We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Euro Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #391 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was a great base for our stay in Barcelona. Rooms were clean and breakfast was great, plenty of choice. There was no kettle in the room but we took our own. A quiet area but only 15 minutes on bus 41 which stops outside the pharmacy gets you into the very middle of the city. The beach is just across the road and there is a path along the front that takes you to the port approx 45 minutes slow walking. We had a great time in Barcelona and would definately recommend it. The model village was fantastic and the Sagrada Famillia out of this world. On out last night we went to the magic fountain to see the lights which was amazing...the water lit up to Freddy Mercury singing Barcelona. What a way to end a brilliant five days. Don' t be put off by other reviews this is a great base to explore the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 603 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here on a groupon deal, was good value for money as didn't pay much - deal included football tickets to Barcelona - great game! Upgraded room to junior suite and on first arriving it looked lovely, however, reception greeting was OK but not overly friendly, pictures all over hotel are just weird - I know that's a personal opinion but we thought they were ugly and a little spooky! The room was not as clean as we would have liked but the main problem was we were cold at night. The first night we put up with it as we had been out and came in late but the second night we asked for blankets and they couldn't find any, instead we were given a thin cotton bedspread and were still cold. Breakfast was OK but we were glad we stayed here on a inclusive deal. It was a long way from town centre too but we knew that and I imagine it would be lovely as so close to beach in the summer. The chairs in the bar were uncomfortable and the tables at breakfast had a glass top which became a dirt trap! Overall this seems to be about a good first impression but no substance. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suki101England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here 28 January to 1 February 2013 on a City Break. This is definately not a four star hotel more like two star+. Although the location suited being near the beach there were no other amenities near by eg. nice restaurants and only one bus (No 41) passed by door but did not go near marina or beach front. Room overlooked working building site. Room was very 'worn' and dated as was the rug on the floor and furniture! Twin beds did not match. No tea/coffee making facilities. Fridge did not work. Bar and coffee area were disappointing as was the breakfasts - hot food was mass produced from tins and scrambled egg was inediable. Yoghurt only had two days left before out of date. Did not risk eating dinner in hotel. Don't think staying in superior room would have made any difference. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel in Barcelona. This is not four star compared with Lisbon, Krackow, Prague et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The 2 nights stay either side of our cruise from Barcelona were include in our package, but we felt it suited us so well that we are going back there to see BARCELONA in more detail as we loved what we saw and did in that short time.
Our second choice would be to stay in a hotel on the ramblas if the price was right.
We caught bus 41 for 2 euros into town and we also walked along the sea front all the way to The Ramblas ( where all the life is ). Bit of a treck but if you are fit try it..
Hotel reception was very helpful and we were happy to use the free wi fi in the comfy lobby.
Breakfast and dinner is very average and a bit cold , like the dining room.
We had coffee facility in our sea front room upgrade but not in the first standard room.
The area is safe with a pharmacy round the corner. There may be a better breakfast locally, but I dont know.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

On my trip through Spain this year, this was my 7th hotel. So far the hotels were very good. This hotel was the worst. It is located 15 min walk from the closest Metro station and 20 min walk from a shopping mall with restaurants. The looks of the hotel were good and is close to the beach. That's it. The wi-fi is only free in the lobby. In the rooms there is an additional charge. The bed was horrible. It was better to sleep in the floor. The shower was very uncomfortable. There was a 40 euro per day upgrade if you wanted a better room, which I found offensive and ridiculouse. DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank HMVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javiergrao, Guest Relations Manager at Euro Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the convenient location of our hotel.
Regarding wifi service, it will be free of charge from 1st February. We regret not having covered deeply your expectations. Upgrading to a Junior Suite have a cost, as is usual in many hotels.
We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.
We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.
Best Regards
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Although this hotel looks quite smart, there are in my opinion several drawbacks. There are no tea/coffee making facilities, even though it is advertised. This is only if you take a Junior suite! There is no Wi Fi in the rooms. The pillow is a bolster and not very comfortable. The standard room is a little dated. The breakfast is ok. The hotel is not in a very good location and the taxi fare to the shopping area/ Ramblas is about 20 euros return. This is more a 3 star hotel than a 4 star one.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GOLFFLUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javiergrao, Guest Relations Manager at Euro Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for saying with us and provinding us with your valuable feedback. We regret not having covered deeply your expectations. Providing tea/coffee making facilities in all our rooms is a matter that is being studying. At the moment only Junior Suites have it, as it is announced in our website.
It is our commitment to meet our guest expectations and we appreciate very much your comments for actions to be taken in the future.
Best regards.
Javier Grao
Guest Relations
Rafaelhoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Two nights in a superior suite room, one night in a standard room - there is a vast difference between the two rooms which is probably reflected in the mixed Trip Advisor reports. We loved the Superior room which had everything we wanted. What you get with both rooms however is great service and help from the reception staff - Thank you to Anna in particular, you are the reason we booked the extra night!
This Hotel is only a short Metro ride from the old Gothic quater (20mins) and is in a safe family area to wander around late at night, in the summer it would be even better as the beach is close and the Tourist Bus will stop nearby. In winter it feels a little out of the way but is a nice quiet location.
We were there on a FC Barcelona package and went to Camp Nou three times during our stay, this takes 45 mins from the hotel, we went twice using the tourist bus to drop us directly at the door and used the metro for the match.
The breakfast was decidedly average - save yourself some money as there are amazing pastries to be had down the street!

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the building site ( in front of reception) the wind rattles the windows if ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#243 of 517 in Barcelona
607 reviews
Hotel Front Maritim
#324 of 517 in Barcelona
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Gava Mar
#230 of 517 in Barcelona
425 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#239 of 517 in Barcelona
1,333 reviews
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#231 of 517 in Barcelona
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hotel Barcelona

Address: Carrer de Lope de Vega, 4, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#214 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $58 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Euro Hotel Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The EuroHotel Diagonal Port is in the Poble Nou district of Barcelona, 50 meters from the beach of Mar Bella. It overlooks the Mediterranean Sea. EuroHotel Diagonal Port rooms are spacious and comfortable, current design, air conditioning, satellite TV, fridge and Internet access. In our Restaurant Alacena you will enjoy the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine and also you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet. Do not forget to ask for our Terrace where you will enjoy our drinks menu. EuroHotel Diagonal Port is located in the financial and business area of 22 just 10 minutes from Barcelona Convention Center and shopping areas. EuroHotel Diagonal Port is connected to the rest of the city by subway and bus just 5 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Euro Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafaelhoteles Diagonal Port Barcelona
Rafaelhoteles Diagonal Port Hotel Barcelona
Euro Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing