or go hungary and don't try to gain access after this time or you will be shot or worse as an example to other would be have-a-go hero guests. You can get breakfasst around the corner but the area is residential / stundent accomadation so no cosy cafe's. It was a little difficult getting a cab at peak times. mini-bar was not exactly overflowing with bottles. On arrival, midnight from Girona airport, we had to share a beer as there was only one in the fridge. No pool.

Likes: good size room, clean, felt safe and location near the metro station made it easy.

It's a good functional and clean 3* rather than luxury 4*

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The_telfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Even until the last date of our stay(We reserved 2 rooms month ago and they only gave us one room when checking in), none of the hotel staff talked to us directly / made an apology. They originally promised to refund the room they didn't give us for the first night (this is confirmed by several staff and they also offered breakfast and room upgrade as an apology for sqeezing 4 of us into one room). After we went back home, they said the breakfast and room upgrade they offered should be more than enough to compensate the room charge!

We were trying not to let this incident ruin our mood, but they just kept irritating us (except one staff called Alberto who was friendly and responsive). When we talked to the front desk supervisor in our last date for the refund, we felt like a group of beggers causing troble and asking for money. Below please find the email I sent to their GM at 2am in the first night.

Subject: To GENERAL MANAGER of ALIMARA Hotel - SERIOUS COMPLAIN FROM
HOTEL GUEST

Dear Sir/Madam,

I'm your existing hotel guest staying in room 129 and I'm furious and disappointed by your poor service and disaster recovery.

We reserved and confirmed 2 double-bed rooms from May 2 - 6th nearly a month ago, and I can't believe that this is what I have got:

1. Your first front desk staff only offered one room (number 419) and told us the hotel is full when we checked in at 10:30pm on May 2nd;
2. Your front desk supervisor made an excuse (electricity problem in one of our rooms which the first front desk staff never mentioned) and asked another couple of our group to take the taxi and stay in another place. Even after we kept saying that we were really tired and would really want to stay only in this hotel, the supervisor still wanted the another couple to move;
3. 4 of us had no choice but demanded an additional bed to stay together in one room. And surprisingly, your front desk asked us to stay in another room (room 129) so as to set up the bed. Is this a joke? because they have 2 rooms indeed and only assigned us in either one room!!!!
4. The extra bed was delivered only 40 mins after we got in by your SECURITY GUARD and no one made the bed sheets. So your staff were expecting us to set up the extra bed at 11:15pm on our own in this so-called 4 star hotel?

I could't sleep until now because of the poor arrangement from your hotel and I really don't think we deserve this from our holiday.

Yours sincerely,

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

12 of us stayed here for a long weekend. We bought 4 day passes on the subway for 18 euro and hopped on and off the tube. The local station ( Mundet) is just round the corner from where you can be on the Ramblas in 15 minutes.A taxi from downtown is around 25 euro. The hotel itself is clean and friendly. The rooms spacious and light. Giveit a go!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Al52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews