We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eager service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alimara Barcelona Hotel
Ranked #240 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Eager service with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We spent 3 nights here because we had a rental car during our two-week trip to Spain and didn't want to be in the center of the city. So glad we did! The hotel is around the corner from the Metro and we easily took it into the city. As a bonus, the surrounding area is residential and we were able to park across the street from the hotel for free, saving the 15 euro per night hotel fee. The hotel is staffed by students from the hospitality college next door and they couldn't have been more eager or more helpful. We were in room 825 and had corner windows that could open for fresh air. The bathroom and bedroom were both huge and spotless. The room had a fridge and a very comfortable bed plus lots of outlets for charging up our cameras and phone. It was a very quiet neighborhood yet near a major highway that got us to the airport easily. Our rate included a buffet breakfast that was quite adequate - lots of breads, rolls, cold cuts, cheeses, juices and eggs, pancakes and waffles as well as Tortilla Espanola. Unfortunately, Wifi was only available in the public areas.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drswaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina S, Director of Sales at Alimara Barcelona Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Google Translation
Apreciado Dr. Swaim,

Muchas gracias por los comentarios que ha escrito del Hotel Alimara Barcelona.
Nos gusta saber que su estancia con nosotros fue agradable y que lo comparta con el resto de viajeros.
Como usted bien comenta el hotel se encuentra situado en una zona tranquila y a pocos minutos del centro de la ciudad en metro, que está al lado del hotel. La parada es MUNDET y la linea la L3-Verde que es la que cruza toda Barcelona sin tener que hacer transbordo.

Nos satisface saber que se sintió bien atendido tanto por el personal del hotel como por los estudiantes que durante las fechas de su estancia realizaban sus prácticas con nosotros.

Tenemos muy en cuenta el comentario que usted hace del WiFi en las habitaciones. Aunque el coste no es muy elevado, entre los 2 euros mínimo a un máximo de 6 euros por el servicio de 24 horas, quiero comunicarle que estamos trabajando para que no sólo sea gratuito en las zonas nobles, salones, jardín, terraza, bar y restaurantes del hotel.

Agradecemos también su opinión de nuestro bufé, sabemos que un buen desayuno es la mejor manera de empezar el día y nos esmeramos para que así sea para nuestros clientes.

En su próximo viaje a la ciudad, deseamos que vuelva a alojarse con nosotros y le recordamos que puede encontrar promociones especiales en www.alimarahotel.com durante todo el año.

Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!

Cristina Santolaya
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    385
    125
    34
    26
See reviews for
144
336
22
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

This a pretty new and clean hotel. It's located near the Mundet station (Green Line 3), just a 200m walk to the metro station.

What I liked:
(1) It has a Consum supermaket just 100m walk from the entrance. Just turn left out of the hotel, walk about 70m, then turn left into a plaza, and look for the ramp down to the basement, where the consum supermarket is. Also, if you are unwell, there is a Pharmacy just down the same direction.

(2) Internet is free in the LOBBY only. So just go down, get a temporary ID and password to access the Internet. Reception is usually helpful.

(3) Shower facilities are good and spacious. Nice solid-top in the toilet for putting all that cosmetics and stuff. =D

(4) Room is pretty spacious and is good for 2 or 3 persons. Mine had 2.

What I don't like:
(1) It does not even have coffee making facilities such as a boiler! I had brought some travel beverages, and the only way to get hot water was to go down to the bar to request for it. Too much trouble for this.

(2) WiFi is not free in the room. If you wish, you can pay 6 euros for a 24hr time-based account. This means you have only 24 consecutive hours to use, no breaks are allowed in between. Other options are 4 euros for 4 hours, 2 euros for 30 minutes or something like that. Work that out yourself.

(3) Relatively expensive for location. Mundet is not exactly near to most things you will want to visit while you are in Barcelona, so be prepared to travel at least about 20minutes to Catalunya station for metro transfers and key sights.

(4) Other than the supermarket and the pharmacy, there is no other places around here except for 1 cafe above the supermarket and 1 inside the supermarket. So it's kind of boring here.

(5) The safe provided did not work. I followed the instructions, but it returned me a error code. Did not bother to call reception after trying a few times. I am a frequent user of in-room safes, so it's not a user competency problem :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ogenkidesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

If you looking for good price and want to get good quality at the same time - this is the perfect solution. Yes, it's located not in the city center, but next door to the station of metro and only 15 minutes from the city center.

Rooms nice and modern, clean and comfortable.

Hotel located 35 Eur by taxi from Barcelona International Airport (BCN).

Breakfast if perfect with good quality of food and good selection of food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

In all above comments I will add the "insufficient" Internet service that this hotel offer..(slow baud speed and often out of work)..
The coffee in breakfast was awful and the hole breakfast table was "poor"..
Also the magnetic card for door opening were usually not fuctional and I had to return to reception for change it...
The only positive thing was the gently and very helpful persons in reception

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank v-integrale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We are a party of 2 adults and a 3 year old child staying for 3 nights, and rented a deluxe room with space for an extra bed. We were assigned room 503, and had an amazingly spacious room with a surprise: a large balcony with an excellent view of the surrounding hills, including Tibidabo. The hotel was new and had a modern design, which we enjoyed, although there were a few kinks which the hotel still needs to work out.

The hotel was away from down town Barcelona, but the Metro was clean, quick, and efficient so we did not mind the travel, especially with a 3 day travel card. The hotel was an easy 2 block walk from the closest Metro stop (Mundet).

Our room had two twin beds put together for a large bed, with a rollaway bed for our son. We also had a chair and foot stool, desk, flat screen TV, and built in closets / shelving with a redridgerator unit. Our room also had small safe. The hotel had free wireless internet service in the lobby, although it was painfully slow. In the rooms, we had to buy internet service (from the desk, via a pre-paid card system). This fee-based wireless internet was much faster, and reasonably affordable EUR 6.00 per 24 hours. Despite being near a highway, the room was rather quiet and we had a peaceful night’s sleep. We used the air conditioning unit, but if we had chosen to leave the windows open, we would certainly have had traffic noise.

The bathroom was spacious and new, with ample toiletries provided (even a bath sponge!). We had a large sink with plenty of countertop space, a walk-in shower with a glass side, and a separate room for the toilet with a bidet. Our only complaint about the bathroom was that the water ran out of the shower and flooded into the toilet area, despite our best efforts to manage the direction and speed of the shower.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant twice, once after our late arrival, and once again when we realized that a nearby restaurant was closed. The food was good quality, although not as interesting in selection as what we found in the center of Barcelona.

Our rate also came with breakfast, which was adequate although uninspired compared to other hotels we have stayed at recently. The buffet-style arrangement included eggs, cereal, yogurt, cheese, ham (which was excellent), bread, and fresh fruit. The coffee machine was self service, and frequently ran out of milk. On the positive side, the breakfast room was not overcrowded and we had no issue finding a table each day.

The front desk staff was friendly, although not always knowledgeable. At one point, they sent us to a nearby restaurant for dinner which turned out to be closed. And they told us that it would take no more than 40 minutes to reach the airport by train, although it took us nearly double that on our arrival (and we could not figure out a faster way).

Upon checkout, we took a taxi from the hotel to the airport. Despite leaving during the evening rush hour, it took us less than 30 minutes to get to the airport.

If we saw an excellent value price for this hotel, we would consider staying again. For an expensive rate, it may be more convenient to stay downtown, especially if you are visiting for just the weekend or looking to go out late at night.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade for a more spacious room and walk in showers. The basic rooms had shower/tub com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel.
The hotelroom was very clean, very nice beds and pillows, the curtains were black and did not let any sunshine come through, so you could sleep as long as you want. There was absolutely no noise from neighbours or the street, it was very quiet, very important for a good night rest. The bathroom very big and clean.
The location was for us very good, we wouldn't sleep in a hotel near the ramblas because of the noise 24h a day. It was a 2 minute walk to the Metro (Mundet) and ik 10 minutes you reach station Catalunya, begin of the Ramblas. The Neighbourhood was very quiet and safe.
We would recommend this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaDimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Unless you are desperate I do not recommend this so called hotel, it is not. I would not have booked this hotel if it was not recommended by our conference organizer. They falsely advertised traveling distance between the hotel and the Palau de Congressos de Catalunya was only 10 minutes by car but in fact it took a minimum of 30 minutes each way. Unfortunately, I was not able to cancel my room as it was fully prepaid.

The hotel room decor is cold and bare with a black & white color scheme. Their synthetic pillows are extremely uncomfortable. There was no coffee maker or kettle in the room but there is a minibar. You can also buy snacks or drinks from a machine. Their bath amenities are the worse I have ever seen. I was glad that I brought my own. There was not a box of tissue in the room, instead they provide a small package of tissue (wiered). If you have any North American electronics with you, be sure to bring the adaptor for Europe as the hotel front desk does not have any available for guests.

There was nothing around the hotel as it is in a residential area, next to the hospitality school (CETT). Metro is behind the hotel, only 5-10 minutes of walking. Travel by Metro to centre of town is approximately 15 minutes. There are plenty of taxis around and you can be in the centre of town within 10-15 minutes and your ride would cost about 15-18 Euros.

I would definitely stay in the centre of town near La Ramblas or Barri Gotic area so that you are close to shops, sights and restaurants. You will save yourself a lot of time, not having to travel back and forth.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teri604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
2.7 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#192 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aparthotel Bertran
Aparthotel Bertran
#274 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aparthotel Atenea
Aparthotel Atenea
#234 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
SmartRoom Barcelona
SmartRoom Barcelona
#98 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Laumon
Hotel Laumon
#250 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#230 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alimara Barcelona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alimara Barcelona Hotel

Property: Alimara Barcelona Hotel
Address: C/ Berruguete 126, 08035 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#177 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#189 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alimara Barcelona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Alimara Barcelona is a four stars hotel that merges perfectly modernity and experience to provide maximum comfort and a contemporary urban hotel style to our guest.Totally renovated at the end of 2010 offers 154 bedrooms all of them with outside views and fully equipped including 119 standard, 20 superiors and 15 junior suites/family rooms that can accommodate a family or a friendly group from 3 to 6 people, in a unique space but with two differentiated atmospheres.A very fine cuisine is served in any of their restaurants. La RONDA is the best place to begin your day with a delicious breakfast buffet. At the new SUMMUM Restaurant you can enjoy a Mediterranean flavoured menu, from Monday to Sunday, night and day. The SUMMUM Bar & Terrace is the perfect spot to have cocktails and bites.When finishing the day, the terrace of the garden and the fitness room become the best place to relax with environmental music.Our dedication and flexibility will suit your needs.For leisure and business, the Alimara Hotel is the best place to enjoy Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alimara Barcelona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alimara Hotel Barcelona
Alimara Barcelona Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing