We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget option for Barcelona”
Review of Hostal Q

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Q
Ranked #68 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2013

PROS: great value for money, friendly staff and excellent location. the rooms are spacious for being a guest house. everything is modern and clean. free wi-fi. friendly staff and location is right by the metro and walking distance to many attractions. most recommended! they also have vending machines with drinks, snacks and toiletries.

CONS: the bathrooms in some room are planned out strangely: in some cases the sink is in the main room. and the showers are semi transparent. not really a problem though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gianpippero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 388 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money. Just above urquinaona metro station - you can slightly hear and feel the trains running. Clean room, kinky shower and aircon. Close to everything and easy to access when arriving with bus from Girona. Close to plaza catalunya when arriving from other airport. Cannot recall better option in barcelona if location and budget is important !

Thank Morefews
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Booked here a room for one night, since the other hotel we stayed at was full for the last night.
The location is good, staff was nice, and there is a nice common area, but that's about it...
First, we got a room without a window. we asked to change and we were told that even if we would get a room with a window, it won't be possible to open it since it's an old building... we changed anyway. we got a better room, but still - maintenance of the rooms is poor, the blankets were so thin we were very cold at night (December), and there isn't a full seperation between the shower and the room. Bad value for money, I wouldn't recommend or return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at end of May 2012. Lovely hotel in a great location.I definitely think this is the best one. They have very clean room and friendly service.I strongly reccomend you this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The Hostal is 10 min walk from Las Ramblas, is very central and clean. The staff is nice and helpful. If you choose a room with inside window, be aware that the window doesn´t open, so you´ll have to use the air-conditioner and turn on the lights (as there is a lack of natural light). I would prefer a room with outside windows (though it is noisier). Internet, 1 bottle of water a day and tea/capuccino for free!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perspective B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I can definetly recommend this hostel to you. Even though it is a hostel, it has hotel - like qualities. Nice double rooms with a shower and a toilet, daily cleaning, towels and bed linens, good air conditioning. They even provided extra pillows and blankets when we asked for them.

In the morning they put up juices, instant coffe and biscuits for free, even though the rooms are advertised as without breakfast on expedia.

The location is excellent, 10 minutes walking distance to the centre, beach can also be reached by walk but we used the subway - 10€ for 10 rides.

The rooms are not all the same - we got a peek into some of them. Our room for instance didn't have any window. It was really difficult to get up in the morning. Also it was not in reach of the wifi, we had to go to the lounge to get it. But it was slightly bigger. So specify what kind of room you want, what are your priorities - space, light, wifi, when you book it. Also, the walls are quite thin, so beware, light sleepers.

The staff were nice, especially Ana who showed us how to get around on the map when we checked in and offered to buy stamps and send our postcards when we checked out. Although not all of them speak good english, it was not a problem for me, because I speak spanish but for some people...

Overall impression very good quality/price ratio.

Room Tip: specify what you want - window, wifi, end of corridor for a quieter room or a slightly bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petrcipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent 8 nights in this hotel and I loved this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is just perfect, right in the center of Barcelona, right by the metro station and a 5-minute walk from Placa Catalunya, from where you can get anywhere you want in Barcelona. The hotel is stylish and the rooms well-designed, which we loved. And the corner with pastry, coffee, tea and the computers with Internet access which you can use whenever you want - all of that was particularly useful. What might be viewed as a drawback for some people is the price, but I think this is generally the problem in Barcelona that accommodation is expensive and Hostal Q was cheaper than most other hotels we encountered while searching for a hotel. The showers might also be problematic for some people as they are inside the room, there is no separate bathroom - what divides the shower from the rest of the room is a glass and a curtain. We found it perfectly ok, but some travellers might find it disturbing. Before going there I read opinions that the noise is terrible, but for us it wasn't such a big problem. Of course, the hotel is located in busy surroundings, so you can't expect peace and quiet. However, we slept perfectly there. In general, I do recommend the hotel and despite certain drawbacks, I think this is a fantastic place for holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke_Viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Urquinaona
Hotel Urquinaona
#464 of 516 in Barcelona
390 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 516 in Barcelona
2,312 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#335 of 516 in Barcelona
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 516 in Barcelona
2,143 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#22 of 308 in Barcelona
678 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Mare Nostrum
Hostal Mare Nostrum
#21 of 308 in Barcelona
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Q

Address: Ronda Sant Pere, 22, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $52 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Q 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel Q has 21 double rooms, functional and comfortable. All rooms have private bathroom, LCD TV, air conditioning and heating. Most of them face to the street plenty of natural light. There are rooms with queen size bed and others with two beds. Remember selecting the appropiate option when you book your room. The rooms are fully equiped, all with a full bathroom with a fantastic rain shower. The room has a flat screen TV, and free wifi signal inside the room. The Guest rooms are completely new, we are opening on summer 2011. This new urban design makes the hostal Q a excelent place to enjoy Barcelona, without spending a lot of money. We offer a new and demanded kind of hotel establishment, simplicity, quality, design and especially a good price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Q reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Q Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing