We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Acta Splendid
Ranked #260 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I first stayed here in 2008 and was very impressed. As my wife wanted to go to Barcelona for our 1st wedding anniversary I booked in here. She was just as impressed as I had been. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. The buffet breakfast was superb such an excellent choice of cold meats, cheeses fresh fruit and pastries.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both the front and rear of this hotel and both rooms are good so in my mind it does...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear guest:

We are glad to hear you enjoyed time with us. Also, we’d like to thank you for taking a few minutes to write comments about our rooms in general, our breakfast and your impression of our hotel and share your experience with other fellow travelers

King Regards
Hotel Acta Splendid, Barcelona
Splendid@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Acta Splendid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 747 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just got back from my stay at the splendid hotel and everything was good apart from the staff and the fact the walls were really thin and could hear alot. The location was very good but the attitudes from the staff at reception was very poor, apart from that had a good time

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brado88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments, your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day. We’re going to talk with the differents departments to know what’s happened, because we always try to offer the best service to our customers.

Best Regards
Hotel Acta Splendid
splendid@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed their from December 12 then returned to the hotel on 21/12/11 to 22/12/11. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were also a good size, the location was good and it was good value. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear guest:

We are glad you came back to our Hotel Acta splendid, We really appreciate your comments about the services, the rooms and the value.
If you find yourself planning your next stay, please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest!.

kind regards
Acta Splendid
Splendid@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and had an amazing time! The hotel was really easy to get to from the airport, only a couple of minutes walk from the bus stop.

The hotel was modern and clean and breakfast provided a wide variety.

The city was very easily accessible from the hotel. There are a number of restaurants in the local area if you don't feel like walking too far. The hotel recommended a tapas place with a discount. The food was brilliant, if a little pricey.

I would definitely stay here again as, apart from a slightly curt receptionist which could just have been down to a bad mood, I couldn't fault the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear guest:


We are really glad you had an amazing time also We appreciate your comments about the location, quality, breakfast, service and the rooms in general. We are surprised about your receptionist mood complaint, we will talk to the responsible person, and your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day. We hope to have you back with us soon.

kind regards
Acta Splendid
Splendid@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel is located in a good but not great location. There are few good restaurants/bars in the immediate vicinity butbthere are many within a 15 - 20 minute walk. La Ramblas is 15 minutes on foot and the main 'Gaudi sights' are also within walking distance. Universitat metro stop is nearby and Airport Bus stops and leaves from Plaza Catalunya which is also close. The hotel rooms are a decent size,quiet but a little dated. Breakfast is OK but nothing special.
The front desk staff are friendly and quite helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms facing away from the street are much quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear guest:


We would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to the city. We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments about the location and the friendly staff; The breakfast is a Varied buffet with hot and cold food, in consideration of a 3 star hotel, your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day. We hope to have you back with us soon.


kind regards
Acta Splendid
Splendid@actahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and had an enjoyable stay. It was very easy to get to from the airport, you take the bus and get off at Plaza Universitat and it's a 2 minute walk away. There is a metro station at Plaza Universitat too and you're also only a 5-10 minute walk from Plaza Catalunya and the top of La Rambla which for us was an ideal location to explore the city from. We were pleasantly surprised, having booked an economy room, that when we opened the door to our room it wasn't a box and actually seemed very spacious. However, I am not sure it was actually an economy room since the hotel website went to such great lengths to explain how much smaller the rooms were...We didn't have a view but weren't really bothered, it's a city afterall. The room had two large single beds, wardrobe, desk, chair and tv and a large bathroom with sink, bath/shower, bidet and toilet. It was all very clean and comfortable and you couldn't fault it. The only annoying thing was the hairdryer where you have to continually hold the button down to make it work but these seem common in hotels in Europe anyway!
We paid slightly extra when we booked to have breakfast as we didn't want to waste part of the morning looking for somewhere to eat. Breakfast had a good variety of cold meat and cheese, pastries and cakes, yogurts and bacon and scrambled eggs as well as tea and coffee and was always being restocked.
We found all the staff in the hotel to be polite and helpful, particularly those at reception, and had an enjoyable stay. This hotel isn't a luxury stay but for a comfortable, clean base in the heart of Barcelona you can't fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beem10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a 3 star hotel. We stayed 4 nights and paid 300Euro !!! per night (yes 1200Euro) breakfast not included and the hotel was not ashamed to ask for the safe key 3Euro more !!! The room is without ventilation and opening the window will bring the kitchen smells from the smokestack to your room. The photos on the website are giving the impression of big hotel but the front desk, entrance and room are very small.
Actually I blame myself and Booking.com about that. I feel like someone robs me. The booking information at Booking.com is very selective and doesn't give you the full picture about the full price and services. This partial information maybe is a good marketing strategy by booking but not a good service to the guest. - the only point that I can give to this hotel is the good staff.

Room Tip: Be careful from backside rooms and noisy mattress - check the air condition and the full services pr...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Acta Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank your for sharing your experience with the rest of the community.

We are really sorry we did not fulfill your expectations. We would like to let you know that we always try to offer our clients the best services at the available rate up to availability. However, sometimes in Barcelona there are events, congress or conferences that make demand increases and consequently the prices of all the Hotels in the city. During your stay the Mobile World Congress was taking place in Barcelona and the hotel was completely full.
Please, next time you come to Barcelona do not hesitate to contact us and we will offer you our best rate available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#199 of 513 in Barcelona
784 reviews
El Raval
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#263 of 513 in Barcelona
695 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#224 of 513 in Barcelona
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#197 of 513 in Barcelona
542 reviews
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#198 of 513 in Barcelona
481 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#223 of 513 in Barcelona
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Splendid

Address: Calle Muntaner 2, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#196 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $87 - $1,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acta Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acta Splendid Hotel is a three star hotel in Barcelona ideal for a few days visiting the city, is located in the Eixample district, allowing you to walk to the center in a few minutes. It has 40 rooms that feature soft and modern decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acta Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Splendid Barcelona
Hotel Acta Splendid Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing