We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garbi Millenni
Ranked #363 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

After reading reviews on this hotel, was concerned about the area it is situated in. It was a 20 minute journey from the airport by cab.Upon arrival, we stayed for 10 nights in it and had only minor complaints. the breakfast buffet was ok, but tiring as there is no fresh fruit and the bacon had been half cooked probably by microwave. The location is a 15 minute walk to Las Ramblas through what is deemed as a rough area, but walked til midnight past some hookers but just ignored them and had no problems.The staff at the hotel spoke english and were very friendly and very helpful. Metro station is 5 minutes away, making this a super location if you're touring.The room we had was very clean and so was the rest of the hotel. The bathroom has a small tub, so no long soaking in it, but the hot tub in the lower level spa made up for that. There was also one on the roof, but we never used it. You do have to reserve it though. The bathroom also has a bidet, lots of hot water too, and the room does have a safe, plus a small fridge. The room had a double bed, but was really two twin beds pushed together. We felt the room size was adequate for our needs. The ac also worked well, in fact had to turn it off as it got too cold at night. There are lots of restaurants within minutes of the hotel, and also a grocery store 5 minutes away for any thing you might need. I have to say I was quite pleased with our stay here, as it was our first time in Europe so didn't know what to expect for accommodations. The hotel also was very quite at night which really pleased me, as I hate being woken up by noise in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank newlyretired10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    134
    81
    44
    21
See reviews for
81
146
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

When you book online, even after checking out environment on Google maps, it's still hard to know what you'll find. This hotel was "ok" - not far from Las Ramblas (walkable), and in a reasonable neighbourhood. We ate at some local restaurants and they were also 'average' - reasonable prices, nice enough food without any trimmings. The hotel had been renovated, so interior on arrival nice and clean. Our room was a disappointment though - small, dark, window opened to a wall, bed not very good (too soft / old)... the bonus was the hot tub on the roof where we could relax in the sunshine after doing our tourist thing during the day.

Room Tip: hard to say - we asked for a better room and was told they're all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hi, I am going to sum up my holiday to this hotel as best and as fair as i can.

Having never really been too keen on European destinations as a main vacation, hubby persuaded me to try Barcelona. Ok so, for price reasons (1) and Location (2) we ended up booking Hotel Millenni, which was rated 4 stars.

Ratings & Rooms

I would definately not class this as a 4 star hotel. More a 2 1/2 stars to be fair. The rooms are horrible in my opinion. We were in room 508 - 5th floor. 2 adults and a 4 yr old. The beds we two singles pushed together and a kiddies fold out bed. All three beds were uncomfortable, only had sheets as covers and the room had an awful view of the other blocks below us. The air conditioning was a nuisance, not sure if it worked properly but at night was always very cold. Pillows were rubbish too....they provided fleecy brown blankets but they had an odour and made me wonder if they ever laundered these...but i used one on top of the sheets to keep me and my son warm during the nights.
The room is so small you cannot swing a cat, it was very basic, little wardrobe and a fridge with a TV on the wall limited channels on offer, but at least my son was entertained with disney channel (channel 20 if asking!)....
The bathroom was small and yukky looking and the shower was so poor it didnt even work properly, the screen kept leaking water all over the floor, in the end i gave up and just let the floor soak, using the daily dirty towels to clean the water up and getting fresh towels each day.
The maids are slow in doing there jobs considering there arent many rooms in hotel, but they do clean satisfactorily. Althought they do need to replenish the soaps etc more often.
If you like a proper cup of tea, take a mini travel kettle with you for your room as nothing is provided in the room, considering its meant to be a 4 star hotel!
Didnt think much of the breakfast either.

Scrambled eggs (tasted bitter - horrible) were left all morning in the metal hot servery)
Smoked bacon looked pale and wet
mini cocktail sausages looked horrid

(i dont recall anyone ever having anything hot from that selection)

4 types of cold meats, 2-3 types cold cheese, sliced fresh tomatoes, potato spanish fritata, kellogs mini cereal selection packs, watered down orange juice, cold steralised full fat milk (was disgusting taste), selection of pre-bought pastries (not fresh), tinned pineapple and peach halves) selection of dried fruit and nuts, shop bought packaged magdelenas (cakes), dry toastie biscuits in packets, selection of wheat or white fresh bread rolls, white bread to toast in the toaster....a nescafe machine with coffees, hot milk, hot choclate and hot water with a selection of fruity teas at the side....if you are a true brit who likes your english cuppa, take your own british tea bags with you like my mum lol!!
For a hotel who claims to be 4*, the breakfast although adequate, was poor quality and the choice wasnt brilliant. I was disappointed with the fact that they have millions of fruit and vegetable shops with tonnes of fresh fruits - why use horrible tinned peaches and pineapples?!!! I would never pay for a breakfast at that hotel, luckily we had it thrown into the price when we booked the break.

Staff

I found the reception staff (whom were all males on each shift) to be very pleasent, helpful and spoke decent English, if you had difficulties with your Spanish lingo. The room maids were adequate. The restaurant lady (i only ever saw one afro woman for my entire duration (6 days) and all she ever asked was for your room numbers when you had breakfast. She was fine.

Location

Unbeknown to me i didnt realise that the hotel was situated in "the ghetto"...If i had checked up on this before we went out, i probably would never have gone to stay out there. I did wonder why it was a little rough looking around the area of El Raval, and back streets, i didnt even realise that it was full of druggies and prostitutes, my parents would often venture out at night to the Sikh Gurdwara on Hospital just off El Raval and i did get worried two nights and went out looking for them to see so many people out, mostly multicultural, but i couldnt figure out who was doing what. There are a lot of eateries around there and i guess many people venture out for this purpose. I did feel unsafe just becuase of how it looked in the evening time (this was before i knew what it really was like) but saying this, i never experienced any problems, but i can imagine all sorts go on out there. My husband swore he clocked drug dealers dishing out deals with the weighing scales in the street, which was probably true. The late afternoon, early evening time, you could smell the cannabis being smoked openly around there.
Although I am telling you what my experiences were and how i felt, i would say that locationwise it is "real" and "lively" with a good mixture of people. I dont think I would experience anything like it if i had stayed out somewhere in the posh ends of Barca. Dont be put of by others comments or experiences, go and try it, but be safe, dont take anything out on you like excesses of money, phones, cards or cameras, leave them in the safe at the hotel. You should be fine.

The Hotel is withing walking distance to the main attractions, we never once used a taxi, metro or the bus and we walked all the way over the the park near to barcelona zoo, we walked all over, La Rambla is great experience, but gets heavily crowded and the port bridge near there is madness, no where to put your feet/walk.

Tips

If you go anywhere in Barca, i would recommend that you leave everything in the safe. DO NOT TAKE MORE THAN 30 Euros per person for the day out (unless you have pre-booked events etc). Keep your money hidden in a little sewn in pocket in your Bra (if you are female) or a little sewn in pocket in your trouser waistband (for males). Dont keep anything in your pockets. Do not take out a bag with you and if you must take one, female, use a cross the body bag with limited pockets. Do not keep much in it.

My mum had her bag taken from her down by he port. Two foreign looking males (neither of the two lads on mountain bikes spoke Spanish or any other recognisable european language) and the one rode past my mum on his bike as we were sat on benches near to Port Vell. He threw a set of keys in her feet. She thought he dropped them. So was trying to get his attention to get him to take them from her.
There was a nother male stood on a bike several yards away looking away. Not thinking anything of it.
The male who dropped the keys, wouldnt come near to where we were all seated, so she thought being polite and well mannered she would go over to him to take his keys to him. She did and he kept us all distracted by trying to talk in some foreign language whilst the other male came a swooped her bag from her.
Luckily the only thing in her bag were prescription glasses £15 english pounds and my dads car key which was the most important thing to us as his car was parked in long stay at manchester airport! She forgot to remove dads keys from her bag and leave them in the safe. Luckily he had a spare set at home which my brother bought to manchester the day we landed back home.
But the police were good in taking a report, but to highlight the reality of how much this happens, an american couple had the exact same thing in the same location and the same time and day happen to them with the same two guys as described! The police station was full of queues of people reporting bag snatches etc. It is a major problem over there.
The american lady was not so fortunate as she had over 15 ATM and Credit cards in her bag along with an iphone, wallet, 200 euros and other things stolen!
So if anyone bumps into you, or tries to talk to you in some language you do not understand, or drops something by you, please ignore it all, as chances are its a ploy to rob you.
Luckily for us, it happened the day before we travelled back to the UK and we were lucky it wasnt any worse.
The other thing i will say is, use the Supermercats (Supermarkets) that are dotted everyfew yards for drinks. They are dirt cheap. Bottles of water and pop costing as little as 35p. Alcohol is cheaper too as opposed to the inflated costs around the Bars on La Rambla, some side streets offer good value for drinks if you are bothered about drinking alcohol. Personally i wasnt too keen after my experience of having a meal at a place on La Rambla and paying £12 pounds for 2 pints of san miguel beer. It was daylight robbery especially as the supermarkets sold the cans at 50 cents each!!!
My main advice is, dont carry anything out. Pre-book tours at your hotel where you can also pay for them.
We did the Red City Sightseeing Tour Bus at a cost of 26 euros per adult, that red bus has two routes - green and orange and will take you to see all around the main attractions. You just hop on and off along the route you take first.
The blue turistic bus is similar but has other coloured routes following same attractions. I think the difference between the two was that one was a company (the red bus) and the other wasnt a company (the blue/red bus).
These are well worth the money, start early as possible to allow the whole day to visit everything. Be warned though, if you want to go into Segrada Familiar, the queues are horrendous, i wouldnt bother. I wasnt too impressed with its location and the fact that the pictures dont look much like what it does in reality, it was full of scaffolding as its still being worked on and wont be completed for several years yet. Outside didnt make me feel in awe.

Best Food Place in my opinion

Wok Dao - near to Hotel Millenni, towards the right, past the market block...amazing buffet food, japanese, sushi, chinese and spanish and all fresh...OMG was fab.....in box me if anyone wants to ask me any questions on pchhachhia @ hot mail . com

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pchhachhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is clean, but basic.

Bathroom had the tiniest bath which was a shame.

Friendly, helpful staff.

Central location which is ok as long as you don't mind walking through the red light district to get to La Rambla.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverleyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice hotel with a good location. Ca 15 min walk to the harbour and some nice restaurants close by.
The suite was pretty small but clean and cosy. Affordable prices in minibar.
Good breakfeast, a bit pricy though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appelsved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We loved the location of the hotel.The reception was efficient and helpful.We stayed in two different rooms,one small and at the front of the hotel and one larger overlooking a pretty tree on a side street. Both were clean and we were happy with both. They warn you about pick pockets and we were careful around the hotel and then were pick pocketed outside la familia. We walked around at night and enjoyed eating at Augustus across the road. We used public transport at first but found taxis to be cheap. Just walk down to Parrallel and you will find one waiting

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have just retirned from an enjoyable break staying at The Htel Mllenni. Overall it is a pleasant Hotel ,our room was spacious and we had a lovley bathroom. Initially we had a problem with a bad drain in our room,, this was recified with a new room with no problem, the new room was fine. At times there was a drain smell outside in the street which may have been some of the problem. Our room was very clean.
We had a very good continetal breakfast which included various cold meats and cheeses, cearels and a veriaty of breads and pastries, the only surprise was the fruit was tinned which as there was loads of lovley frest fruit in the shops near by seemed a shame.There was also a cooked option of scambled egg, sausage and bacon.
The Hotel was well appointed for access to the metro which was oonly round the corned, no distance at all..
Travel on the Metro was easy and cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn8121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#319 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Auto Hogar
Hotel Auto Hogar
#281 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#460 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#322 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#347 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
El Raval
Acta Mimic Hotel
Acta Mimic Hotel
#213 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi Millenni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi Millenni

Property: Hotel Garbi Millenni
Address: Ronda Sant Pau 14, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Acta Millenni)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garbi Millenni 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garbi Millenni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garbi Millenni Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing