We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alimara Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #286 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is not in the city center but the metro is just around the corner (Line 3, green) and you can be there in 20 minutes. Nice and clean room and bathroom, very comfortable big bed, big wardrobe, well working tv and wifi, very friendly staff. Good breakfast buffet, no so good choice at the restaurant, at least according to my taste, and no room service. They have an external provider that you have to pay separately, but you can order through the reception (which is recommendable if you do not speak Spanish or Catalan). The building is modern. Some rooms might be noisy due to the B-20 motorway. Due to the intense working days I had, this hotel was perfect to relax and rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunflower20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    399
    135
    35
    32
See reviews for
157
346
23
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

the room was okay with complete amenities. but this is only for business traveler, not for young people who may prefer to stay closer to town. there was nothing interesting places nearby, but you can walk to metro station to get to city center. breakfast is more or less similar everyday. they should change the menu and provide more varieties.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crocodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The hotel is a little bit away from the center of Barcelona but its only 2 minutes away from a metro station so that makes things very easy.It is very near a high way but the windows are soundproof and it was not a matter for us. The reception staff could have been more kind and maybe could smile to guests a little bit more...they checked in us quicly but in a wrong type of room than the one we have requested, after we got in the room we realized the mistake and we informed them immediatly but they told us we need to wait until the next morning in order to change room as they are waiting an arrival of a group...the time was only 12.00pm (general in the hotels the official check in time is 2.00pm...) and the male receptionist refuse to help us. The room was very vlean and very spacious. The breakfast is served at the ground floor in a clean and cozy restaurant with a very kind staff, the variety of the breakfast was good. I would have rate the hotel with 4/5 but unfortunatelly I cant as in a so modern and good hotel they were not able to offer us internet connection... The wifi is "available" and free only at the lobby area (not even at the breakfast room), in a stay of 5 nights we did not manage to get on line not even once.. I am sorry alimara hotel but you MUST improve your internet conection and offer it for free every where in your hotel as you are a 4 star property and not a hostel. Do not even thing it is a cheap hotel. Overall they did not manage to reach our expectations 100% but it was a nice experience and Barcelona is an adorable city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is really nice,staff very friendly, up to standard cleanliness,breakfast was super good :)

Hmmm Where is the toilet brush ???

That's really unprofessional guys !

Now the hotel is supposed to hv a gym ? A 4 star hotel with a home gym ?? No way
You need to invest in a gym guys..but over all you are just great

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank militarypolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at the Alimara hotel for two weeks during a business trip. The hotel is located in the outskirts of Barcelona, far from the city center. It is however conveniently located close to a Metro station. The positive things about the hotel are that it is close to the Metro, there are a supermarket almost right next door, it is fairly clean and comfortable, and that the breakfast is quite good. There are also a small gym at the hotel, although I never used it.

The downside with Alimara is that it is far from the city center (20 minutes by Metro to Placa de Cataluniya, 30 minutes to Placa Espanya) and there are no restaurants nearby. A main flaw with the hotel is the extremely slow Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi should also be free in my opinion, but they charge 7 Euro a day for this sub-standard Wi-Fi. Also, the sound insulation in my room was terrible, and as the ring road is passing the hotel the sound from the traffic was very load in my room. The thermostats does not work either, so the room was most often too cold for me. The coffee at the hotel was also quite bad.

The Alimara should be a three-star hotel according to my opinion, and not a four-star as they claim to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suntrip62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel is very nice, modern, and clean. The location is a little bit outside of the city centre so a car or taxi is needed to get around or you can take the metro.

The wifi internet is terribly slow, even the expensive paid option which was even too slow to check emails. Definitely not worth spending money on that!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a comfortable, clean and well located hotel with easy access to the city centre by metro. The staff were all charming and helpful, the rooms well appointed with comfortable beds and good bathrooms and, although breakfast was not to my personal taste, I have no complaints about the food.
BUT paying for wifi is just so unnecessary these days that one comes away feeling totally ripped off, not least the charges were very expensive and the wifi service incredibly slow compared to most hotels even in developing countries. That is the one major shortcoming of this place and I hope the management of a hotel attached to the university of tourism might recognise that and put it right soon. as I would like to return there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorset-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
1.8 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#223 of 513 in Barcelona
1,129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laumon
Hotel Laumon
#289 of 513 in Barcelona
464 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bonanova Park
Bonanova Park
#371 of 513 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#184 of 513 in Barcelona
564 reviews
2.0 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Marsol
Apartamentos Turisticos Marsol
#393 of 513 in Barcelona
27 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tres Torres Atiram Hotel
Tres Torres Atiram Hotel
#345 of 513 in Barcelona
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alimara Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alimara Barcelona Hotel

Property: Alimara Barcelona Hotel
Address: C/ Berruguete 126, 08035 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#177 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#189 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alimara Barcelona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Alimara Barcelona is a four stars hotel that merges perfectly modernity and experience to provide maximum comfort and a contemporary urban hotel style to our guest.Totally renovated at the end of 2010 offers 154 bedrooms all of them with outside views and fully equipped including 119 standard, 20 superiors and 15 junior suites/family rooms that can accommodate a family or a friendly group from 3 to 6 people, in a unique space but with two differentiated atmospheres.A very fine cuisine is served in any of their restaurants. La RONDA is the best place to begin your day with a delicious breakfast buffet. At the new SUMMUM Restaurant you can enjoy a Mediterranean flavoured menu, from Monday to Sunday, night and day. The SUMMUM Bar & Terrace is the perfect spot to have cocktails and bites.When finishing the day, the terrace of the garden and the fitness room become the best place to relax with environmental music.Our dedication and flexibility will suit your needs.For leisure and business, the Alimara Hotel is the best place to enjoy Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alimara Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimara Hotel Barcelona
Alimara Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing