We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alimara Barcelona Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$149
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
$195
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$240
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveler rating
204
419
148
42
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
419
148
42
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmundet metro stationgreen linenice hotelroad noisecoffee and croissantrooms are bigmini barpleasant staycatalunya squarefamily roomlas ramblassupermarketeuroscitytaxiinternetwallpaper
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 849 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Horrible and bitter experience in Barcelona! Booked me for an extra night and refuse to refund even after confirming that they would do so. The breakfast was like dirt served in a tin can! The room smelled like someone pooped on the walls then sprinkled pubic hairs all over. The AC did not work properly. The heat stayed on all night even after turning off the thermostat. I didn't sleep a wink and even went as far to pull the dad gum thermostat off the wall. The heat still stayed on full blast. The hotel is haunted. I explained the situation to the front desk and they looked at me like I was a complete moron and then proceeded to explain that it was not possible because "none of our rooms have working air conditioning". The fire alarms started going off early in the morning for no reason. I couldn't believe their service at this point. Never ever stay here!

Room Tip: book somewhere else. Sleeping in a dumpster is better than here.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

if you want a four star hotel in Barcelona that does not cost the earth, go to the Alimara. it is very far from the city centre but well connected by underground; and it is near (walking distance, 7 minutes) the main University Hospital. So, if you are a doctor of a relative of a patient, it seems perfect.

Room Tip: the view towards the sea is poos. Better the hill view, towards the ring road
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Alimara Hotel before a cruise and found it to be very comfortable and convenient to the main touristic areas using the nearby subway which is the main line into Barca. The room was quite large and modern. The bathroom was very clean and large as well. I recommend it if you are not spooked by using public transportation. The hotel is a great value and probably less that half of what you'd pay anywhere near the Ramblas or port.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravlinfoolSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We spent 3 nights here because we had a rental car during our two-week trip to Spain and didn't want to be in the center of the city. So glad we did! The hotel is around the corner from the Metro and we easily took it into the city. As a bonus, the surrounding area is residential and we were able to park across the street from the hotel for free, saving the 15 euro per night hotel fee. The hotel is staffed by students from the hospitality college next door and they couldn't have been more eager or more helpful. We were in room 825 and had corner windows that could open for fresh air. The bathroom and bedroom were both huge and spotless. The room had a fridge and a very comfortable bed plus lots of outlets for charging up our cameras and phone. It was a very quiet neighborhood yet near a major highway that got us to the airport easily. Our rate included a buffet breakfast that was quite adequate - lots of breads, rolls, cold cuts, cheeses, juices and eggs, pancakes and waffles as well as Tortilla Espanola. Unfortunately, Wifi was only available in the public areas.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank drswaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina S, Director of Sales at Alimara Barcelona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011
Google Translation

Apreciado Dr. Swaim,

Muchas gracias por los comentarios que ha escrito del Hotel Alimara Barcelona.
Nos gusta saber que su estancia con nosotros fue agradable y que lo comparta con el resto de viajeros.
Como usted bien comenta el hotel se encuentra situado en una zona tranquila y a pocos minutos del centro de la ciudad en metro, que está al lado del hotel. La parada es MUNDET y la linea la L3-Verde que es la que cruza toda Barcelona sin tener que hacer transbordo.

Nos satisface saber que se sintió bien atendido tanto por el personal del hotel como por los estudiantes que durante las fechas de su estancia realizaban sus prácticas con nosotros.

Tenemos muy en cuenta el comentario que usted hace del WiFi en las habitaciones. Aunque el coste no es muy elevado, entre los 2 euros mínimo a un máximo de 6 euros por el servicio de 24 horas, quiero comunicarle que estamos trabajando para que no sólo sea gratuito en las zonas nobles, salones, jardín, terraza, bar y restaurantes del hotel.

Agradecemos también su opinión de nuestro bufé, sabemos que un buen desayuno es la mejor manera de empezar el día y nos esmeramos para que así sea para nuestros clientes.

En su próximo viaje a la ciudad, deseamos que vuelva a alojarse con nosotros y le recordamos que puede encontrar promociones especiales en www.alimarahotel.com durante todo el año.

Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!

Cristina Santolaya
Directora Comercial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This a pretty new and clean hotel. It's located near the Mundet station (Green Line 3), just a 200m walk to the metro station.

What I liked:
(1) It has a Consum supermaket just 100m walk from the entrance. Just turn left out of the hotel, walk about 70m, then turn left into a plaza, and look for the ramp down to the basement, where the consum supermarket is. Also, if you are unwell, there is a Pharmacy just down the same direction.

(2) Internet is free in the LOBBY only. So just go down, get a temporary ID and password to access the Internet. Reception is usually helpful.

(3) Shower facilities are good and spacious. Nice solid-top in the toilet for putting all that cosmetics and stuff. =D

(4) Room is pretty spacious and is good for 2 or 3 persons. Mine had 2.

What I don't like:
(1) It does not even have coffee making facilities such as a boiler! I had brought some travel beverages, and the only way to get hot water was to go down to the bar to request for it. Too much trouble for this.

(2) WiFi is not free in the room. If you wish, you can pay 6 euros for a 24hr time-based account. This means you have only 24 consecutive hours to use, no breaks are allowed in between. Other options are 4 euros for 4 hours, 2 euros for 30 minutes or something like that. Work that out yourself.

(3) Relatively expensive for location. Mundet is not exactly near to most things you will want to visit while you are in Barcelona, so be prepared to travel at least about 20minutes to Catalunya station for metro transfers and key sights.

(4) Other than the supermarket and the pharmacy, there is no other places around here except for 1 cafe above the supermarket and 1 inside the supermarket. So it's kind of boring here.

(5) The safe provided did not work. I followed the instructions, but it returned me a error code. Did not bother to call reception after trying a few times. I am a frequent user of in-room safes, so it's not a user competency problem :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ogenkidesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews